We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Stuck...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hanksville Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hanksville Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hanksville
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
167 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Stuck...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were the mercy of the flooding in CO and chose to stop rather than back track and go 200 miles out of our way. With only 2 choices...and the other one with a NO Vacancy sign we were stuck. Our room was over priced from what we'd experienced in our 18 days on the road...but location and desperation forced us to stay. Management was friendly, the room was BIG, smelled like it was wet, the a/c worked...the bed was comphy. The whole place needs work..
Walked across the street to an expensive dinner...$2.95 for a glass of Pepsi and SLOW service.even with 10% discount it was overpriced.

Room Tip: At your own risk....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gjabsama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    14
    19
    20
See reviews for
14
27
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Osceola
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

the rooms were very clean an comfortable. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Place is old but rooms have been updated. Outside area could be cleaned up of broken down machines,. but looks like an old movie set! The Steakhouse across street was great. Check out the hand painted tees on sale in motel office.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, California
Level Contributor
263 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Not the worst stay ever, but defiantly not a good or memorable one either....With 2 motels in remote Hanksville to choose from, only this one allows dogs...If we hadn't been so weary and road trip tired we would of kept driving...But the steak house across the street helped us decide to stop here overnight....

The rooms inside are just plain beat up...Poorly done patch jobs, and general maintenance neglect...It could be a lot better, even though the place is older......Very sad...The filled in old swimming pool has a large wooden deck being built over it....Maybe for shindig parties? The bathroom screen was totally shredded and flapping in the wind.....It was all kinda funny, if ya didn't laugh ya just might cry! At least the shower water was hot, the WiFi worked good, and the beds were pretty decent....We liked being able to walk across the street for dinner and breakfast the next morning...And all this for a grand total of $86.59!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoTeaTotalers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hanksville hotels

Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
210 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed here one night on our way into the Maze District of Canyonlands. As you read the previous comments, remember that there is no other town around for miles, that this is a rather inhospitable place on the earth, and that it is the only game in town. Sure, it's not 5 star, but our future expedition into the desert of 7 days would be sleeping out in the rocks and dirt, so this was a grand place! The owner was nice and helpful, and gave us a discount at the local restaurant. This place is like stepping back in time to an old Route 66 movie location. I would have no problem at all staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hartimage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I think this is what is called basic accommodation! Shabby and run-down and a bit smelly the floor in our cabin had an alarming slope and there were very strange noises coming from the ceiling - it may have been the sun or it may have been critters! If there is nothing else available this will do.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilFiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

we arrived fairly late at night but the reception was good and we found the rooms acceptable (clean and with basic amenities) but a bit too expensive for the 76 dollars incl tax that we paid. They offered well-functioning wifi and a friendly restaurant with good food was just across the street.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magman100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahiti, French Polynesia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Old and expensive motel lost in Utah. We ended there at night and were too tired to choose around in this small city. We were only two customers this night. We paid 80 bucks. And there were no coffee in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niuhiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanksville
0.0 mi away
Ticaboo Resort
Ticaboo Resort
#1 of 1 in Lake Powell
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Whispering Sands Motel
Whispering Sands Motel
#1 of 2 in Hanksville
4.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
16.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
#1 of 1 in Caineville
4.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanksville Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanksville Inn

Property: Hanksville Inn
Address: 280 East 100 North, Hanksville, UT
Location: United States > Utah > Hanksville
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hanksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hanksville Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hanksville Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanksville Inn Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing