We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of River Terrace Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
River Terrace Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Green River
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
135 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Wonderful stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

This is wonderful hotel for a restful night. Pool is nice and well maintained which is great for road-weary children. Friendly staff. Room huge (family suite with Murphy bed) nice balcony overlooking Green River. Furnishings are dated but comfortable. No hesitation in recommending.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Writerwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    168
    35
    10
    8
See reviews for
163
276
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Stayed here July 8th. Allow yourself time to walk around the grounds and enjoy the pockets of flowers with yard art, the waterfall and plants under the trees, and a lounging area a few yards from the Green River. There is even an area between the chairs and the river where you can walk in the sand. Orioles, robins, and finches chirp from the trees. The floor designations are confusing, until they explain that the motel is on a slope. The river side has three stories, the entrance/parking lot side has two. The entrance, therefore is the second floor and what appears to be the second story is the third floor. No elevator. Ask for a room facing the river and enjoy sitting on the balcony. When we sat in the lounging area by the river, there were some flies, but none around the balcony. The trees and shrubs are mature size and block a portion of the river from view. They also keep the reflection of the sun on the water from blinding you. The lobby is very nicely done and there is a welcoming jug of ice water with lemon slices on one of the tables. Breakfast is right off the lobby, or you can sit outside, if you prefer. Carlos greets you as you walk up, listing the hot items available. These are cooked to order while you select beverages, and other food items from the large counter. The room and bath areas were very clean, the bed very comfy. We recommend the place to you, and would stay there again ourselves.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river have eye candy views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ModelAtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel is a hidden gem. Rooms were clean and spacious. Quiet off of the highway Ross at the Front desk is great and very pleasant. Carlos at breakfast was super helpful and makes a great french toast. Breakfast which is made to order was incuded. Obviously family run and would return anytime.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

We were travelling from SLC to Aspen and were looking for a hotel with an outdoor pool to swim. When Trip Advisor came up w the River Terrace, initially I thought the price a bit high since we weren't planning on a spendy night but all it offered sounded so lovely we sprung for it and are we ever pleased we did! What a jewel this property is. Quite simply unbelievable in Green River, UT. We loved it so much we are going to go back and book a romantic weekend. The setting on the river, the impeccable big and well appointed rooms (no mod TV but so much else to do who needs TV?) The pool and grounds are exquisite, clean and maintained like a 5 star resort! The beds and bedding super comfortable, top notch. Beach towels provided in every room, Breakfast to order w delicious omlettes, pancakes, french toast, fruits, breads, cereals, yogurt, english breakfast and earl grey tea! Every room has coffee maker, fridge and microwave. The patio rooms all have their own outdoor tables with umbrellas, a covered gazebo with comfy coach where we sat by the river cuddled together in a thunderstorm after a wonderful swim in the Crystal clear pool (which is so exquisitely maintained by the wonderful Moses)

I simply cannot say enough about how much I love this property. I so hope there will still be room for us to stay on the way back too. Thank you River Terrace Inn for keeping the quality of your independently owned property so excellent. I am blessed, impressed and so, all this addressed and we lovers so very happy I shall sign off here. xoox oh PS the Tamarisk Restaurant next door is amazing, serves till 10pm!!

Room Tip: all the rooms are lovely, the upstairs have river view and are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellee m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basalt, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

I have stayed here at least 3-4 times over several years and am always glad to have done so. Yes, the decor is dated, but it is quite nice overall. My room this time was on the river side....always great....it had a queen bed with plenty of nice fluffy pillows, along with a love seat and a table with 2 nice chairs. The bathroom has been updated and had great towels and very nice toiletries. There was a coffee maker, good sized mini fridge and a microwave. The fridge was inside a cabinet which reduced the fridge noises. Lots of drawers and closet space along with a desk area a nice desk chair. Also...a very decent tv with many channels. There was balcony overlooking the well landscaped grounds and the river with 2 chairs. The pool area looks great though I have never been able to stay long enough to enjoy it. Karen at the front desk was very helpful and friendly.
The full hot or cold breakfast included was at the motel. You bring in a voucher and the staff member tells you what items are available and takes your order for any cooked/prepared items and brings it to your table when ready. The beverages, cereals, bread options, hard boiled eggs, a couple of hot items (bacon, hash browns), etc are available to serve yourself at the breakfast bar. Definitely a good value and a very decent quality breakfast in general. Quite busy!
The restaurant (Tamarisk) right next door (not affiliated with the motel as far as I can tell), also on the river, is very pleasant and good for a small town like Green River. It had a nice varied menu with wine and beer available. I was quite pleasantly surprised with a very nice quality of red wine I enjoyed (from a winery in Moab I think). You may want to try to request no salt, however, as the vegetable side was extremely salty. The other items had been salted but not so excessively.
The only real drawback I noticed this trip was in the morning when the young son of one the housekeepers was running up and down the hallway. Perhaps the manager or owners could ask her to restrict him from doing so if he must come to work with her, so he does not get in the way of the guests (or inadvertently run into them).
River Terrace Inn is a very enjoyable respite after a long (or short) drive and I will definitely return as the need to stay in Green River arises!

Room Tip: It is lovely to be on the river side of this motel if it is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dblms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is a great hotel, especially for the price. There is not a lot to do in Green River but it was a great place to spend the night after leaving Moab and heading to Park City, Utah. The room was very nice with a comfortable bed and roomy bathroom and a balcony with a river view. There are lots of artificial plants in the lobby, on the landings, pretty much everywhere, but it felt like a very comfortable 50s era style. I liked it. The grounds are beautiful and we sat by the pool which is on the river (very nice) with our glasses of wine. Right next door is a great restaurant. I highly recommend this place and didn't give it a 5 because that is reserved for high-end hotels.

Room Tip: If you can't climb stairs, insist on a ground level room (which as I recall is the second level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonsall, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

Driving I-70 through Utah is a pleasure with modest traffic and many stops of scenic interest. This Inn is located far enough from the interstate that all traffic noise is lost and it sits just feet from the East side of the very wide Green River which winds its way through spectacular canyons in three states: Wyoming, Utah and a bit of Colorado. It is a fast moving but smooth body of water snaking silently southward. Yes, there is rafting on this river in other locations. Between the river's edge and the river-facing rooms (ask for one of those) a nicely manicured stretch of tree lined grass provides for multiple seating areas, BBQs, and excellent bird watching. This is the right area to have your wine and cheese at 5 pm. Or your jerky, Fritos and beer. Whatever. The rooms are generously sized, aging but updated. Work desk, dining table & chairs, bedside tables, upholstered bench at the foot of the bed, small fridge inside a cabinet (so it doesn't wake you), and good lighting. Baths are excellent with plenty of towels, counter space, great shower and the lighting is effective because the ceiling is tall keeping the light from hitting you in the eyes. The Inn is a NO SMOKING and NO PETS facility which I find attractive. I travel with a dog from time to time and have stayed across the road from the River Terrace Inn. No comparison. If you are without pets, treat yourself kindly and stay here. There is a restaurant on the property. It has been remodeled sometime in the last two years so it is clean and fresh. The food is good enough for me.

Room Tip: Request a river facing room. Request an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avohill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Green River
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Green River
Comfort Inn Green River
#2 of 11 in Green River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Green River
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Green River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#9 of 11 in Green River
3.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ticaboo Resort
Ticaboo Resort
#1 of 1 in Lake Powell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Green River
Super 8 Green River
#3 of 11 in Green River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Terrace Inn

Property: River Terrace Inn
Address: 1740 E Main St, Green River, UT 84525-7702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Green River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Green River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — River Terrace Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Green River hotel, the River Terrace Inn, provides quality lodging at affordable prices. We offer beautiful rooms and our property has a shaded sitting area outside, a hot tub, and gorgeous pool. All of our rooms feature pillowtop mattresses, down pillows, free WIFI, free long distance phone, cable TV, and a FREE hot breakfast each morning. We're located just 45 minutes outside of Arches National Park and many other southern Utah vacation spots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your River Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Hotel Green River
Best Western Green River
Green River Best Western
River Terrace Inn Green River, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing