We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, clean, courteous, cheap”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Green River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Robbers Roost Motel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Green River
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Situated along the interstate and in an area that attracts tourists from all over the world, Green River, Utah is a hard place to find decent and inexpensive lodging. Fortunately, this motel delivers. It is, as most reviewers note, very basic and no-frills. It is also clean, quiet and well run. The woman who checked us in was professional and courteous. No breakfast is offered. This motel is pet-friendly, another plus. Compared with ridiculously priced lodgings in nearby Moab, this is the choice for budget minded travelers.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rehoboth5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRMotel, Owner at Robbers Roost Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We try very hard to give our customers clean, comfortable and affordable rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 263 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

Green River is only about a 40-45 minute drive from Moab and the Roobers Roost is a good alternative to the overpriced hotels in Moab. At $45 a night (taxes included), it is 1/3 the cost of the budget chain hotels in Moab, which is why I chose to stay here. Yes, the rooms and bathrooms are small, but they're impeccably clean. The bed was very comfortable and provided a great night's sleep after hiking in Arches National Park. Expect friendly, small-town hospitality from the staff too. The hotel is close to Ray's Tavern (THE place to eat in Green River) and the only grocery store in town.

While this is not a four-star (or even three-star) hotel, the overall rating reflects the value, level of customer service, and cleanliness of the rooms. I would not hesitate to stay at the Robbers Roost next time I am in the area (as long as the prices remain the same).

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room (e.g. Room 12)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Yale_Alum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This motel is run by a very nice couple, who made us feel welcome. We only paid $45, inluding tax, for a room with a king-size bed. The room was clean and fairly quiet.
However, be warned that this motel is far from fancy. The room lacked hangers and a place to hang up clothing, had no plastic cups to drink from, no shampoo, no Kleenex, no heat in bathroom (that was okay, because we left the bathroom door open when not in use, so it got heat from the room.) The room's heat seemed to not be very adjustable -- changing the temperature setting on the thermostat did not do much. So, it got warm enough in the middle of the night that we had to getup and turn the heat off, which meant we were a bit cold in the morning. The bed was comfortable, although the pillows were the bouncy foam kind -- not great if one likes a soft pillow.
I feel sorry not to be able to give a glowing review, because we did really appreciate the kind and friendly owners and the great price. Would've rather paid $10 or $15 more, for a few more updates or amenities in the rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nmreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRMotel, Owner at Robbers Roost Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for your review. You are correct, we are not a fancy motel, we try to keep our costs down for our guests. We have the basics of heat and ac, phone, wifi, cable tv, microwave and fridge in all our rooms. We are working on updating the rooms and bathrooms as we can. My only wish is that we could work on them faster. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed at the Robber's Roost for a medical rotation for four weeks, and couldn't have been happier. The family that runs the place is very friendly, accommodating, and well known in the community. The room was clean and comfortable. The motel is within walking distance of the grocery store, coffee shop, an easy drive to the laundromat, with plenty of great views of the Book Cliffs and long roads through the melon and corn fields for after work jogs. The bed was comfortable, the heater worked great, bathroom was updated and clean. I felt perfectly safe, and since the owners live on site, I knew my things were safe in the room during work. I love being able to support locally owned and operated businesses, and if you do too, this is a great opportunity to do so. The community of Green River is friendly and welcoming, and there are more things to do in the surrounding areas (trails, canyons, outdoor recreation) than you could possibly ever have time to do. I hope you consider Robber's Roost!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRMotel, Owner at Robbers Roost Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for your kind words on the motel, the town and the surrounding area. There are many things to do and see in the area. We love it here. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice clean 50's style motel. We checked in late without calling ahead. The lady in the office was friendly and welcoming. Room was clean and heat/cool unit worked very well. Bathroom is very small but efficient. Water pressure was good and I still have all my freckles.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louwagie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRMotel, Owner at Robbers Roost Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for your kind remarks. This motel was built in the 40s and additions in the 50s. We are working on remodeling the rooms as we can and we do appreciate the patience of our customers! We continue to work hard to make every stay clean comfortable and affordable for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

When we first arrived at Robbers Roost, I was a bit put off by how basic, small and old the room looked. However, it was incredibly cheap and whilst the room did look a bit old and ragged, it was actually very clean, which is really what counts. Liked having the use of a microwave in the room, and particularly appreciated the opportunity to check in late (I think it was open til 11 or midnight). Check in staff were very friendly, and if I was looking for somewhere cheap to just sleep (think we were in about 10.30 and out again before 6) I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank queenarmadillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRMotel, Owner at Robbers Roost Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

I am glad to hear that it seems you were pleasantly surprised with the Robbers Roost Motel. We are working on our rooms because we know they are older and we are trying to do right by the motel and our customers who stay in them. We are continuing to work for a better stay and motel. Please continue to let us know how we can improve!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I too was swayed by some of the great reviews of this motel. First off, there are few if any amenities so if you are used to any else besides a bar of soap. go elsewhere. Owners were very friendly. My parents room was one of the renovated rooms but ours was not. The mattress my wife and I slept on sloped to the floor so I found myself fighting gravity all night. But the highlight of the evening was being awoken at midnight by our next door neighbor making comments about spending "$40 for a few minutes with you" so my wife and I prayed that we were not going to have our kids awoken by a midnight encounter next door. Shortly after the conversation we heard unbelievably loud snoring (guess he was satisfied - not sure what her opinion on the subject may have been).

We enjoyed our meal at Ray's Tavern - a lot of food for the price (yes it is a burger joint). We also enjoyed breakfast at the Tamarisk on the other side of the river. Bottomline - what do you expect for fourty bucks a night.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRMotel, Owner at Robbers Roost Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Thank you for your review of us and some of the restaurants in Green River.

We do apologize that your sleep quality was less that desirable. We do appreciate your patronage and do take every comment seriously.

Our motel is an older one and we try to not be or represent ourselves as something we are not. We are working to remodel and fix "quirks" of this motel as we can. We are glad that you saw one of our remodeled rooms. We would like all of them to look like that when we are done.

We do appreciate comments from customers of thing they would like to see at our motel that would make their stay more satisfactory and comfortable. We offer what we do based on the way that we, as a family, travel. We recognize that not every one travels the same. So please send us comments through our website, so we can make your next stay or someone else's even better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Green River hotels
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Green River
Comfort Inn Green River
#3 of 11 in Green River
362 reviews
1.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Green River
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Green River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#9 of 11 in Green River
160 reviews
1.3 mi away
River Terrace Inn
River Terrace Inn
#1 of 11 in Green River
661 reviews
1.9 mi away
Super 8 Green River
Super 8 Green River
#4 of 11 in Green River
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robbers Roost Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robbers Roost Motel

Address: 325 E Main St, PO Box 543, Green River, UT 84525-7703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Green River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Green River
Price Range: $40 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the beautiful Southeastern Utah with this scenic Green River based motel. The Robbers Roost Motel offers one and two bed rooms with convenient amenities including wireless internet and television. Stay where excellent dinning and outdoor activities like river rafting, horseback riding and national park tours are always in reach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Robbers Roost Motel Green River, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing