We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly nice”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Green River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Green River KOA Camground
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Surprisingly nice”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

It was getting late in the afternoon so we decided to stop off here overnight rather than drive on to Moab. The town isn't much but the site is very clean, spacious and attractive and the owner welcoming and helpful. Luckily it was cool at night as we had to close the windows because of occasional train whistles although it was quiet otherwise. We had an RV but we liked the look of the cabins and would have preferred them to a motel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank barbarella50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    12
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
17
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bosh
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed one night, wasn't expecting much, but was surprised. A lot of the spots are shady, the owner provides a free breakfast which is great. The wifi is so good, you really have to see it to believe it.. The kids loved the waterslide at the pool. I would stay here again for sure

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank boshwell81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
452 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 680 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The town of Green River is dying, almost deserted, but this very nice KOA is hanging on. We first stayed here in September of 2007 and it was full with lots going on. The sky over the campground is open, dark and full of stars and constellations and not spoiled by city lights. This visit in July 2012, due to the poor economy, was a different story. Not many campers and the town was empty.

The road to the campground is in excellent condition. But do not use Highway 50 to get aross to Nevada/California. It is 600 plus miles of nothing. No road shoulder, few to no pull-outs, no services, no place to stop and take a break and have a meal. It is mind numbingly desolate and boring. The only thing that broke it up was a nice Navajo lady selling handmade jewelry. Instead, take Highway 80 across.

This KOA is close to the Green River which used to have lots of activity on it. It's a pretty campground, trees at the RV spots and picnic tables. You get free WiFi, and there is a huge pool and a nice playground for the kids. As at all KOA's, there are cottages to rent and spaces for tents. Dogs are welcome. Only drawback is the gravel roads and parking areas. It brings a lot of dirt into the RV, especially by pets.

I hope travel to this area picks up in the future and that this KOA can hang on. It's one of the few nice KOA's left out there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sailorsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

On a month long road trip, we stayed at several KOA locations. When we arrived here, there was a group of young men just hanging around near the door. The young lady seemed to be put out by our arrival though there was nobody else around. There were three cabins in a row and only one was in the shade. I asked if possible, could I have the one already in the shade if it wasn't taken. She told me they all get sun. Nobody stayed in either cabin that night. We could have easily ate our dinner in the shade, but instead ate in the blazing sun so that she could get back to her friends. On the plus side, this is a clean facility and the pool area is very nicely maintained.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank AmyFlossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our car broke down on I-70 and we found ourselves stranded in Green River waiting for parts. The KOA was welcoming, and the staff went out of their way to make sure we were taken care of during a three-day wait. I used a tent site for the first two nights, and then moved into one of the Kabins. Both locations were great. Everyone here was most helpful, and they helped make a frustrating situation considerably better. The campground is within easy walking distance of Holiday Expeditions, which does river trips, the John Wesley Powell museum, and a restaurant. I cannot say enough good things about the owner and his staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickenburg, Arizona
Level Contributor
746 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 641 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

That day we drove our RV as far as Green River and checked into the KOA there. This was the first time we actually stayed at a KOA. The guy at recenption was most welcomong and friendly and we were checked in in no time at all. We got full hook-ups; they are very spacey sites, some of them against large trees, lawn in between - all lawn and order, pardon, the pun; very nice and efficient showers. The place offers a complimentary breakfast, and the guys working in the office/gift shop/ breakfast room couldn't have been any more genuinely nice and friendly and helpful. One guy was standing there in the morning, very püatiently explaining the workings of the coffee machine to any new arrival for breakfast. There are just two tables there, but you can always take your stuff to your RV, trailer, whatever. Upon check-in we were also given a 10% discount voucher for the adjacent Tanarisk restaurant, where we went to have dinner - a good choice, as the atmosphere and the food were very nice indeed, at reasoanable cost. This is really a wonderful place, very highly recommendable. There's also a very nice pool (which we didn't use; I'm not a water person). If you don't have an RV, trailer or tent, you can rent a small cabin here, too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Esty666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
248 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

...stayed here on the way up to ID and on the way back. Had a little air conditioned Kamping Kabin - and believe me, you need the AC. It can get to 108 degrees in Green River, so be prepared.

It's in the middle of the UT dessert so there isn't many trees, but didn't have any problems. They take pets in Kamping Kabin #1 but you must ask for it. The cabins are just so cute in all the KOAs.

The pool was nice (a little too cold for me tho). Had a great slide for the kids.. They give you a complimentary Continental breakfast - coffee, coffe cakes, donuts, hard-boiled eggs, and melon. Was very good. If you want cereal for the kids - it's a minimal charge of .75 cents for a box.

The playground needs a little work, and in the middle of summer, it's just too hot during the day to go out and play - you're in the pool..

Had a great time - the staff and hosts were very nice and I recommend it for a stop overnight or if you plan on seeing the nearby canyons and rivers.

Green River is a bit of a town that the interstate left behind, but the market is well stocked and reasonable. The restaurants in town are very nice - and the food is good. A couple of the hotels are a bit on the seedy side tho.

Good choice for us...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KUMtngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Green River hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Green River
Comfort Inn Green River
#2 of 11 in Green River
304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Green River
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Green River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Budget Inn Motel
Budget Inn Motel
#9 of 11 in Green River
146 reviews
0.1 mi away
River Terrace Inn
River Terrace Inn
#1 of 11 in Green River
586 reviews
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Green River
Super 8 Green River
#3 of 11 in Green River
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green River KOA Camground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green River KOA Camground

Property: Green River KOA Camground
Address: 235 South 1780 East, Green River, UT 84525
Location: United States > Utah > Green River
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Green River
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Green River KOA, located on I-70 Business Loop across from the John Wesley Powell River History Museum. Start your day at the complimentary gourmet coffee bar (25+ varieties of coffee/tea with muffins, danish, coffee cake, hard boiled eggs, strudel and croissants). Casual dining is available at the Tamarisk Restaurant. Take a day trip to Arches or Canyonlands national parks, Goblin Valley State Park or Little Wild Horse Canyon or take a river trip with Holiday River Expeditions. Enjoy 80-foot pull thru sites with large, grassy areas, Cable TV and 50-amp service available at some sites; all have free 20 Meg Fiber optic WiFi. Enjoy the 22x50-foot pool with a turbo twister slide. Join KOA for an egg hunt on Easter Saturday. Gifts are awarded for every egg found, and a Value Kard Rewards card is given for the Golden Egg. Don't miss the Green River Melon Days festival, held the third Friday/Saturday in September. No additional fees for children 6 and younger. Limited services October 15 - March 1. Pool: May 23 - October 1. Max pull thru: 80 feet. Your host: Joe. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Green River KOA Camground Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing