We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“adequate”
Review of Prospector Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Escalante
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prospector Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Escalante
Reviewed June 2, 2008

friendly and nice front desk lady,clean,basic motel room with not bad beds,solid building construction and mostly quiet neighbors.good ,somewhat loud air conditioner but like the TV, works fine. HOT water,good pressure.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keimanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 180 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2008

These rooms are as clean as I've seen anywhere. Beds are comfortable, linen was clean, washcloths and towels are spotlessly clean. Alternate or old towels are provided as utility towels to clean shoes or gear. I wasn't concerned to walk on the carpet with bare feet as I am in so many other hotels. Verda, the affable and entertaining lady at the front desk, added to the pleasure of our stay. Very personable with local visitors as well as with tourists from overseas. This hotel manages to stay open throughout the year while so many others in the area close during the winter season. I feel this is a testimony to the attractive rates and to the popularity garnered by providing service, cleanliness, and information. There is a cafe attached to the hotel which makes it very convenient to catch breakfast before starting one's day. I will stay here each time I visit Escalante.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hiker2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2007

This is a nice little place. Pauline is a sweetie.. We actually broke down in Devils Garden and after a 6 hour ordeal in the heat . Luckily pauline was able to find another room for us to rent that evening. For $69 the price was definitely right.. The rooms were spotless. And there is a nice little cafe that serves good, but inexpensive food, right behind the hotel.

If you visit Devil's Garden- it is a dirt road that is hardly traveled. There is very limited cell phone service. Take plenty of food and water in case you get stranded and plan for possible car break downs. It was scarey. Fortunately praying brought LM officer and he called a towtruck. This road will kill your car!!!! Even the towtruck blew 2 tires and broke down .

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank WannaBeaCowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2007

For a 3-night stay in April, we were very pleased with the cleanliness, comfort, and quiet at this motel. The manager was friendly and helpful. The restaurant served a very good breakfast, but we had been warned to avoid it for lunch or dinner. Overall, we wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ronc41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2006

Stayed here for one night in October 2006. Room was spacious and clean but toilet blocked. Restaurant served OK food but service wasn't very friendly. OK for a stopover but was glad we didn't stay.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2006

Driving through Escalente there are several motels on the main road, we were tired and this motel looked the most modern. The receptionist eventually attended the desk, she was rude. If she had not had my credit card in her hand when she began a telephone conversation with a friend we would have walked out. However we were tired and needed a room. Our room was clean but smelly. On each occasion we spoke to the receptionists they were rude and unhelpful. No breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Crinabottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2006

We stopped in Escalante while doing Zion, Bryce, and Capitol Reef parks on our way back from Las Vegas to Denver. We hadn't preplanned our stop, so decided to stop here because weren't sure how far the next town with motel services was. The motel looked like the best in this very small town, although a bit run down on the outside. If you are doing the same route, I would either stop a bit earlier in Bryce, or drive on a little more to Torrey outside of Capital Reef (there were some motels with beautiful settings just outside of Capital Reef, as we saw the next morning). The motel choices are much better in either of those towns.

CHECK-IN
The desk clerk was short and rude when we checked in. The rate was $50 and we asked if there were any senior rates or AAA rates, and she acted as if we were insulting her. They only have double rooms with full beds, no Queens or Kings, we were curtly informed.

ROOM
The room was clean and nicely decorated. Carpet was very clean. The room looked newly rennovated. There were two double beds (a bit tight for two adults in one bed), a dresser with a small tv (about 7 channels), and a small table with two chairs.

The bathroom has an outside sink with large counter area. The bathroom was large and sparkling clean with a tub/shower combo and toilet. However, the water pressure was extremely weak with a low-low flow shower head. Soap and shampoo for products.

AMENITIES
They do have free high-speed internet which is a bonus. However, there is no alarm clock, no hair dryer, or any other amenities.

RESTAURANT
We ate at the restaurant behind the motel. It is a coffee shop with reasonable prices. I had chili that looked and tasted like it had been poured out of a Hormel can. My BF had the navajo taco which was a little better (fresh made navajo bread), but had the same awful chili on it. The service was inattentive with the waitress having a chat with her friends at the counter rather than waiting on tables.

All in all, was a very basic, yet clean motel room.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank izzyblizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Escalante hotels
0.1 mi away
Escalante Outfitters, Inc -- The Bunkhouse
0.1 mi away
Escalante's Grand Staircase Bed & Breakfast Inn
0.5 mi away
Canyons Bed and Breakfast
Canyons Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 9 in Escalante
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cowboy Country Inn
Cowboy Country Inn
#5 of 9 in Escalante
113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Staircase Resort of Escalante
1.4 mi away
Escalante Yurts
Escalante Yurts
#3 of 8 in Escalante
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prospector Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospector Inn

Address: 380 W Main St, P.O. Box 296, Escalante, UT 84726-7705
Location: United States > Utah > Escalante
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Escalante
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Prospector Hotel Escalante
Prospector Inn Escalante, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing