We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You gotta do this!”

Excursions of Escalante
Ranked #1 of 6 Tours in Escalante
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are in our 16TH year as Escalante's first locally based professional guide service. Our commitment is to safely guide our guests beyond the more accessible places (Spooky, Peekaboo, Big Horn, etc.) And into the most remote, beautiful and pristine corners of the Escalante region. Our Permits in the Grand Staircase Escalante National Monument, Glen Canyon National Recreation Area, Box Death Hollow Wilderness Area and Dixie National Forest, allow us to offer unparalleled off trail hiking, canyoneering and backpacking tours to our guests.Canyoneering Tours, Slot Canyon Hiking Tours and Multi-Day Backpacking and Canyoneering Tours.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You gotta do this!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

No matter your age or experience, make sure you add this activity to your itinerary. My husband and I paired up with a father and daughter in early June for our first canyoneering excursion. Jim was assigned to our group for the Basic Canyoneering day trip. While the scenery and challenge of the canyon were nature's gift, we could not have navigated the canyon and mastered the sport of canyoneering without Jim. As a teacher, I admired Jim's attention to our safety and process-oriented instruction which he tailored to meet the needs of each one of us that day. Our well-being was ALWAYS the top priority from beginning to end. Your first step is to book the trip and then complete the paperwork in advance. When you arrive at the office the day of your excursion, you can be assured to leave yourself in the caring and capable hands of an Excursions of Escalante guide. This is a day trip of a lifetime ... breathtaking and rewarding, so bring your camera and play clothes. Belay on!

Visited June 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Betsy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcursionsTeam, Owner at Excursions of Escalante, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Hi Betsy -

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. Yes, most folks can go canyoneering. No experience is necessary. Guests need to be comfortable hiking 5 miles in a day and be in general good health. Last season we had a young guy who had both hips replaced and he loved it and did great with the canyoneering. Slow and steady does it. Safety is definitely our #1 priority and for that reason, we never choose our canyon until morning of the trip, as this decision is based most importantly on the weather. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review. Have a safe and fun rest of the summer!

Cheers,
Rick Green & Amie Fortin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    2
    0
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome and beautiful”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My family of 4 (kids 12 and 9) took an excursion in the beginning of June. Amie was good about getting us the necessary paperwork ahead of time, so no time was wasted filling out forms the morning of the hike. Heed her advice and wear clothes that can be roughed up or torn. There are places where your clothes take a beating.

We arrived at 8 am; met our guide, Jim; got fitted with gear (helmet, gloves, pack, and repelling harness); and set off on the 30 min rough car ride to the canyon. The dirt road to the canyons was washboarded pretty good, and put our suspension to the test. By the time we arrived at the canyon, the car was coated with red clay. Fortunately, I was driving a rental.

The canyon was awesome. Our hike had 4 rappels, the highest being about 70 ft. Jim was great about coaching us down the rappels, and also teaching the basic techniques needed to get through some of the tighter spots. I have a prosthetic hip, but it was not a factor during the hike. We took a leisurely pace through the canyon, and stopped about halfway through for lunch, which E of E provided. Jim was great about stopping periodically at good spots for pictures, and encouraging us to drink water. He also pointed out interesting geological features along the way. There were too many spectacular vistas to count.

After we hiked out, and because my son had been asking about dinosaurs, Jim ran us by a site nearby with fossilized dinosaur tracks. It was a generous thing to do on his part. A real bonus to an already amazing trip.

Once we returned to Escalante, we enjoyed a scoop of ice cream and re-lived the hike. We all plan to return to E of E and try out another canyon. My kids found this to be their favorite part of our trip, better than Bryce, Zion, the Grand Canyon, and Sedona!

Visited June 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank BNATN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcursionsTeam, Owner at Excursions of Escalante, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Hi -

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. Yes, definitely wear your play clothes. Long durable shorts work best with a medium hiking shoe. The roads are bumpy, but 4x4 is not necessary. It is nice to hear that Jim worked well with your children and coaching your family on the rappels. The dinosaur tracks are very interesting and we are glad Jim had the time to show your family this site! Wow! It is such a compliment to hear that your kids enjoyed this day more than Zion and Bryce! We are flattered. We hope you are all having a safe and fun summer and it would be a pleasure to see you all again. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.

Cheers,
Rick Green & Amie Fortin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Canyoneering Trip”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My friend and I did an advanced trip with Rick Green. This is our second trip and both have been excellent. From the moment we got to their shop we felt welcomed by Rick and Amie. Rick’s knowledge of the canyons is extensive and he selected good ones to suit our abilities and interests with just the right amount of spiciness! He wanted us to have a fun and memorable trip.

Visited April 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcursionsTeam, Owner at Excursions of Escalante, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Hi Dan -

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. It was great to have you out in the canyons again. It is important to pick a canyon that suits guests abilities and interests and Rick was happy to choose a canyon with spiciness for your Private Tour. Next up, Multi-Day Canyoneering to Neon Canyon?! Have a safe and fun summer!

Cheers,
Rick Green & Amie Fortin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escalante, Utah, United States
1 review
“exciting, fun filled adventure!”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Recommend to everyone! This was my first canyoneering experience. I had a great time exploring the back country with guides Rick and Matt. Meeting others from various parts of the world and sharing time in the slot canyons was awesome. Rick's experience and professionalism provided confidence and comfort by thorough instruction and demonstration of safety measures and techniques. The views and photo opportunities were spectacular. What a great way to spend the day!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcursionsTeam, Owner at Excursions of Escalante, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Hi Rick -

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. We are glad to have had the opportunity to have you out in the canyons for day! Your photos came out great and we look forward to showing you another canyon in the near future!

Cheers,
Rick Green & Amie Fortin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“pants-no-more”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

What an awesome time! My friends and I were lucky enough to have both Rick and Jim take us through a couple fantastic slot canyons. Each canyon was a classroom with lots of fun and challenging obstacles. We were taught some great techniques and tricks using teamwork to help each other get to the bottom. Rick's stories (he IS the skunk guy!) and obvious experience put to bed whatever fears about heights or floods I may have had at the beginning of the day and were fascinating to boot. My one piece of advice is to wear sturdy pants and clean underwear because all that sliding and smearing will really do a number on those fibers.

Visited April 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Utahfan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcursionsTeam, Owner at Excursions of Escalante, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Hi -
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback! Yes, Rick is the "skunk guy". He rescued a skunk out of a canyon several years ago. Rick will rescue pretty much anything out of a canyon including rattle snakes, mice, birds, a baby bobcat and a bambi deer! We are glad you enjoyed the team work in the canyon. It is so much fun to have tours be hands on. And yes, definitely wear long durable shorts. Thank you again for your review and have a safe and happy summer!

Cheers,
Rick Green & Amie Fortin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Excursions of Escalante also viewed

 

Been to Excursions of Escalante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing