We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Whispering Sands Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hanksville
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night. Cozy "cabin" room. Very good bath towels. Well equipped with frig, mwave and friendly owner. Good continental breakfast provided free. Convenient to Goblin Valley State Park and Little Wildhorse Slot Canyon. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MSB1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    182
    51
    10
    4
See reviews for
85
194
28
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Parker, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

If you are in this part of Utah, you are off the beaten path. But here is a clean, comfortable motel to rest your head. The owners are kind. The price is reasonable and the amenities are quite nice. Plus we enjoyed the complimentary breakfast before heading to Capitol Reef. Nice spot in the middle of nowhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pfeifavs7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We have stayed here several times as we passed through this part of Utah. The owners are wonderful. The motel is clean. There are not a lot of frills but all the basics are covered!! Be sure to have a burger and fries at Stan's!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmcallister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Thomas, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were on a motorcycle trip west and at the end of the day fortunately discovered this place.Very comfortable,chairs outside the room,to enjoy the warm night(August) great restaurant nearby.Breakfast was a little walk away,somewhat unusual for us lazy ones!Laundry available,otherwise a nice little spot to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 402t0m402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dukjes, Manager at Whispering Sands Motel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. I hope that if you are this way again you will stop and stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stopped for the night our our way to Lake Powell. The room was comfortable and clean. The continental breakfast did not have a lot of choices but met the need. The Internet was very slow. Overall, it is a good place to stop overnight in Hanksville.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I've stayed here a few times before over the past few years, and believed it to be the best choice in Hanksville. The room is clean, everything works, the bathroom has good water pressure with no shortage of hot water. However, customer service needs a lot of help. After I checked in, I emailed my wife that I had arrived, she then called the hotel and asked to be connected to my room. The lady on the phone told her no one was in my room. We kept emailing so my wife knew I was there - but we wanted to talk on the phone. My wife kept calling, explaining that we were emailing so she knew I was there. The manager then told my wife that my room's phone was broken. I tried it and It was working fine. Finally after 2 hours and several calls from my wife, the manager came to my room (the office was all of 10 steps away) and said I could take the call in the motel office, which I did. My wife said the manager was rude to her on the phone, kept putting her on hold, and let the phone sit for a long time while she was waiting, long enough that she had to hang up and call again. I was expecting some sort of apology from the manager after speaking to my wife on the phone, but what I got was "just leave the key in the room when you check out". Despite my previous good experience here, I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dukjes, Manager at Whispering Sands Motel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
I am sorry you feel that way. I tried countless times to transfer calls to your room. I did tell your wife the first time she called that there was no answer so I didn't think you were in. At the time I didn't realize the transfers were not connecting with your room. I tried explaining this to your wife each time she called. She did get put on hold several times because I was with customers. I did offer you my office phone to take out side to talk to your wife and you declined.I did apologize to you while you were in my office after you hung up with your wife. Very sorry you felt that I did not take care of this properly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I was in Hanksville, UT on a business trip. I was quite pleased with the clean, comfortable feel of the motel. Although I did not visit any National Parks in the area, the place seems to have many customers. The houskeeping service was great always a clean room when I returned. Overall this is the place to go if your visiting Capital Reef National Park. The price was great as well, they offer continental breakfeast near the hotel at Stan's.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prissya55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Whispering Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Sands Motel

Property: Whispering Sands Motel
Address: 90 So. Highway 95, PO Box 158, Hanksville, UT 84734
Location: United States > Utah > Hanksville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hanksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Whispering Sands Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hanksville motel gives you a great central location in the grand circle of southern Utah's national parks; this is why Whispering Sands Motel is premium Hanksville lodging. Enjoy the Satellite TV, wireless internet, air conditioning, and clean/comfy rooms that do include Fridge, microwave, coffee maker, hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Whispering Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whispering Sands Hotel Hanksville
Whispering Sands Hanksville
Whispering Sands Motel Hanksville, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing