We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms are ok”
Review of Prospector Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Escalante
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prospector Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Escalante
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Hotel rooms are fairly large with 2 queen beds and quite clean. Our rate on a Saturday night, drop in price was $66 - with tax was $74. Amenities include a refrigerator, microwave, and tv. No coffee pot - but they serve coffee and tea in the lobby from 6:30 am. For a blow dryer, ask at the front desk. Soap, shampoo, and some rags are provided - apparently it is common for those hiking to have used the towels in the past to wipe mud from their shoes -- now the proprietor provides a rag towel too.

There is a Prospector restaurant in the back that has a decent diner - only one waitress with two cooks, but they have a salad bar that goes with everything. We ordered a pot roast dinner - it comes with salad bar, mashed potatoes or fries, a dinner roll, and lots of food for $13.99. Taste was ok, it was a little dry, but the salad bar was good. All you can eat salad was $6.99. Breakfast runs from $6.99 and up - hefty portions are served.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank rainb0wtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 180 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2012

Two nights here in May. Can't complain about this place at all. And a new resident manger, Janice, is a real sweetheart! Former manager and still owner, Verda, has relinquished mgmt duties. I hope things stay as they are for a long time. You can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HikerBiker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I can't believe the rate was <$70 / night, as the rooms were great.

Room Tip: The breakfasts at the restaurant have huge portions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachbumAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We ended up getting a room here after Esc. Outfitters messed up our reservation. The lady that runs the front desk is incredibly lovely and was VERY helpful to our family. Yes, the motel is old school, but the rooms are big and neat as a pin, the heat works great, the beds are comfy and the showers had plenty of hot water for this family of 5. I can think of what more we could need after a long day climbing and hiking around the Esc. wilderness. I have nothing but nice things to say about this Prospector.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VaNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We enjoyed this motel. We got a room on the back. It was quiet, clean, not fancy, but real nice for that part of the country. We walked two doors down to a great pizza/sandwich/bakery/store, Escalante Outfitters, for dinner and breakfast. I ate and shopped at the same time. They have some very neat stuff for sale, and the food was good.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maddie4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Convenient location to this beautiful National Monument. Can use this location to do photography of many of the great locations nearby. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cystokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

We traveled to Escalante for a visit with my son. The trip was a real success mainly due to the spacious clean rooms at the Prospector Inn. Also the manager was very friendly and helpful.She could alse double as a tour guide. It's nice to have a call from the front desk saying the coffee is ready and wha the weather is doing outside. We will visit Escalante in February and will come back to the Prospector.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Escalante hotels
1.1 mi away
Canyon Country Lodge
Canyon Country Lodge
#2 of 4 in Escalante
18 reviews
0.1 mi away
Escalante Outfitters, Inc -- The Bunkhouse
0.5 mi away
Canyons Bed and Breakfast
Canyons Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 9 in Escalante
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cowboy Country Inn
Cowboy Country Inn
#4 of 9 in Escalante
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Escalante's Grand Staircase Bed & Breakfast Inn
0.7 mi away
Wild West Retreat
Wild West Retreat
#5 of 9 in Escalante
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prospector Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospector Inn

Address: 380 W Main St, P.O. Box 296, Escalante, UT 84726-7705
Location: United States > Utah > Escalante
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Escalante
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Prospector Hotel Escalante
Prospector Inn Escalante, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing