We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Highlight of a two week trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Canyons Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 9 Escalante B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2009

My wife and I just returned home from a two week trek out week. We started in Vegas, went to the Grand Canyon, Sedona Arizona, Escalante, Utah, Park City Utah and Jackson WY. The trip was unbelievable and one of the highlights for sure was our two days in Escalante. After reading all of the positive reviews we couldn't resist giving The Canyons B&B a try and we were not disaappointed. Kate is wonderful, her B&B is wonderful and the whole Escalante region is very, very special. If you've never exlpored Southern Utah, do it! It's indescribably beautiful and amazingly very non commercial. We called it the "anti'-Sedona" ;not that we didn't love Sedona, we did but Southern Utah is very special. Without question our experience in the area would not have been as great had we not stayed with Kate at the Canyons. The rooms are incredible. Her attention to detail rivals top hotels while making you feel instantly at home. Her breakfasts are amazing. If you're planning a trip to Bryce or looking to simply drive Rt. 12 which is worth a trip in itself, or planning on doing some hiking in the Slot Canyons in the region, stay at the Canyon's B&B. Thank you Kate. You're terrific!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donpnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 244 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2009

What a lovely place to stay! We were ready for some hiking and brought our mountain bikes to explore. When we first drove into Escalante we thought "what are we going to do in this small town for 6 days"? When it was time to leave we thought "we need to come back again to see it all'! There is so much to see in this area! Between Bryce, the Burr trail drive, Highway 12 and Capitol Reef there was just too much to explore! Cate was so nice and welcoming and got us set up with a canyonering adventure at Excursions of Escalante across the street...so much fun. She even had a place we could lock up our bikes up for the night. Thanks Cate, we will be back soon!

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank TeamMKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2009

My wife and I decided to do a tour of southern utah and wanted to see Zion , Bryce and due some hiking and canyoneering in escalante. Did some research and found the Canyons b&b. Kate the owner is a special person and really makes you feel welcome. We have stayed all over the world at some fine resorts and hotels therefore expectations were low for this trip but this B&B was a wow. The rooms were well appointed with small touches like robes, flashlights and designer linens! The decor was charming and Kate even put our names on the outside of the room as we arrived. Her breakfasts are outstanding ...the flavors are spectacular and I challenge you to find a better homemade taste and feel to her personalized morning delights. I also highly recommend excursions of escalante outfitters which is right across the street and Rick is the best guide in the Southwest. Sunset magazine interested us in this trip and it created the perfect memory for us and we would definitely return.

bryce national park was perfect for a day hike and than we went to Zion and hiked the narrows which was spectacular. Definitely rent a walking stick if you intend to hike the narrows. Thats a must and stay at the Desert Pearl







7

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ravduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2009

Cate is the proprietor of Canyons B&B and she provided us with lovely accomodations.
We originally wanted to stay in Torrey to be closer to Captiol Reef National Park. I'm glad we didn't. Esclanate is not a thriving metropolis; however the B&B made up for it.
The rooms are very charming and the stuffed waffles will not only fill you up but add a couple of pounds!! Cate had booked us in the wrong room accidentally (which didn't make any difference) and made up for it by reducing the price...it really wasn't necessary.
Stopped by the soft-serve ice-cream store across the street and had a nice juicy double hamburger. The owner is a former Northwestern University professor and was a "hoot" to talke to. We went out of our way to have dinner in Boulder at Hell's Backbone Grill which received high ratings from Fodors. It was OK but not worth the round trip over Hwy 12...they're just not as good as they think they are.
ps- Cate's dog has the best "job" in the world

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

It's difficult to add to the already glowing recommendations provided by former guests, among whom I relied when considering Canyons B & B in Escalante for a recent vacation. This facility was highly praised but even managed to exceed my high expectations. Cate runs a "tight ship" and strives for perfection. It is evident that considerable thought has gone into the design of the rooms as well as the amenities therein. Everything that a discriminating traveler would want has been provided. You won't go wrong if you plan to stay at this immaculate bed & breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VetteGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2009

My wife and I thorough enjoyed our three night stay with Cate and her other wonderful guests. We will return possibly later this year but definately next year to enjoy the magical beauty of the Escalante region.

We have stayed in the finest hotels throughout the world and can't say enough good things about this B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hiker76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2009

I don't know what to add to what others said except thanks to Cate! We stayed in the "Lodge" room for 5 nights.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Escalante hotels
0.5 mi away
Escalante Outfitters, Inc -- The Bunkhouse
0.4 mi away
Escalante's Grand Staircase Bed & Breakfast Inn
1.3 mi away
Escalante Yurts
Escalante Yurts
#3 of 8 in Escalante
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cowboy Country Inn
Cowboy Country Inn
#5 of 9 in Escalante
113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wild West Retreat
Wild West Retreat
#4 of 9 in Escalante
60 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Staircase Resort of Escalante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyons Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyons Bed and Breakfast

Address: PO Box 552, corner of Main St & 100 East, Escalante, UT 84726-0552
Location: United States > Utah > Escalante
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Escalante
Price Range: $157 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Canyons Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyons Bed And Breakfast Escalante, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing