We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really nice and Tom makes a great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Escalante's Grand Staircase Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #6 of 9 Escalante B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 5, 2012

large, clean, uniquely and beautifully appointed rooms at a very reasonable price. Tom makes a great breakfast and really knows the region. He is very helpful. When one of our fellow guests accidently locked himself out of his room, we contacted Tom - who was out of the area - and he immediately came roaring back on his motorcycle. He couldn't have been nicer about it. We will stay here every time we are in the area.

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool. I can't get that "terrible" rating to go away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tangoguy2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EGSBNB, Owner at Escalante's Grand Staircase Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

I really appreciate the great review. I really try to help out all of my guests so that they have a great time while here. I know you are here to go places and see things and I really try to help out my guests with "insider-local" suggestions. I like to cook so I try to do different breakfast every morning and invite my guests up for morning coffee before breakfast so we can talk about their day and how they can get the most, and best, out of the area while they are here.
Thanks again,
Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 116 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

The 'Fire Room' was huge yet cozy, right in town yet quiet, not cheap yet worth it. Tom is very helpful if you're looking for tips on places to explore or a good spot for a draught or a place to gaze at stars, and he's not a bad cook, either.

Room Tip: He didn't advertise a pool or fitness center, I couldn't uncheck them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pbatwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

First: not an other chain Hotel. Silent Area, comfortable rooms, nice owner. Listen to him,he knows the region and favoured the Escalante NP.
Breakfast is made on time from Tom in front of you, delicious! A place to relax.
There are enough restaurants nearby.
The decoration of the rooms looks like the web says. Not to cheap but a value.
Good place to stay some day in the region. And if you arrived from Moab, the route 24 and 12 are sienic to ride.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joedreir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed for two nights in the earth room which was lovely. A nice log pine bed with a cute black bear stuffy on the bed with a beautiful murel painted on the wall.

Tom was a great host, giving us lots of information on hiking in the area. He is a good cook and makes a great breakfast.

I would stay here again. He has lots of cats, but they were no problem whatsoever.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donnarita1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We were greeted by Tom who was very accomodating and provided us a fantastic room, a great size and everything you could want for a short stay. Each room appeared themed and a lot of time had obviously gone into the decoration too. I would recommend anyone to stay here.
A warm and informative welcome awaits and it has a number of local amenities within walking distance. The areas surounding this location are quite incredible and in could be worth investing in 2/3nights to explore all the national parks near by.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TONYandHELEN01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Customer service counts a lot for me, and for my family. We had a very difficult vacation to plan, given our family's changing schedule and a medical issue. Tom was incredibly helpful all the way through. That counts for a lot for us. Thanks Tom!

Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
Thank ValueTravelerMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

In September we vacationed in the Canyonlands of southern Utah. A very nice B&B. Owner is very helpful for recomending trips within the Grand Staircase NM. A very small town with limited services but the area is truly enchanting. The rooms are large and clean. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGFTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Escalante hotels
0.3 mi away
Canyon Country Lodge
Canyon Country Lodge
#3 of 4 in Escalante
4 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cowboy Country Inn
Cowboy Country Inn
#5 of 9 in Escalante
114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Escalante Outfitters, Inc -- The Bunkhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Canyons Bed and Breakfast
Canyons Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 9 in Escalante
246 reviews
1.3 mi away
Escalante Yurts
Escalante Yurts
#3 of 8 in Escalante
38 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Staircase Resort of Escalante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Escalante's Grand Staircase Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escalante's Grand Staircase Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 280 West Main Street, Escalante, UT 84726
Location: United States > Utah > Escalante
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Escalante
Price Range: $168 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Escalante's Grand Staircase Bed & Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Escalante's Grand Staircase Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escalante's Grand Staircase Bed & Breakfast Inn Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing