We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW! Incredible experience for all”

Excursions of Escalante
Ranked #1 of 6 Tours in Escalante
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are in our 18TH year as Escalante's first locally based professional guide service. Our commitment is to safely guide our guests beyond the more accessible places (Spooky, Peekaboo, Big Horn, etc.) And into the most remote, beautiful and pristine corners of the Escalante region. Our Permits in the Grand Staircase Escalante National Monument, Glen Canyon National Recreation Area, Box Death Hollow Wilderness Area and Dixie National Forest, allow us to offer unparalleled off trail hiking, canyoneering and backpacking tours to our guests. Canyoneering Tours, Slot Canyon Hiking Tours and Multi-Day Backpacking and Canyoneering Tours.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We had a great time on this trip! Rick and Aimee are wonderful to work with! Aimee was great with answering all my questions and getting us ready for this adventure plus she makes the BEST Belgian waffles! My son is still talking about them!
We went on our tour with Rick and Jim. They were both awesome in the canyons-made something that could be very scary into something not so intimidating. We all felt accomplished by the end of the day. They are both so reassuring and truly build up everyones confidence-not just with canyoneering but with what each person is really capable of in life. Rick helped my 15 y.o. daughter feel like a necessary and strong part of the team.
Lunch was fabulous too! Jim made great sandwiches that we enjoyed on a little ledge in the canyons. This was one of the best trips of my life--
This tour might seem a little expensive but for what you get…very well worth it! I would not venture into the slot canyons without their expertise--it can be dangerous!

Thank Bevhew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcursionsTeam, Owner at Excursions of Escalante, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Hi Bev-

Thank you so much for your review! We absolutely loved reading about your experience, especially about your daughter- it put huge smiles on our faces. Canyoneering is all about teamwork! We're so happy we were able to give you that experience and take you into a beautiful place you wouldn't see on your own. All the best to your family and we hope to see you back this way again! The waffles will be waiting. :)

Cheers,
Rick Green & Amie Fortin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 140 of 255 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2014

The people of Escalante is awazingly friendly and helpful. Rick and Amie gave us a great experience both in the canyons and in Escalante.. We even got a postcard from them afterwards! Please make this your place in Escalante:-)

Thank Even N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcursionsTeam, Owner at Excursions of Escalante, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Hi Even-

Thanks so much for your review. Glad to hear the postcard made it! Happy to hear your experience was wonderful in and out of the canyons- it's what we strive for! All the best to you and we hope to see you back this way again!

Cheers,
Rick Green & Amie Fortin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

My day with excursions of Escalante was one if the best days I've ever had! They are incredibly professional and so good at what they do that you know you are in good hands immediately. Our guide, Jim, was patient, kind, and so knowlegeable. I can't wait to go on another adventure with Excursions of Escalante!

Thank jillyell823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcursionsTeam, Owner at Excursions of Escalante, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Hi Jilly-

Thank you for your review! We are so happy to hear about your day. Jim really knows his stuff and his calm demeanor is just what you want in the canyons. Have a wonderful fall and we'd love to get you back out for another adventure!

Cheers,
Rick Green & Amie Fortin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We spent a day with our guide Jim in an awesome slot canyon were we had to rappel into. Something that we would not have done on our own, but with this great guide it became an unforgettable experience!!!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank iwanvandijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcursionsTeam, Owner at Excursions of Escalante, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Hi Iwan-

Thank you so much for your review. We are so happy you had a wonderful time in the slot canyon! Getting folks into places they wouldn't experience otherwise is what we are all about and we love it. Have a great fall and we hope to see you back this way again!

Cheers,
Rick Green & Amie Fortin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Our family (Parents 43, Boy 13, Girl 11) rates this as THE highlight of our 3 week vacation out West. We did the Canyoneering trip along with one other couple. Rick and Matt were our guides. Rick and Aimee run a top notch operation. Everything from Aimee fielding my questions up-front with candid answers and zero pressure as I was deciding whether this was right for my family. Rick is always on top of safety, but in a calming manner that puts everyone at ease. Matt and Rick know people, and know the canyons. They were engaging, fun, and informative. Our guides were great in ensuring my wife and I, who are not in top shape, were comfortable pushing ourselves appropriately; while providing more challenging opportunities for our athletic kids to try and achieve. Our day in the slot canyon exceeded our expectations in every way and is the single event from 23 days on the road that we are all still talking about.

Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcursionsTeam, Owner at Excursions of Escalante, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Hello Rob J-

Thank you for your review! We are so happy to hear that your day in the canyons with us was the best memory of your trip. Hopefully you got some great shots from your day. Send us some of your favorites, we'd love to get you on the website!

Cheers,
Rick Green and Amie Fortin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Excursions of Escalante also viewed

 

Been to Excursions of Escalante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing