We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for families” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Escalante Petrified Forest State Park

Escalante Petrified Forest State Park
Ranked #5 of 24 things to do in Escalante
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This area was the home of the ancient Anazazi and Fremont Indians, and has a very dramatic and beautiful landscape.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good for families”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Small State Park but interesting to walk around, you can take your time because it's usually not crowded. It wasn't 'WOW' but it was interesting.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank schmidtgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    65
    38
    12
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice campground”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We enjoyed this camp. The grounds are well maintained and the sites were nice - not a parking lot like some of the RV parks. We brought our kayaks so were able to enjoy the lake - lots of birds. We also took a hike in the petrified forest - the extended loop was well worth the time. Nice to see the colorful logs and all the different wildflowers in bloom.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RejoiceWay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, Utah
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is rated easy hike but it is more on the moderate side. Not level by any means, the first 1/4 mile is the toughest then it levels off a bit. It is about a mile hike so take water with you. There is not tons of petrified tree pieces but enough to make it worth while. Go in the mornings when it is cooler.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
334 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Nice but there is much better along Hwy 12”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

This place was interesting but as I was doing the Hwy 12 corridor, this was probably the least interesting site. Also it was hotter here than elsewhere and not much shade on the trail. We were melting and disappointed that the petrified wood on the main trail is minimal, we were too hot and worn out to do the extra spur trail that supposedly has more petrified wood. If you have been to the Petrified Wood National Park in Arizona this place was disappoint you. I will say it was uncrowded, easy to park, nice clean bathrooms and several people were swimming in the reservoir that looked nice.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank friendlyinsomniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood Heights, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Once you've been...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

It is a fun little hike, was cool to explain to my kids how old the wood could have been. Now that I've seen it, I doubt I'll need to go back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Escalante Petrified Forest State Park also viewed

 

Been to Escalante Petrified Forest State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing