We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice train ride”

Heber Valley Railroad
Ranked #4 of 22 things to do in Heber City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A steam passenger railroad from 1899 that offers special theme events during the year.
austin, tx
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice train ride”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

I meant to put the review on this one but entered into Heber Valley instead. Needless to say, I encourage you take this train ride if you are in the area. My husband and I enjoyed the train ride.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank yellowlabaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    66
    23
    22
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Heber Valley Railroad”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

My husband and I came here for our honeymoon and we took the sunset BBQ train ride and it was so much fun! We had some dutch oven dinner and they had a girl singing old country songs to you while you ate. Then on the train ride it was relaxing and they also had a girl on board the train that played the violin and she would go up and down the isle asking if anyone had any requests and then she would play the songs. It was really fun and we will definitely be back again next summer.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Living history”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This was a great way for the kids to experience some west history, the staff are dressed in period attire . The scenery is second to none

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank vikinghunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heber City, Utah
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Unique, fun family activity”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Heber Valley Railroad is a Utah tradition. It's a great activity for the family. Although the train moves slowly, the sights are beautiful along Deer Creek Reservoir, under Timpanogos, and down Provo Canyon. The train usually gets "robbed" at Soldier Hollow and the company has themed train rides (e.g., Western Day) that make it more exciting. Not too costly either.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank joshuaj104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
489 reviews
282 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
“Good Value with a Groupon”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

If you're staying in the area and have some free time, and you purchase a Groupon offer, then it's worth the experience. I would recommend the $10 Groupon for the Monday night family train (even though I had purchased the $20 scenic option)...there was still a "holdup", music, and kids in a separate car, so you might as well save a few bucks.

FYI: The train's speed is at a snail's pace.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank honestrealreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heber Valley Railroad also viewed

 
Park City, Wasatch Range
Heber City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Heber Valley Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing