We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”
Review of Circle D Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Escalante
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Circle D Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Escalante
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Room had a hard floor instead of carpet. Heating and air conditioning did not function well. Room had not been fully cleaned - bedside table was covered in sticky rings from previous occupants' soda cans I can only presume and surface linens had clearly not been laundered - pillow shams were dirty (fortunately brought our own pillows). Mattresses were old, worn and very, very, very broken down and uncomfortable and sheets were very old and worn as well, nearly translucent. Hot and cold were backwards on the sinks. Noise and chatter on the porch that runs the whole distance of the motel was constant all through the night. I called front desk twice while in the room and no one ever answered the phone. We will not be staying here again. Poor way to run a business.

Room Tip: Next time I book rooms I'm at least going to ask how old the beds are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnjoyTheJourney7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (955)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 955 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

very clean, lovely verandahs to sit in the sunshine and a fabulous collection of hiking books in the room. Escalante is amazing I just wish we had stayed longer to explore the canyons and petrified forest some more :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank surfdogdomains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I couldn't ask for more! The place was clean and comfortable and the folks working there couldn't be nicer. The restaurant attached to the Circle D was excellent and again, the folks working there were some of the nicest people I've met on my travels. I will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keckkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We had been out camping down the Hole-in-the-Rock Road for several days and needed to come out and clean up and re-group. This motel was plenty adequate, though the walls are very thin and you can hear your next door neighbors even if they are talking quietly. Our room had loads of books and information on the area which was very much appreciated. We would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jann01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

This was a great base camp for our winter explorations in the Escalante area. Our group occupied several uints and included several adults, a couple of small children, and three dogs. The rooms were simple but comfortable, and each room was loaded with local hiking and highlight information. We liked the two entries for the suite so that others could do morning breakfast/coffee without interferring with the sleeping/bathroom area. The fire pit and huge wood pile were awesome for hot dogs, foil dinners, and marshmallows on those chilly snowy nights. The owners were friendly and informative. We'll definately be back!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WasatchWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The rooms have books about the area and it is a quiet place! Must go to this motel! Manager is robert and he knows alot about the area. At first the rooms seem bad but they are the best in town!











ffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff

Room Tip: stay in room 22
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joncool88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We've stayed here for the second time now. Rooms are clean and all include a fridge, microwave, TV and WiFi. All in all, this is a very good place to stay in order to head out to hiking the Escalante surrounding area. Only downside: Restaurant closes end of October / start of November for the winter season. Really a pity, since the food there is very good!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Escalante hotels
1.1 mi away
Canyon Country Lodge
Canyon Country Lodge
#2 of 4 in Escalante
16 reviews
0.1 mi away
Escalante Outfitters, Inc -- The Bunkhouse
0.6 mi away
Canyons Bed and Breakfast
Canyons Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 9 in Escalante
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Staircase Resort of Escalante
0.4 mi away
Cowboy Country Inn
Cowboy Country Inn
#4 of 9 in Escalante
115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Escalante's Grand Staircase Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Circle D Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Circle D Motel

Address: 475 W Main St, Escalante, UT 84726-7700
Location: United States > Utah > Escalante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Escalante
Price Range: $50 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circle "D Motel & Restaurant is centrally located in the heart of Escalante Grand Staircase, on Scenic Highway 12 between Capitol Reef National Park and Bryce Canyon National Park. Our Escalante motel is ideal for multi-day stays to experience Southern Utah's pristine wilderness. We have 22 affordable rooms where you can recuperate from your day of sightseeing, hiking, biking, fishing or off-road exploring the Escalante area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Circle d Hotel Escalante
Circle d Escalante
Circle D Motel Escalante, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing