We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Very Friendly”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Green River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Green River KOA Camground
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not Very Friendly”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

On a month long road trip, we stayed at several KOA locations. When we arrived here, there was a group of young men just hanging around near the door. The young lady seemed to be put out by our arrival though there was nobody else around. There were three cabins in a row and only one was in the shade. I asked if possible, could I have the one already in the shade if it wasn't taken. She told me they all get sun. Nobody stayed in either cabin that night. We could have easily ate our dinner in the shade, but instead ate in the blazing sun so that she could get back to her friends. On the plus side, this is a clean facility and the pool area is very nicely maintained.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank AmyFlossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    13
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
18
21
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our car broke down on I-70 and we found ourselves stranded in Green River waiting for parts. The KOA was welcoming, and the staff went out of their way to make sure we were taken care of during a three-day wait. I used a tent site for the first two nights, and then moved into one of the Kabins. Both locations were great. Everyone here was most helpful, and they helped make a frustrating situation considerably better. The campground is within easy walking distance of Holiday Expeditions, which does river trips, the John Wesley Powell museum, and a restaurant. I cannot say enough good things about the owner and his staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DonM172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickenburg, Arizona
Level Contributor
751 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 642 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

That day we drove our RV as far as Green River and checked into the KOA there. This was the first time we actually stayed at a KOA. The guy at recenption was most welcomong and friendly and we were checked in in no time at all. We got full hook-ups; they are very spacey sites, some of them against large trees, lawn in between - all lawn and order, pardon, the pun; very nice and efficient showers. The place offers a complimentary breakfast, and the guys working in the office/gift shop/ breakfast room couldn't have been any more genuinely nice and friendly and helpful. One guy was standing there in the morning, very püatiently explaining the workings of the coffee machine to any new arrival for breakfast. There are just two tables there, but you can always take your stuff to your RV, trailer, whatever. Upon check-in we were also given a 10% discount voucher for the adjacent Tanarisk restaurant, where we went to have dinner - a good choice, as the atmosphere and the food were very nice indeed, at reasoanable cost. This is really a wonderful place, very highly recommendable. There's also a very nice pool (which we didn't use; I'm not a water person). If you don't have an RV, trailer or tent, you can rent a small cabin here, too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Esty666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
253 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

...stayed here on the way up to ID and on the way back. Had a little air conditioned Kamping Kabin - and believe me, you need the AC. It can get to 108 degrees in Green River, so be prepared.

It's in the middle of the UT dessert so there isn't many trees, but didn't have any problems. They take pets in Kamping Kabin #1 but you must ask for it. The cabins are just so cute in all the KOAs.

The pool was nice (a little too cold for me tho). Had a great slide for the kids.. They give you a complimentary Continental breakfast - coffee, coffe cakes, donuts, hard-boiled eggs, and melon. Was very good. If you want cereal for the kids - it's a minimal charge of .75 cents for a box.

The playground needs a little work, and in the middle of summer, it's just too hot during the day to go out and play - you're in the pool..

Had a great time - the staff and hosts were very nice and I recommend it for a stop overnight or if you plan on seeing the nearby canyons and rivers.

Green River is a bit of a town that the interstate left behind, but the market is well stocked and reasonable. The restaurants in town are very nice - and the food is good. A couple of the hotels are a bit on the seedy side tho.

Good choice for us...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KUMtngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Green River hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Green River
Comfort Inn Green River
#3 of 11 in Green River
319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Green River
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Green River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#9 of 11 in Green River
148 reviews
0.1 mi away
River Terrace Inn
River Terrace Inn
#1 of 11 in Green River
604 reviews
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Green River
Super 8 Green River
#2 of 11 in Green River
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green River KOA Camground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green River KOA Camground

Property: Green River KOA Camground
Address: 235 S 1780 E, Green River, UT 84525-7713
Location: United States > Utah > Green River
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Green River
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Green River KOA, located on I-70 Business Loop across from the John Wesley Powell River History Museum. Start your day at the complimentary gourmet coffee bar (25+ varieties of coffee/tea with muffins, danish, coffee cake, hard boiled eggs, strudel and croissants). Casual dining is available at the Tamarisk Restaurant. Take a day trip to Arches or Canyonlands national parks, Goblin Valley State Park or Little Wild Horse Canyon or take a river trip with Holiday River Expeditions. Enjoy 80-foot pull thru sites with large, grassy areas, Cable TV and 50-amp service available at some sites; all have free 20 Meg Fiber optic WiFi. Enjoy the 22x50-foot pool with a turbo twister slide. Join KOA for an egg hunt on Easter Saturday. Gifts are awarded for every egg found, and a Value Kard Rewards card is given for the Golden Egg. Don't miss the Green River Melon Days festival, held the third Friday/Saturday in September. No additional fees for children 6 and younger. Limited services October 15 - March 1. Pool: May 23 - October 1. Max pull thru: 80 feet. Your host: Joe. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Green River KOA Camground Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing