We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”

Escalante Outfitters Cafe
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in Escalante
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Escalante Outfitters cafe serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner (7am to 9pm) We specialize in homemade hand tossed pizza using local Utah ingredients (Utah sausage, goat cheeses, sun dried tomatoes). Our salads are tomato, mozzarella, chicken salad, smoked trout, BLT using applewood smoked bacon, Ceasar salads loaded with homemade garlicy ceasar. Our breakfasts are specialty made breakfast rolls, quiche, baked oatmeal, expresso bar. Stop by our cafe, you will be delighted with what you find.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We ate breakfast here, as well as, dinner later that same day. The quiche and coffee were just what we needed before a day of hiking. The King's Mesa pizza and breadsticks were phenomenal. It was too much for two people, as Donna (our amazing waitress) had previously told us, but the leftovers were fantastic! The beer prices were excellent! Friendly and helpful staff! They gave us hiking suggestions and accurate directions. Loved this little place!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wspann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    178
    27
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
139 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good food and expresso drinks”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stopped in for a meal before a multi day camping trip. Had the smoked trout salad and a latte. Good food, friendly service (we refilled our water bottles) and a good place to buy maps, supplies and get advice.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoFamilyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mortsel, Belgium
Level Contributor
93 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were just driving through, craving for an espresso. What a find! Cosiest little cafe with a broad choice of fine food and drinks. Good music, nice interior, hearthy service. Best breakfast I could think of. Lovely outfitters store., too. Don't miss this when you're in the area!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Moestiekje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Pizza's great but try the fly fishing!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

My 18 y.o. son and I were looking for some good hiking and fishing for spring break from the midwest. While researching we discovered the town of Escalante. We ended up spending a couple of days here before heading to Moab. In the process we booked a small stream fly fishing trip with Nathan Waggoner from Escalante Outfitters. What a day he gave us! We were essentially novices at fly fishing. Nathan was an excellent teacher and guide. His knowledge and passion about of the Escalante area is outstanding. He showed us much about the rock formations and gave us information about the peoples who lived in the area centuries ago. The fishing was great too! Small streams are difficult. He was patient, encouraging and very instructive. We would book with him again in a heart beat. We had a blast.

Oh yea, we had the pizza one evening - it was great! Thanks Nathan!

Helpful?
Thank Andy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spectacular perfection!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My girls and I ordered pizza and it was the most delicious pizza sauce I have ever tasted. The service was perfect and very friendly. The price was very reasonable. The atmosphere is cozy and rustic. Makes me wish I lived closer. I would highly recommend this place to everyone!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sweetnnsassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Escalante Outfitters Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Escalante Outfitters Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing