We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant!”
Review of River Terrace Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
River Terrace Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Green River
Certificate of Excellence
Shamrock, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant!”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed here one night as a stop off place on a long trip. The hotel is dated but the rooms are very spacious and it was very clean! The bathroom was spacious and also very clean.
Breakfast was great but if I have anything negative to say it would be a simpler way to tell guests about the cooked to order omellettes. The gentlemen was very nice that greets everyone at breakfast but he has to explain to every guest enterering the breakfast area about the kinds of omellettes you can order. Other hotels that do this have a piece of paper you fill out with the options listed on it you check off what you want. The gentleman greeting us could simply had you the check list. Overall it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terrye b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    179
    37
    10
    8
See reviews for
176
295
23
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

It is a little dated, but the setting and park like grounds along the Green River offsets any signs of age. Request a level entry and you will be on the 2nd floor. If you prefer to have a level exit onto the ground level, request a 1st floor room. There are no elevators, so you will have to carry your luggage up or down stairs if you are not on the 2nd floor. The complimentary breakfast is excellent; you place your order when you enter the breakfast area. Eggs, pancakes, French toast, etc. is prepared specifically for you. There is inside and outside tables for breakfast. For dinner it is adjacent to the Tamarisk Restaurant which is very good.

Room Tip: Select a 2nd floor view room, so you overlook the river and do not have to carry your luggage up/dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ello0491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We wanted to visit Arches National Park but were not willing to put in the miles to get to Moab. Green River was our best choice, but what type of lodging would be available in the small Utah town? I consulted Trip Advisor and was astonished by the high praise for the privately owned River Terrace Inn. However, I also was concerned that perhaps friends of the motel's owner had overpraised the inn in an effort to attract guests. As it turned out, everything said in the reviews was true--this motel is a real "oasis in the middle of nowhere." Rooms are very large (ours had a couch, king bed, dresser, two sinks, and desk) and contain all of the modern amenities that newer motels provide, including plenty of plugs to recharge cellphones and computers. Wireless internet worked flawlessly. A river view room (request one when making your reservation) provided a marvelous view of landscaped grounds down to the Green River. An adequate restaurant (not owned by the motel) was next door (get there before 7 p.m. for dinner; it fills up with River Terrace Inn guests). Bathrooms were spacious with plenty of towels. And the breakfast the next morning (included in the room price)--oh my! It's served in the motel lobby but there the resemblance to a chain motel breakfast ends. Everything is fresh cooked to order--egg dishes, pancakes, etc.--and delivered to the table quickly. The biscuits and gravy and omlets are wonderful! Along one wall is located coffee, juice, sausage, hashbrowns, fruit, cereal, etc. But it's first come, first serve, and table space is limited, so get there early. My only quibbles about the River Terrace are that there is no elevator to reach second floor rooms and our first floor room smelled a bit musty though it was perfectly clean; the smell quickly went away after we turned on the air conditioner. The king size bed was very comfortable. The River Terrace was "way better" than any of the chain motels we stayed in on this trip and a lot cheaper. If you find yourself staying overnight in Green River, give the River Terrace a chance--you won't regret it!

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor, river view room when reserving, unless you want to climb the steps with your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrmull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Based on the very positive Trip Advisor reviews of this property, my wife and I decided to make the River Terrace Inn our base of operations for a five-day exploration of central Utah, including the national parks near Moab (Arches and Canyonlands) and the San Rafael Swell. To be honest, I thought the reviews were saying, essentially, that this hotel is great for Green River... which, frankly, isn't saying much. Wrong! This is, quite simply, the single best property of its type (that is, a roadside motel) I've ever stayed in. The rooms are very large and generously provisioned with nearly-new, high-quality furniture, pillowtop mattresses, an abundance of down pillows, high-quality sheets, a small refrigerator, coffeemaker, flat screen TV with cable, table & chairs, Egyptian cotton towels... the works. The breakfast (included) is fabulous -- ask for a cheese omelette with salsa verde!

The River Terrace Inn worked perfectly for our visit. Moab is less than an hour away, and the San Rafael Reef is just minutes to the west. Compared to what we would have paid in Moab, we saved a bundle -- and avoided the Moab congestion. We spent evenings sipping wine in the comfortable chairs arranged by the waterside, watching the Green River go by. Moab is close enough so that Green River's lack of high-quality restaurants isn't a problem; we hadn't planned to eat dinner in Green River, but then we discovered Ray's Tavern... well, that's another story, and just as good!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a river view room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank U-VaProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I went to moab on spring break and all the moab hotels are booked. So, I ended up staying in Green river and it turned out to be the highlight of my trip.
I love it there... the rooms are clean... the carpet is a little damp but not so much: lots of towels: love the breakfast omelets and the reception is very friendly..
whirlpool was crowded so i didn't have a chance to go down...
just make sure u have a river facing room... the noise level is not bad at all... and the beds are so comfortable that we end up sleeping in till 11pm... almost miss MOAB hiking :P

Room Tip: get a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamela161989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, GA
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

If you ever find yourself on I-70 through Utah, the town (if that) of Green River is your best bet for stopping. Not many choices, but the River Terrace Inn was a good one! Nice, well kept motel, clean and comfortable. Large rooms and bathrooms, facing the river with nice landscaping out back. Complementary breakfast was better than average, with ability for made to order items! AC unit was a bit strange, but other than that everything was great! Would stay there again if I am ever on the desolate stretch of interstate!

Tip: Eat at Ray's - best cheeseburger and fries ever!

Room Tip: Facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Squeaky clean thru and thru. Beautiful grounds. Room was spacious and view was awesome. Breakfast service was the best since I was in Europe. Chef greated us with an explaination of his morning offerings (limitless) and then prepared exactly what we wanted plus a buffet style offering of all of the usual things.
There is nothing in Green River to compare with this.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlunstra2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Green River hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Green River
Comfort Inn Green River
#4 of 11 in Green River
333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Green River
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Green River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Green River
Super 8 Green River
#2 of 11 in Green River
788 reviews
0.5 mi away
Knights Inn Green River/West Winds
0.0 mi away
Skyfall Guestrooms
Skyfall Guestrooms
#1 of 3 in Green River
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Terrace Inn

Property: River Terrace Inn
Address: 1740 E Main St, Green River, UT 84525-7702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Green River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Green River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — River Terrace Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Green River hotel, the River Terrace Inn, provides quality lodging at affordable prices. We offer beautiful rooms and our property has a shaded sitting area outside, a hot tub, and gorgeous pool. All of our rooms feature pillowtop mattresses, down pillows, free WIFI, free long distance phone, cable TV, and a FREE hot breakfast each morning. We're located just 45 minutes outside of Arches National Park and many other southern Utah vacation spots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your River Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Hotel Green River
Best Western Green River
Green River Best Western
River Terrace Inn Green River, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing