We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No where else to go” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tamarisk Restaurant

Tamarisk Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Green River
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“No where else to go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

We drove into Green River and went from one end of town to the other (don't remember any stop lights if they did have any it was a waste of electricity). Anyway, this was one of three places to eat. One was a tavern, one Mexican and then the Tamarisk restaurant. Since we had Mexican the night before and the tavern looked a little in need of repair, we to Tamarisk and it was great. We got there at five which is a little early, but there is about 6 hotels and this is the main restaurant for all those hotels, so going early was a great idea. They had a great menu with many choices. I had a hamburger with blue cheese on it. It was cooked great and the taste was wonderful. If you get there early you can sit by the river which is fun to look at while you are eating. Since they really have you isolated in Green River it was nice that the restaurant was great, considering they probably don't get a lot of repeat business being in the middle of Utah.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    367
    139
    55
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Surprisingly good with a great view of the river at sunset.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

We were passing through on our way to Texas and stopped at tamarisk because we had heard good things about it. The inside was really nice (it looked recently redone). We were there at sundown and we could see the river with the sunset which made for a nice view during dinner. The staff was friendly (especially with our excitable little boy). The food looked and tasted yummy. Their cinnamon rolls were delicious. I felt like it was a great value and it really hit the spot after a long car ride. When we go through there again we'll definitely stop there..

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brittany D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is about the only place to eat in town. Atmosphere, service and food were above average. would visit again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sush108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barstow
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Lunch in the Middle of Nowhere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

We stopped for lunch here mainly because there is only one other reasonable place (Rays in Green River) between Canyonlands and Capitol Reef National Parks. But, was surprised at the quality of the food and service here. Seated quickly by very friendly and cheerful lady. Given a riverfront view, remember its Utah so while best it was nothing to write home about. I had the salad bar which was extensive ( many pasta salads, slaws, etc ) and very fresh. I went back for seconds!! My son had a cheeseburger and fries which were very well prepared and delicious. The service was excellent! We were surprised at the great value in a locale where there weren't a lot of alternatives!! Would return and would recommend. Rays is more of a diner/dive good in a different way, this is the better more traditional restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Level Contributor
298 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Sunday out of most items”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

We were excited to try this restaurant. We arrived on a Sunday and they were out of many items. Try it on another day. Also, they should expand the wine list.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ceg51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarisk Restaurant also viewed

 
Green River, UT
 

Been to Tamarisk Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing