We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like visiting with friends”
Review of Wild West Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wild West Retreat
Ranked #5 of 9 Escalante B&B and Inns
Venice, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Just like visiting with friends”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We were traveling on a guided trip and had the good fortune to have a dinner at Shannon and Jenifer's lovely retreat. The food was terrific, prepared with fresh produce from their garden. The homemade "scones" were yummy, similar to fried dough. The outdoor patio was perfect for dining. Shannon entertained us with stories about growing up in Escalante. We were encouraged to roam around the property which was complete with fruit trees, grape vines and a potbelly pig! My only regret was that we were not lodging there. Unfortunately not enough space for our group of 16. If we go back I will be sure to make a reservation for the converted barn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debmoore013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    3
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
26
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Peters, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The Wild West Retreat is a perfect place to relax after a day hiking in the Slot Canyons. Everything you could ask for was waiting for us. A unique and wonderful place to stay,a well stocked kitchen, two patios, a hot tub and Jennifer and Shannon were the perfect hosts. We meet a number of great people in Escalante, shared Margaritas and Burgers at Jennifer's Restaurant, rappelled into the Slot Canyons and topped it all off spending the nights at the Wild West Retreat. I didn't even miss my guitar. We will be back again !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed inteh WWR for four nights in July. It's perfectly located for exploring the slot canyons around Escalante and the Escalante River. the accommodation is perfect there's everything you could wish for, the bed is very comfotable, the two patios great for sitting in the am or pm. The kitchen well stocked and the hot tub very welcome after a hard days hiking!

Room Tip: this is a barn so the accommodation is all together
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jo6284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Thank You Jennifer and Shannon for a wonderful second stay! Our family stayed in the Barn for the second time and we loved it. The hot tub was great and the breakfast was amazing. the vacum cleaner came in handy since I got the bed sandy from sand in my hair(we had just come from Coral Pink Sand Dunes State Park).The only thing that could have been different was a better shower head and possibly room service in between nights. Other than that, great stay!

Room Tip: The Barn is amazing if you have 5 or less in your family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SumBug82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Gabriel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Wonderful shout out to Shannon and Jennifer. Our stay was outstanding. Rustic barn charm on the outside and super clean on the inside. Great place to stay and the surrounding area of Escalante is beautiful. Don't forget to do some canyoneering while there. Highly recommend and hopefully you will get a visit from the neighborhood pet pig!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank team-arrowhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springdale
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The Reteat is an amazing place to stay.Small town charm and close to everything. We come back every year and stay here. Shannon and Jennifer are wonderful people. We love the breakfast that is included.The robes and hot tub make a romantic plus to any trip. Come see for yourself..you will LOVE it!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Monique P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We loved the Wild West Retreat. It is a beautiful place. Shannon and Jennifer were very nice. It felt like being home. The kids enjoyed the huge area to explore and play (especially Jinxy). Even the fridge was filled when we arrived and Jennifer added fresh fruit during our stay. We couldn't think of anything we were missing.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escalante
0.0 mi away
Ticaboo Resort
Ticaboo Resort
#1 of 1 in Lake Powell
165 reviews
0.7 mi away
Escalante Outfitters, Inc -- The Bunkhouse
0.3 mi away
Canyons Bed and Breakfast
Canyons Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 9 in Escalante
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Escalante's Grand Staircase Bed & Breakfast Inn
1.0 mi away
Grand Staircase Resort of Escalante
0.4 mi away
Cowboy Country Inn
Cowboy Country Inn
#6 of 9 in Escalante
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild West Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild West Retreat

Property: Wild West Retreat
Address: 269 S 200 E, Escalante, UT 84726-7858
Location: United States > Utah > Escalante
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Escalante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nightly House Rentals in Escalante Utah ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wild West Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild West Retreat Escalante, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing