We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pothole Escape Class” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Excursions of Escalante

Excursions of Escalante
Ranked #1 of 6 Tours in Escalante
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are in our 16TH year as Escalante's first locally based professional guide service. Our commitment is to safely guide our guests beyond the more accessible places (Spooky, Peekaboo, Big Horn, etc.) And into the most remote, beautiful and pristine corners of the Escalante region. Our Permits in the Grand Staircase Escalante National Monument, Glen Canyon National Recreation Area, Box Death Hollow Wilderness Area and Dixie National Forest, allow us to offer unparalleled off trail hiking, canyoneering and backpacking tours to our guests.Canyoneering Tours, Slot Canyon Hiking Tours and Multi-Day Backpacking and Canyoneering Tours.
Goodyear, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
“Pothole Escape Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Rick and his team took us through two days of intense training on ways to escape potentially dangerous potholes. What we learned from this class was invaluable to my overall knowledge of canyoneering.

Rick's teaching methods are very positively oriented and backed up constantly with positive reinforcement. He made each and everyone of us in this class feel like we were getting personal attention!

I cannot say enough good things about this company and would highly recommend Excursions of Escalante for anyone who is looking to increase their capabilities in canyons.

Visited August 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcursionsTeam, Owner at Excursions of Escalante, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hi Bill -

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and are glad that you found the class informative. Rick always looks forward to the Pothole Courses and taking students to the next level. Safety First! Thank you again Bill and we hope to see you again!

Cheers,
Rick Green & Amie Fortin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    2
    0
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
“A Fantastic Family Memory”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

After touring all over Utah and the Grand Canyon, our family continues to (re)visit Excursions of Escalante. This was our 5th year with Rick and Amie and the gang. Your eyes will feast on breath taking sights in isolated canyons. They are extremely knowledgeable and professional with their tours. We really appreciate the solid relationships that they have with their staff/guides. This is not an experience that should be tried with a seasonal/novice/temporary guide. Rick and Jim and Catie and Matt are the best with uncompromised safety balanced with building a fantastic family memory... year after year.

Visited August 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank HungryJoe5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcursionsTeam, Owner at Excursions of Escalante, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hi Joe -

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. We are always so excited when you and the fam come for a visit. Can't wait until the next! Miss you guys!

Cheers,
Rick & Amie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg njj
1 review
“Next level”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

I have been to Escalante before and have done a lot of exploring on my own. But I wanted to step it up a notch. I always had to hold back in my exploring because of inexperiance and because of my solo travel. So I decided to hire a guide to take me to the places I could not reach alone. Was a great choice Not only the choice itself but also the guide service Very helpful . Explained in detail about equipment and safety . Great time. Will be back again.

Visited August 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcursionsTeam, Owner at Excursions of Escalante, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Hi John -

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. There are lots of places in Escalante to explore on your own, but it is nice to get into the more "off the beaten path" places. We are happy to have been of assistance with that! We look forward to seeing you again. So many canyons...so little time.

Cheers,
Rick Green & Amie Fortin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, LA
1 review
“Canyoneering”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

This was one of the best trips. We went canyoneering with Rick on the day trip. We had a blast! Rick kept us laughing the whole time! The owners of this company are very sweet and super helpful. We all agreed that this was definately the best part of our trip, and we did many different things while we were there but still couldn't top this. We even discussed going back for an overnight trip! Thank you again Rick we really enjoyed meeting y'all!

Visited July 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Morgan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcursionsTeam, Owner at Excursions of Escalante, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Hi Morgan -

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. We are glad that you had a safe and fun canyoneering trip. It is honor to be the best part of your trip to Utah! It would be a pleasure to have you out in the back country for a multi-day adventure. Safe travels to all of you!

Cheers,
Rick Green & Amie Fortin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great weekend pothole class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just spent a weekend with them doing a pothole escape class. Rick and his guides, Matt and Jim, were very safe, professional, knowledgeable, competent and above all fun. Learned a lot of great techniques and got a ton of practice. It was great!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcursionsTeam, Owner at Excursions of Escalante, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Hi Ed -

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the 2 Day Pothole Escape Course. Perhaps next year we'll have the pleasure of your company for an Advanced Anchors Course.... :) Thanks again and have a safe and fun fall in the canyons!

Cheers,
Rick Green & Amie Fortin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Excursions of Escalante also viewed

 

Been to Excursions of Escalante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing