We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, very clean and excellent value.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Escalante Outfitters, Inc -- The Bunkhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica, California
2 reviews
“Simple, very clean and excellent value.”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We had a lovely time at Escalante Outfitters. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Their pizzeria was excellent especially after a day of hiking. The log cabins are very small and I would recommend bunk beds as it gave us more room. The facility was very clean. Shared hot showers-very clean as well. Travelers get a great value. And the location is outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank patricia j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    70
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
48
112
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2013

It is one thing to be of assistance in one area of your business, but the folks at Escalante Outfitters were great with the accommodations, food and directions - even drawing us a map on a napkin to get to the slot canyons.

The locations is great - close to many places to hike and explore, while also within walking distance to food and supplies.

We stayed for two nights and the Bunkhouse was quaint and more than enough space. If you don't mind sharing a bathhouse with other travelers then this is a great option. The room and the bathrooms were clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bradleyj1268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loomis ca
Level 6 Contributor
482 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

after 4 nights of camping we were ready for a shower and air conditioning. Fine hotel, no negotiating price even though they had several empty rooms. Outdated but spacious and clean. Just fine for one night and in the center of town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ernieLoomisCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed one night in march 2013 in the Escalante Outfitters camping. It was great value for what we got. The showers were hot (a bit small and no intimity to change the clothes) As we were still cold in our tent in march, that was absolutely perfect.
For me, the only negative point was that we couldn't park the car directly close to the tent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were very clean and worked well for my family. My only concern is that the bathrooms didn't seem to be cleaned properly. Also two bath stalls per gender really isn't enough when the lodging area is full.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plancarte307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Good place for a little luxury if you've been camping or an inexpensive rustic place to stay otherwise. Pet and people friendly, the attached store/restaurant has outdoor supplies, a good selection of books on southern Utah nature, geology, hiking and history. The attached restaurant has good food and a pleasant patio.

Room Tip: If you go to bed early, the cabins near the barbecue gathering area on the north can be noisy till q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank J_N_SW86001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My two teenage daughters and I have been staying at Escalante Outfitters for years. During our first visit we camped on one of their raised tent pads and then returned several more times, renting their cabins. The cabins are very cozy in both Summer and Winter, kept very clean and make you feel like you're in the deep woods while actually walking distance from every restaurant in town. The shared and clean restrooms are in the middle of the property and easy to get to at 3am when you're half asleep. The staff is great and always helpful.
We'll be back!

Room Tip: Escalante Outfitters will allow dogs but only in certain cabins. Try booking sooner than later!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank STRING3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escalante
0.0 mi away
Ticaboo Resort
Ticaboo Resort
#1 of 1 in Lake Powell
167 reviews
0.5 mi away
Canyons Bed and Breakfast
Canyons Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 9 in Escalante
235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Escalante's Grand Staircase Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Staircase Resort of Escalante
0.7 mi away
Wild West Retreat
Wild West Retreat
#5 of 9 in Escalante
59 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cowboy Country Inn
Cowboy Country Inn
#6 of 9 in Escalante
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Escalante Outfitters, Inc -- The Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escalante Outfitters, Inc -- The Bunkhouse

Property: Escalante Outfitters, Inc -- The Bunkhouse
Address: 310 W Main St, Escalante, UT 84726-7705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Escalante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Escalante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escalante Outfitters's Bunkhouse is your outpost for adventures in southern Utah's canyon country and the Grand Staircase-Escalante. Clean, comfortable lodging with lots of ambiance in our handmade log-cabin bunkhouses or camp sites. Nightly campfires, picnic tables, charcoal grills, common bath/shower house. Attached outdoor gear & supply store with maps, books, gear, and our Esca-Latte cafe and pizza parlor feature great food, local microbrews & ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Escalante Outfitters, Inc -- The Bunkhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escalante Outfitters, Inc -- The Bunkhouse Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing