We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Escalante
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveler rating
58
32
23
10
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
58
32
23
10
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main house in town zion national park short stay would highly recommend staying here cup of coffee small town nice room great place to stay tom host hiking capital reef
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 137 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2015

Not sure what others were looking for in their stay but Tom made us very welcome. The rooms were comfortable and large and yes they were chalet like. The bathroom was large and clean and well stocked with obviously freshly laundered towels.

Tom was very helpful in pointing out where to eat and advising of a local rodeo. A true rodeo not a tourist one. Yes he comes across as liking his rules but they may be due to his time as a Fireman. The breakfast is early but comes with loads of coffee and whilst it may not be the biggest breakfast in the world, at least one is provided and it is freshly home cooked.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLANN1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2015 via mobile

whilst the rooms are very comfortable, this is not a traditional bed and breakfast inn, the rooms are motel style and there are more rules and regulations in the most officious tone which made us all feel very uncomfortable. And we had the same, no choice breakfast two days running, whether you liked it or not. Tom can be very helpful but clearly runs his establishment to suit himself rather than his guests.
A great pity.

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4  Thank venessab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EGSBNB, Owner at The Inn of Escalante, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2015

In response to Venessa"s review to my B&B. When I was thinking of doing a B&B years ago I asked MANY people about B&B's and their main concern/comment was that they did not like everyone in one house. It gave them uncomfortable feeling, shared bathrooms, don't talk to loud it will disturb other guests etc. Thus the three separate buildings.
This is an extension of my home. When I check you in I TRY to be there, walk you to your room and explain to you that "This is information on the B&B. It has such things as Breakfast Times, Check-Out Times and you can't light fires in your room" Think about that I just said, it did happen to me!!! The Policies are normal everyday statements, show you about the Internet and things that you would normally agree with. Most people say oh, ok, others look at me and I say not to take the policies personally. They are mainly for the "Bone-Heads"
As for I do this to suit myself, you have NO idea what I do to help guests out, NO idea. Do's, don'ts, try this, do this 1st, then this 2nd, stop here and see this, come up for coffee starting at 6:30 and lets go over things again and the list goes on. I like what I do and I want you to have a GREAT experience in this fabulous place I call home. If this is what you call "running the establishment to suit myself" YEP that what I am doing...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2015

We stayed for two days and generally liked most things about it. I had a nice off day relaxing on the porch reading. It's nice and quiet, clean and well maintained. The only things i might have an issue with are a matter of taste. The owners are early risers and don't serve breakfast past 8:15 am (and it's a bit light). For people who hike late into the evening to avoid the head and bleached colors of the mid day sun, it can be hard or pointless to show up at that time. Likewise, checkout is a bit early at 10am. I do want to say though that the owners are very friendly.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2015

I stayed one night at this B&B. The room was very nice, clean and spacious. The B&B is located in the middle of the town and close to everything. Tom is very nice and helpful. I really enjoyed the breakfast and his insight about the area. I will highly recommend this place.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonsoonPhoto2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2015

This is a very nice B&B and Tom was an excellent host. The rooms are very spacious and the AC worked wonderfully (very appreciated after hiking all day in the heat!). We only ate breakfast the day we were leaving because I like to be out on the trails early to beat the heat as much as possible but I wish we had made the time to eat the breakfast every morning. Tom cooked up homemade cream cheese stuffed French toast and made herbed scrambled eggs. It was a very delicious breakfast. Tom was also very knowledgeable of the places to eat and the things to do in the area. The wifi was very fast too. My only "complaint" would be there are no refrigerators, coffee makers or microwaves in the rooms and because of a prior incident with a different customer, Tom no longer allows coolers in the rooms either. This makes having a cold beverage difficult in the evenings since the sidewalks seem to "roll up" somewhat early in town. This is not truly a complaint, just a "heads up" to anyone wishing to stay here. We really did enjoy our stay here over July 4th weekend.

Room tip: Any room is good as this is a very quiet area to stay
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dsqard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews