We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of Slot Canyons Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Escalante
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Slot Canyons Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Escalante B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had a great stay. Got in late, so it was a little hard to figure out the system. Had to find someone in the restaurant out back to find our key (which had simply been left at the front desk). But once we got that figured out, we had a great dinner at the North Creek Grllle, out back. Settled into the room to find a lot of channels....baseball playoffs...available, and wifi!! Then sitting outside on the huge deck and watching the moonrise and more stars than we had seen in a LONG time.

This Inn is the perfect base for exploring hwy 12, hole in the rock road, and hells backbone rd. There is so much to do and see in this area, we will return!

2 young ladies were innkeepers over the weekend that we were there. They did a Superb job. Breakfast could not have been more wonderful! Checkout was efficient and accurate.

One other mention...the website for this Inn is a great asset for planning any visit to the Escalante/Boulder area. Very well done.

We can't wait to get back to this breathtaking corner of Utah.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank donhuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
There are newer reviews for Slot Canyons Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 297 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

The rooms were nicely appointed. We stayed in a suite with another couple and had PLENTY of room.
The restaurant was slightly better than average; loved the burgers.
The best feature was the hostess and the breakfast spreads she put on.
The biggest negative is that there seems to be absolutely NO sound insulation; I could hear someone snoring in an upstairs room and through two doors (and attached walls) in our suite.
another negative was that there was only one key for a suite with two master bedrooms so we had to coordinate who had the key at any given moment.

Room Tip: find one with less exposure to other rooms; not sure which one that would be,
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sinnet33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

On our trip through the U.S. Southwest we stayed one night at this wonderful Inn, and it was the best possible choice we could have made. Small but impressive building away from the road and sourrounded by nature and with a great view, beautiful and well equipped rooms (we had a two rooms mini-suite with fireplace and balcony), delicious dinner prepared fresh to order and served in a lovely place just in the garden/backyard of the Inn. Slot Canyons Inn is an ideal location for excursions, tours and hikes through the Grand Staircase Escalante National Monument with its amidst impressive scenery. Should we come back to this area, we will definitely return to the Slot Canyons Inn and stay there for a few days.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wernero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The other reviewers are absolutely right - nicely done, wonderfully nice people, almost like home from home - freshly prepared food (home baked bread, granola and other breakfast dishes, etc) and well managed. The dinners were very good too (just as well as it would be a long drive to go somewhere else).

The Be Prepared applies to people of a certain age that may find it difficult to carry suitcases up a fairly rough and unlit gravel trail, lack of elevator and such like. The Log Cabin was hard for us and moved to another room for our second night (note there is a seven day cancellation policy and we were asked to pay the price of the Log Cabin for the second night (happily we reached a compromise). Also note that there is nothing else around Escalante and in fact we paid less per night at the Four Seasons in Scottsdale, AZ)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann_Onimme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Spent a night at the Slot Canyons Inn afew weeks ago. This was part of a road trip on Utah Highway 12. If you have never done this, it is an amazing drive. We stayed at the Slot Canyons Inn, intially since it was perfectly located for our drive. Past Zion national park but just before we crossed the Aquarius Plateau. Once we got there we found an absolute jewel. We had a room with a tub, two patios. My wife relaxed in the tub with a glass of wine, in awe of the mountains just out the window. I sat watching the sun go down. Dinner is not to be missed, outside dining under a western sky is fantastic. Bring your own wine, this is Utah and they do not sell any there. One of the hightlights of our trip. Side note, drive the speed limit, Had no problem personally, but saw a number of cars pulled over by the local police.

Room Tip: Get the room with the tub
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

This is #1my in our books!!!,slightly off the beaten path but worth the few minutes drive outside of town. Lots of land to roam on, yummy breakfasts and they even had a small restaurant on site for easy dining after a day of slot canyons(BYOB). Rooms.were clean and spacious and nice indoor+outdoor common areas too. Owner onsite and very active in making your stay the best possible..we want to go back and bring many friends next time!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kateofsouthFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Were we ever thrilled to check into this fabulous B&B after a long hike to Lower Calf Creek Falls (both around Escalante in Southern Utah). It was a warm day (the last week in August) and staying here was perfect! They have a Grille on property, so were were able to come down to dinner in our "sock feet!" How special was that! My husband showered and then soaked in the Claw-foot Tub in our lovely room...I cannot remember the last time in almost 30 years that I've seen my husband soak in a tub! Between the tub, the delicious dinner at the Grille and the comfy king-sized bed...we had a wonderful night's sleep and ready to tackle the day again! Thanks to Joette for a delightful breakfast & such a warm and wonderful place to stay right on Highway 12 in Southern Utah. If you decide to go to this area... you will NOT be disappointed driving to this lovely B&B right outside Escalante!

Room Tip: We went for the higher priced room called "Dance Hall Rock" ($195) This info is taken f...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaysKreations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escalante
24.6 mi away
Grand Staircase Inn
Grand Staircase Inn
#1 of 1 in Cannonville
554 reviews
4.6 mi away
Canyons Bed and Breakfast
Canyons Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 9 in Escalante
240 reviews
4.1 mi away
Escalante Outfitters, Inc -- The Bunkhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Escalante Yurts
Escalante Yurts
#3 of 8 in Escalante
32 reviews
4.2 mi away
Escalante's Grand Staircase Bed & Breakfast Inn
13.5 mi away
Boulder Mountain Guest Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slot Canyons Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slot Canyons Inn

Address: 3680 W State Highway 12, Escalante, UT 84726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Escalante
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Escalante
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Slot Canyons Hotel Escalante
Slot Canyons Inn Escalante, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing