We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Amenities, but Expensive for Old Condo”
Review of Ideal Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Garden City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ideal Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Garden City
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We paid almost $800 for 4 nights at this resort. The playground, swimming pools, grass, mini golf were nice to have right out our window. The condo was a dump. 1970s builder-grade everything. Fridge filled with water at the bottom every few days. Creepy and cramped bathroom. Dirty carpets. Old appliances. Slow kitchen faucet. Odd decorating.

Room Tip: Supposedly you can sublet a remodeled condo directly from an owner.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Natalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
There are newer reviews for Ideal Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 76 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

This is a hard one to rate. Wish I could rate the amenities and staff seperate from the condo...

Condo, it's true 90% of the condos are old, outdated, and kinda gross! I was shocked that owners are getting away without having to update, but we the renters just keep renting and they're not concerned about doing a thing. The stove was seriously from the 60's, smelled funny but worked, we laid down a sheet or blanket on the couches before sitting on them, couldnt use the hide-a-bed because the mattress was so thin and limp that my 6 year old son fell right through, bathrooms and kitchens from the 70's with accompanying leaky faucets, rusted out kleenex holder, and cabinets with about 30 layers of grimm. Dead flies hanging from the overhead lighting. Our RV has better kitchen accessories than this place. The decor was so bad it became comical, garage sale central! Just tacky people!

We did have decent carpet and I was told the mattresses had recently been replaced.

Then there's the other side, the good side :) my family loved the amenities! Pools, mini golf, playground, endless grass, bingo, location, beach, tennis, activities for the kids...all great! Staff was fun and helpful with a renovated store and gathering area. Unfortunately the outdated dirty condos reflect on the property as a whole.

Nothing will be done to renovating the individual condos if we continue to rent them at ridiculous prices. We got a last minute discounted special and I still feel like I way overpayed! We recently returned from Maui where we rented a 2 bedroom condo for less..that was 100 times nicer, newer, had a fully stocked kitchen, and even included beach chairs, coolers, and ocean equipment....and again, cheaper per night than this dump. Too bad because it is so close to home, and such a fun family get away. I'm still torn on how to do this family adventure in the future.

We were in a 2 bdrm condo #253 and #254. I have a friend who's been coming here every other year for the last 20 for a family reunion. She said the condos have been the same ever since, in fact she mentioned ours was par for the course.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nvrdull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

It was disgusting. The beach was polluted - covered in trash and oil. The room didn't lock properly. The bath had hair in it. They force you to pay a whole lot for the extra activities. NO AIR CONDITIONING! Staff unfriendly. Floors were stained. Beds were old and lumpy. Walls dirty. We paid 700 dollars for three nights in a dive!!! It was a rip off.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Candy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The last time we were at Ideal Beach Resort (Sweetwater Resort) was 1998. This was the third time we've stayed there. This was not the same as our last trip. This was building I units #245,246,247. I was told I was renting a 3 bdrm condo but infact was 3 separate units. We were with our children and 2 grandchildren. One of the unit was 2 flight of stairs from the other 2 units. I went to the front desk but it was useless. The problem I had was that the owners had the master bdrm locked off from the rest of unit 246. This unit was a 2 bdrm but apparently the owner didn't want their space used. the cookware was awful and very minimal. This unit was on the East side iff the resort. The other times we stayed in buiding C more to the center of th resort. Wefound the staff to be freindly and ashelpful as they could. But bottom line is once your there you're stuck with the arraingement. We love the location ,still.

Room Tip: No AC in this unit, Very warm and hard to sleep. Bring a fan...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vickyrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We love Ideal Beach and look forward to returning year after year. The staff are young and fun and definitely add to the experience. Adam, who works just about everywhere on the resort is great. He was so patient and fun with our children and recognized them where ever they went. As parents we really appreciate the added eyes watching our kids and making sure they were safe and having a great time. Not to mention the huge lucious lawn and beautiful beach.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dmp6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Our family has been staying at Ideal Beach Resort for generations for our annual family reunions. The changes in recent years have been REMARKABLE!!! It looks and feels like a completely different resort. Thank you, Ideal Beach!!! It is very apparent that a lot of hard work, planning, as well as, money have been put into the resort recently and it is very much appreciated!!! The only thing that still remains are the pre- 1970's screen doors that provide entertainment and comic relief.
We have found the management and staff very friendly and helpful, even remembering us from year to year. It is exciting to see young interns working there learning from the family atmosphere and dedicated management. I am sure they will continue the Ideal Resort ideals and carry them throughout the world.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCP04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We rented several condos, the reunion center and all 6 motel rooms for a family reunion. The sleep 20 condo we thought we had rented was not the one we were placed in. The management was very gracious about the mix up and compensated us fairly. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Craig and Steve, the managers, took very good care of us. The grounds, amenities, facilities and beach were terrific. We had over 45 family members there. After the weeks event many asked me how soon could we come back for another family reunion. The place is very family friendly and safe. We had a wonderful time. I would readily and eagerly return for another stay. Thank you Craig and Steve.

Room Tip: Ask if your condo has air conditioning. The motel rooms are a walk from the parking lot.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garden City
4.0 mi away
WorldMark Bear Lake
WorldMark Bear Lake
#1 of 4 in Garden City
33 reviews
25.0 mi away
University Inn & Conference Center
3.4 mi away
Conestoga Ranch Glamping Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Beaver Creek Lodge
Beaver Creek Lodge
#1 of 1 in Logan
44 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Ideal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ideal Beach Resort

Address: 2176 S Bear Lake Blvd, Box 224, Garden City, UT 84028-9700
Location: United States > Utah > Garden City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Garden City
Price Range: $75 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a place for families, memories, and traditions. We offer the perfect opportunity to experience all the fun of the Bear Lake Valley. Situated right on the shore of beautiful Bear Lake, Ideal Beach has acres of white sandy beaches and quick access to the cool, blue water. Kids of all ages are sure to enjoy our vast open green spaces, which are perfect for picnics, flag-football, or an afternoon nap. From our swimming pools to the beach, from mini golf to tennis, from ice cream, hotdogs, or nachos the store to fire pits on the beach, Ideal Beach is the place for families to create memories together. We currently offer family activity's daily now as well. Such as: Face painting, nail and hair art- ever Tuesday and Thursday from 2-5pm. Scavenger hunts, and I spy games on Monday all day. Wednesday night we have bingo night. Friday is s'mores and hotdogs, with alternating ice cream bar. And Saturday is out big day starting with pancakes, a kids carnival games. Prices varies from free up to $5 at most. We are trying some thing new annd hope you enjoy it as much as we do ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ideal Beach Hotel Garden City
Ideal Beach Garden City
Ideal Beach Resort Utah/Garden City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing