We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Escalante UT area is spectacular...the Bunkhouse very reasonable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Escalante Outfitters, Inc -- The Bunkhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Olympia, WA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Escalante UT area is spectacular...the Bunkhouse very reasonable”
Reviewed June 16, 2011

The area in and around Escalante is unique. This part of Utah is grand and somewhat remote (hopefully it stays that way). And if you're into the high desert and outdoor adventure this is a wonderful place to visit and play in. We were there for only a few days on vacation but one could easily see that there's more to it. If you could figure out a way to make a living, it would be one heck of a place to settle into. And the Escalante Outfitters, with small individual wooded cabins, provide as reasonable priced lodging as you could find anywhere in these parts. They also operate an outdoors gear store, a cafe (great pizza and coffee/expresso drinks) and have definitely built a perfect nitch for folks visiting the area as well as helping to support the local community. I'd return in a heart beat if I could...and the Escalante Outfitters would definitely be on my list to go back to.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SailingBye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    71
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
49
112
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boise
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2011

The cabins are small, but all you really need after a day of hiking. The food is great at the restaurant and the staff is friendly.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tflagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2011

After National Park campgrounds with pit toilets, it was a treat to find the Escalante Outfitters' campground right in the small town of Escalante. The camping area adjoins a small group of cabins, and share a comfortable bath house with hot water, clean towels and flush toilets. No cabins were available when we arrived, or we might have left our tent in the car. Still, we enjoyed tenting in this quiet, clean campground (no RVs, trailers, vehicles of any kind. We found a spacious pavilion for community dining, a fire pit, and convenient parking. At daybreak we enjoyed walking next door to the restaurant for a substantial breakfast and great coffee. We suggested one improvement to the owners: that they add a grill or two near the tent sites. The only option we had for grilling our hamburgers was the lone grill between the cabins and tents, very near the front porch of one cabin occupied by a couple who might have been annoyed by both our smoke and our presence.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank camperf0lks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We rented two cabins for our family during our trip to Escalante and the surrounding area. We wanted all the fun of camping but with the comfort of beds at night and a place to shower, and Escalante Outfitters worked perfectly for us. It was conveniently located. The cabins are so cute and cozy, and our kids were absolutely thrilled that they got to have their OWN cabin. We had fresh towels and soap every day. The restrooms were clean and convenient with plenty of hot water in the showers. We had a charcoal grill and a picnic table right between the two cabins we rented (#3 and #4). The parking was convenient. We didn't eat at the restaurant, but we had everything we needed. I couldn't be happier with how everything worked out. If we go back to Escalante in the future, we will definitely stay at Escalante Outfitters again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YooperJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We stayed in one of the cabins the night before a backpacking trip to coyote gulch. It met our needs perfectly. Only dissapointment was the power was out in escalante due to a fire so we couldn't try the pizza. I guess we'll have to go back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krishill0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Loved it! Rooms were dark though, so not for reading or anything else. Great food!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler29494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We stayed in cabin #1, it was stupendous. Clean, cozy, heater worked, wifi worked, was lots of fun. only issue is that the central bathrooms - though they are spotless - may not be big enough to handle the number of people who stay there. Could be a zoning or plumbing headache to expand them though. anyway, I strongly recommend the cabins. If i ever go back to escalante, this is the only place I'll be staying.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balasali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escalante
0.0 mi away
Ticaboo Resort
Ticaboo Resort
#1 of 1 in Lake Powell
167 reviews
0.5 mi away
Canyons Bed and Breakfast
Canyons Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 9 in Escalante
235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Escalante's Grand Staircase Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Staircase Resort of Escalante
0.7 mi away
Wild West Retreat
Wild West Retreat
#5 of 9 in Escalante
59 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cowboy Country Inn
Cowboy Country Inn
#6 of 9 in Escalante
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Escalante Outfitters, Inc -- The Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escalante Outfitters, Inc -- The Bunkhouse

Property: Escalante Outfitters, Inc -- The Bunkhouse
Address: 310 W Main St, Escalante, UT 84726-7705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Escalante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Escalante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escalante Outfitters's Bunkhouse is your outpost for adventures in southern Utah's canyon country and the Grand Staircase-Escalante. Clean, comfortable lodging with lots of ambiance in our handmade log-cabin bunkhouses or camp sites. Nightly campfires, picnic tables, charcoal grills, common bath/shower house. Attached outdoor gear & supply store with maps, books, gear, and our Esca-Latte cafe and pizza parlor feature great food, local microbrews & ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Escalante Outfitters, Inc -- The Bunkhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escalante Outfitters, Inc -- The Bunkhouse Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing