We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Prime Rib & Steaks” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Claim Jumper - CLOSED

Claim Jumper
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Prime Rib & Steaks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Really enjoyed our dinner last Friday evening at the Claimjumper Restaurant in Heber City, UT. Was a big fan of the sister restaurant in Park City, UT, until the building was sold, so I was looking forward to enjoying a great meal. It did not dissapoint. The traditional salad was served on chilled plates and our entrees were cooked to perfection. Save some room for dessert as their Mud Pie is big enough to share. I will continue eating there and it is only 20 minutes from Park City.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    25
    12
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Eats”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Situated no more than 30 yards from the Holiday Inn Express this restaurant was an ideal choice. Friendly with a nice ambiance the service was excellent and the food good and reasonably priced.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nishni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First time for everything...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

I'm not an interior decorator, or exterior for that matter, but I can tell you that the "theme" comes off as accidental and it frames the experience from the beginning to the end. The building itself is dark and attached to it is a car sales office. The interior continues the trend with dark color schemes and poor lighting. The decor or lack thereof, is reminiscent of a coal mine more than a western. All that it is missing is the parrot, so that you know when you are running out of oxygen, and a table made out of a mine cart. If the restaurant had these then it would at least make sense.
The menu is presented in a unique and novel way, but would have been better executed for beer/wine list than the entire menu. Generally speaking you expect at least 20 options from apps to entrees, the presentation of the menu really ends up highlighting the limited selection.
I will not fabricate a story and say that I stayed any longer. After waiting for more than ten minutes to see the server for the first time, which was clearly over worked, I apologized and alerted her that we would be leaving. I appreciate a restaurant with a unique concept, but when you lack passion to monitor the experience and execute it well then you simply end up turning your guest off to the experience as a whole.
Advice to the owner: sit down and really evaluate the experience you are giving the guest, from the door to the exit.
Advice to the consumer: Buy a nice steak and cook it at home, you could provide the same experience with little knowledge of food service.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluedrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Kansas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Good place for a cold beer with a steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

We were just there. It was just what we were looking for. A tasty steak and cold beer on a really hot summer evening. Our waitress was extra good.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kansascloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salt lake city
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The food was horrible, the portions are extremely small, and it's way overpriced.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

I didn't enjoy this place at all. I have no issue paying for good food, but the food wasn't good and you barely got enough food to call it a meal. The waitress took forever because there was only one waitress for six tables. My husband ordered the steak and shrimp, you get 3 shrimp and the steak was probably 3 ounces. If I'm going to pay over one hundred dollars for a meal, it should be a lot of food, so that I can decide how much I want to eat. Anyways, the only thing worth mentioning was the atmosphere. It was cabin style, and pretty cool, other than that, don't waste your time or money.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahhartzog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Claim Jumper also viewed

Heber City, Wasatch Range
Heber City, Wasatch Range
 
Heber City, Wasatch Range
Heber City, Wasatch Range
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing