We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best b&b of our trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Canyons Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 9 Escalante B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2008

Having just said I don't give 5's, I've decided to. My husband and I thought about all the places we stayed in our 3 week, 8 stop trip, and decided this was, overall, the best. We stayed in the Garden Room, which has windows on three sides - so lovely and light. The bed is large and very comfortable. There's cable TV is you really must. The shower is of the large, walk-in variety. The breakfasts were delicious (as they were at all our stops). Nice towels and waffle dressing gowns. In fact, everything you could want from a home from home.

The only problem in our room would be for visitors with a moth phobia. On the first night we had 6. We assumed a previous visitor had left the light on with the door open, so after chasing them out, we thought we'd be moth free. Not so, another 5 the second night, and 7 the third! We spoke to folk in the adjoining room - it didn't seem to be such an issue (1 moth per night). So, perhaps not the Garden Room if you've a moth phobia - otherwise, go for it, it's wonderful. Oh, and Cate is a delight - the most 'genuine' of all our hosts / hostesses.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cranford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 247 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2008

What else can we add that hasn't been said by other reviewers, other than to concur that was is the perfect B&B! Although we have travelled extensively, we've not had much experience of B&B US-style, but Canyons was just delightful. Immediately we arrived Cate and Nellie made us feel welcome and at home. The rooms - we had the Cowboy and Cabana rooms - were beautifully furnished, and the beds were extremely comfortable. And because the rooms have direct access to the garden, you don't feel that you’re living in someone else’s house. Breakfast was both excellent and beautifully presented. An added bonus was being able to relax, with a long drink, in the cool shade of the garden after a hot day in the car. Sadly, we were only able to stay one night, and because there is so much to see in the world it's unlikely we'll return. But thank you, Cate, for making our trip to Escalante so enjoyable and memorable.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Bigfoot34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2008

Canyons B&B is just perfect! The rooms are great and all are really originally done and at least 4* quality. Cate makes great breakfasts and her information about where to go and what to do made our trip! Thank you Cate!
Whenever you go to Escalante, stay at Canyons B&B. It's just THE BEST!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TamiTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2008

This was our first B&B and we were very happy with the entire experience. The accomodations were wonderful. Every breakfast was delicious! Cate gave us wonderful tips that made our entire stay an experience that will stay with us forever!
We are a family of 6 and our 4 children embraced the beauty and simplicity of Escalante as did we. I highly recommend Canyons Bed & Breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ded257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2008

The best thing about the canyons was we felt at home within 1 hour after check in. Cate was great. Nellie was great . The rooms are of 4 star quality. Breakfast was great. BBQ every night under the huge tree in the courtyard. Location is great. Close to the high country and short drive to Bryce Canyon and Capitol Reef . We stayed 3 nights, most people were using it as a one night stop over, which is to bad this place is great just to relax and recharge your energy . Front pourch is great to enjoy coffee or read a book. Can't say enough about this B an B. Won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ronjen817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2008

My wife and I stayed at Canyons Bed and Breakfast on a whim. We knew we wanted to stay in Escalante at a Bed and Breakfast so just took a shot in the dark. We hit the jackpot. Everything was taken care of and we were never in need for anything during the entire stay. The atmosphere is very upscale and comfortable, laid back and friendly. The back area is a great place to relax in a chair or hammock. We stayed in the lodge room which had a large comfortable King sized bed. Kate is very friendly and will do whatever it takes to make your stay in this wonderful town the best it can be. The breakfasts are first rate, in addition to the 24 hour use area which has travel books, fridges, microwave etc. We will definitely be making our way back to this refuge ASAP. I really cannot recommend this place highly enough, we stayed at a multitude of places all throughout Utah, Arizona, and Nevada and this was by far the best. Also if you come out this way be sure to book a trip with Rick at Excursions of Escalante located directly across the street. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jnderose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2008

We have stayed at Canyons B&B twice already, have sent various friends their way - and will hopefully be back soon on the next Southern Utah road trip.

We discovered this great little B&B on a road trip in 2005, traveling with my folks and stayed at two of the three garden cottages (Cowboy & Cabana). We came back last fall, this time with my sister, who enjoyed the decoration of the Cowboy room, while we had a new room in the main house - which included use of the living room with comfy leather couches and all.

Two perfect stays, including some of the best breakfasts along with Cate & Phil's hospitality - we will hopefully be back again soon ...

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JulesSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Escalante hotels
0.6 mi away
Canyon Country Lodge
Canyon Country Lodge
#3 of 4 in Escalante
12 reviews
0.5 mi away
Escalante Outfitters, Inc -- The Bunkhouse
1.3 mi away
Escalante Yurts
Escalante Yurts
#3 of 8 in Escalante
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Escalante's Grand Staircase Bed & Breakfast Inn
0.3 mi away
Wild West Retreat
Wild West Retreat
#5 of 9 in Escalante
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cowboy Country Inn
Cowboy Country Inn
#4 of 9 in Escalante
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyons Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyons Bed and Breakfast

Address: PO Box 552, corner of Main St & 100 East, Escalante, UT 84726-0552
Location: United States > Utah > Escalante
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Escalante
Price Range: $143 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Canyons Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyons Bed And Breakfast Escalante, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing