We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near perfect!”
Review of Kiva Kottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Escalante
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kiva Kottage
Ranked #7 of 9 Escalante B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Amazing spot to gaze at the colorful rock canyons and mountains. Great stargazing. The sunrise room was well appointed- wonderful bed, plush towels, spacious shower and whirlpool tub. Great coffee in the room. The microwave and fridge are nice to have. Amazing hikes and scenery nearby in all directions. This was our favorite place during our nine nights in southern Utah.

One must be aware that it is a 20-25 minute drive to either Boulder or Escalante for grocery stores and restaurants. This is both good and not so good, depending on your perspective. The Koffeehouse offers breakfast (included in room rate) and lunch. They will prepare food before closing that you can stash in your fridge and heat up in your Kottage.

The not so good- limited information in the rooms about the area, so you need to be prepared. The folks up in the Koffeehouse were nice but too busy to really help us with any advice. The Kottages do not have internet, and it is slow in the Koffeehouse. The Kottages overlook Hwy 12. Yes, it is one of the most beautiful highways in the country, but it's there. We found that the traffic dropped significantly after sunset and it did not detract from of enjoyment of the place. Also the Kottages are a duplex, separated by a wall. The first night our neighbors were quiet, and I'm sure they said the same about us. The second night the new arrivals were noisy and really detracted from our stay.

Room Tip: Both rooms are great, the Sunrise room actually has better views at sunset due to the rock glowing i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seattleflyer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 30 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

The Sunset Cottage could not have been any nicer. The large picture windows with mountain views allowed star viewing. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom with large tub and whirlpool were furnished with thick towels and first rate toiletries. The owner was kind enough to leave the cottage open for our late arrival. We had breakfast in the coffee house the next morning. The price of the one night stay includes whatever you want on the menu- not just one item and a cup of coffee. The breakfast was fine ( nothing exceptional), but honestly the proprietress could have served anything and the cottage stay would have been more than worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mdm8360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

One of those very rare places, where we immediately felt truly at home. Immaculately clean, "pure" rooms (no clutter), magic location. Probably my favorite lodging during our 3-month-US-trip. Not to forget the excellent food and coffee at the Kiva Kafe!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Lovely room..great view..amazing stargazing. Very very nice people running the place. First night we were by ourselves. owner emailed he had opened the room and left key in the room. 1st night we were all alone, which can be scary considering we are city folks :-) but it was not. We enjoyed the quiet and darkness. we have never seen so many stars...WONDERFUL!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ModHe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This was our "special" night on our trip. We always plan an evening that we spend at a nice place in a crazy week of discovering the country. The was such a nice place. We were driving hwy 12 and said wow those people picked a great place to build a house and went around the corner and realized, wow we are staying here! It was fabulous and the owners were wonderful. Breakfast was wonderful (eggs with spring mix with asparagus and feta cheese yummy!).

If you are traveling and will arrive after their restaurant closes, eat before or bring food. The nearest dining is about 12 miles away. Once you are there you won't want to leave, it is that relaxing.

Also, the self check in is actually their leaving the key in the room for you since they close at 4:30 and Tuesdays they're closed. A bit more explanation could be added to their website if you book online about the check in process, or a detailed message in your email confirmation. I kind of felt "dumb" not realizing that the room would be open and the key left inside (I'm not sure what I expected which was the problem and no cell service didn't help). The couple in the sunrise room had the same questions but we were there to answer them for them.

The owner and her daughter were very helpful in giving us suggestions on what to do in the area.

Very nice place to stay. Would stay for a week or more if I could.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank bgalaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Beautiful spot in the middle of fantastic highway 12. Room perfect. Sitting out on the patio staring at the rocks was eye candy. We were in sunset room but nosed at sunrise room as it was empty and it looked just as nice. Great hot tub. Lovely hostesses. The moment we left we just wanted to go straight back.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canyonjunkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

What a place. Cabins Sunset and Sunrise are beautifully furnished with a rustic feel, and the beds were very comfy. The views from both cabins was spectacular . We stayed just one night, due to our schedule, but will return for a longer stay. We were there in early part of June, so the evenings were cool enough to sleep with the windows open. No light pollution so it's very dark. Great for star gazing. Cool place to put cool cabins. Kiva is a must if you're looking to chill.

Room Tip: Names on cabins says it all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimmyP-upsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escalante
9.8 mi away
Canyons Bed and Breakfast
Canyons Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 9 in Escalante
244 reviews
9.5 mi away
Escalante Yurts
Escalante Yurts
#3 of 8 in Escalante
37 reviews
10.3 mi away
Escalante Outfitters, Inc -- The Bunkhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Wild West Retreat
Wild West Retreat
#4 of 9 in Escalante
60 reviews
9.8 mi away
Boulder Mountain Guest Ranch
10.2 mi away
Escalante's Grand Staircase Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiva Kottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiva Kottage

Address: Highway 12, Escalante, UT
Location: United States > Utah > Escalante
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Escalante
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Kiva Kottage Escalante, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing