We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty pizza on the patio” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Escalante Outfitters Cafe

Escalante Outfitters Cafe
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in Escalante
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Escalante Outfitters cafe serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner (7am to 9pm) We specialize in homemade hand tossed pizza using local Utah ingredients (Utah sausage, goat cheeses, sun dried tomatoes). Our salads are tomato, mozzarella, chicken salad, smoked trout, BLT using applewood smoked bacon, Ceasar salads loaded with homemade garlicy ceasar. Our breakfasts are specialty made breakfast rolls, quiche, baked oatmeal, expresso bar. Stop by our cafe, you will be delighted with what you find.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tasty pizza on the patio”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Right next door to the motel, this local spot had a great laid back atmosphere and delicious pizza. Night was kinda cold but they have heat lamps on the patio that made it the best spot. Enjoyed some local brews and tasty berry crumble for dessert. Loved it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gilbertsays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    170
    27
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Framingham, MA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Love at First Sight - Make That Scent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

When I wandered into the outfitters side of the building to look at hiking gear during my initial walk-through of Escalante on a Sunday evening, when some businesses are closed, it was love at first sight - or should I say first scent.

My nose brought me over to the cafe` side where I saw amazing looking pizza being served. Unfortunately we had already eaten dinner but my wife and I decided we would return the next day.

We didn't even wait until dinner - we went for breakfast and were knocked out by great cappucino and a to-die-for fresh-baked breakfast calzone stuffed with scrambled eggs and bacon. We were well-fortified for the day's hike.

We were back for dinner and had to wait a few minutes for a table as many of the other visitors (and locals) were on to the delights of this place. They have Utah microbrews by both the pint and the pitcher ($12) so we started with a pitcher of the Squatters Organic Amber with a smoked trout salad ($12.50) that was heavenly.

A 12" thick-crusted pizza ($17) with sun-dried tomatoes, feta cheese and spinach was delicious - we are pizza snobs who have eaten at the birthplace of the dish, in Naples, Italy - and so filling we took two pieces back to our room for breakfast.

The atmosphere is chill, with funky roots music like blues played at a reasonable background volume, the log cabin structure of the building gives it a nice rustic feel, and the staff are uniformly mellow and sweet.

This is the not-to-be-missed restaurant in Escalante, for sure.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank FramBrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Only in Escalante for 3 days, but we quickly became "regulars" here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This place is awesome - delicious pizza, beer (+ liquor license), gear, amazing quiche for breakfast, coffee.... we loved this place. Only downside is that they close at 9PM.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Devren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“About the best pizza I've eaten!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Recommended by friends. Absolutely wonderful pizza. The employees are also very, very efficient and kind.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dennis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“YUM!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Pizza to your specification, thick, gooey, tasty, lashings of great toppings to choose from.
Salads that are fresh and tasty.
Lots of lovely looking treats in the cabinet.
Local beer on tap.
Great staff, quick service, clean venue, and a great shop attached.
Would have gone back for breakfast if we'd had any room!!
Well worth a visit for breakfast, lunch, dinner, or even coffee - go through Escalante just for this place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anakaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Escalante Outfitters Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Escalante Outfitters Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing