We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Canyon Lodge Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dutch John
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Red Canyon Lodge Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Murray, Utah
Level Contributor
222 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

great place for a family. although it is bit expensive, it is well worth the money spent. we like the lakes and the hiking trails. red canyon visit center is not far away. there are many trails. wish that the trails are better marked and better described.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yyyzzz_utah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Public Relations Manager at Red Canyon Lodge Cabins, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thanks for your review and comments! We are helping the US Forest Service in re-marking the area trails and have free detailed trail maps available at our front desk. We hope you come back and let us know how we did!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    32
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
44
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lake County, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We could not have received better service from the employees or had a more comfortable and relaxing setting for a vacation. We rented a Ponderosa Cabin with lockout door in the middle so that both sisters and their children could share a "home" away from home. They each had two double beds, a kitchenette, full bathroom, living room, and a fireplace. Plenty of space! Outside were picnic tables, fire pits, porches with chairs, and view of the lake to die for. We rented a smaller Alpine cabin for ourselves... It was gorgeous! They offer horseback riding with great wranglers (we ALL went and loved it!), fishing guides, canoes, paddle-boat rentals, and more. The 91 mile Flaming Gorge National Recreation Area and Reservoir are within a few miles, with tours and plenty of places to hike, plus a marina for renting jet skis/pontoons, etc. You could stay more than a week and never get bored. Oh, there is no TV and we were concerned for the children, but they loved the board games we brought and actually chatted more than usual and interacted. They brought their bikes and there are lots of safe places to ride. There is a restaurant if you don't want to cook, and snacks and gifts for sale too. It couldn't have been more fabulous, and we saw plenty of wildlife too....yellow bellied marmots, birds, big horn sheep, deer, chipmunks to name just a few. The elevation is 7,470 ft., which is a consideration, but I had no trouble. JUST DO IT! You won't regret it!

Room Tip: All of the cabins are quiet and have porches, but if you want a stove top and sink, you need a Ponde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandylakecounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Public Relations Manager at Red Canyon Lodge Cabins, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
We are so happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We think we live in the most beautiful place on earth and we are so glad when we can share it with our guests!

Please come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajo, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

My daughter was visiting from Oregon for the first time in a couple of years, so we decided to get the family (all five of us) together for a little trip. We rented a Ponderosa cabin, and it was beautiful and very comfortable for all five of us. There were two large beds in the bedroom, and a fold out bed in the living room. We had so much fun the first night, that we decided to stay for another. We went on a horseback ride, the first time for two of us. The cowboys were fantastic and funny. They took great care of my disabled daughter, and she had the best time ever! The entire staff was friendly and helpful, and made sure that our visit was exceptional. The trip was very enjoyable, and I highly recommend Red Canyon Lodge if you're looking for affordable comfort in a rustic setting.

Room Tip: We stayed in Ponderosa "B" cabin, and it was comfortable for five people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bertaturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Public Relations Manager at Red Canyon Lodge Cabins, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
That's the way we rolll...you come for one night and stay for more! Glad you had a good time and we agree, our Cowboys (and their steeds) are the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

I just returned from five days fishing at Flaming Gorge Reservoir and staying for the second time at Red Canyon Lodge. Both trips, I stayed in Ponderosa Cabin “J”. It is still very clean (house- keeping did an exceptional job) and some improvements have occurred, e.g.; a small microwave and better cooking utensils and coffee packets. To applaud, Gretchen who runs the office will try to accommodate you to the best of her ability. To nick-pick, a couple of the couch cushions had some very small tears in the corners, but not really noticeable. On the Southeast end of Flaming Gorge there are very few places to stay. Having talked with someone that stayed at the other near-by “resort,” Red Canyon is far and away the best and about the same price. If you’re looking for the Ritz Carlton, then this is not for you and don’t ruin it for the rest of us. If you’re looking for a very clean cabin and a great view over the private lake with a substantial amount of trout (catch and release only) then I give RCL a thumbs-up!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Public Relations Manager at Red Canyon Lodge Cabins, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your review and for returning! We appreciate your time and patronage.
We are happy Gretchen was helpful and feel we are lucky to have her!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

My wife and I booked a ponderosa cabin over the valentines weekend to get away, and it was great. they are beautiful cabins that overlook a little lake, and just a little further up the road is one of the most stunning and majestic overlooks to the Flaming Gorge Reservoir. These cabins can be a great romantic get away, especially in the winter, or a place to take your family to get away from the city and life for a while, I would highly recommend going electronics free while you are up there.

Room Tip: ponderosa cabins hold the most people for those of you who are traveling with family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank dallas2723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Public Relations Manager at Red Canyon Lodge Cabins, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you and we quite agree. Our cabins are wonderful winter getaways! Family fun or romance, it's an amazing experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Red Canyon Lodge. We stayed in a Ponderosa cabin. All of the Ponderosa cabins had beautiful views of the lake. It was very quiet and clean. The landscape was beautiful and there were deer all around. With no TVs and simple amenities, it was easy to relax and feel far away from everything. But if you're looking for adventure, the cabins are a short hike or mountain bike ride to Red Canyon Rim Trail, connecting to miles of trails. The staff were all very friendly and helpful to get us on the types of trails we wanted to ride. I would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trimanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountainmmw, Public Relations Manager at Red Canyon Lodge Cabins, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Yay! It's hard to get away from the busy-ness of real life but when you take the time to put down the cell phone and laptop you can experience a side of life that feeds your soul and body! Glad you were able to embrace the solitude!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blythewood, South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was our second time staying in the Ponderosa cabins at Red Canyon Lodge. (We liked them so well two years ago that we invited friends to join us there for a couple days again this September!) The spacious log cabins are well maintained, clean, and very comfortable. They overlook a small private lake, stocked with catch-and-release fish. (What a gorgeous sunrise over the lake!) You can rent a fishing boat, paddle boat, or canoe, and we found a walking path to great overviews of the Flaming Gorge just off the property. There is a nice restaurant on the premises, serving lunch and dinner, and we could not have asked for more helpful, friendly staff. Well-behaved dogs are welcome in the cabins without charge--another bonus for us. After having paid what we did in the Yellowstone area, we thought these cabins were very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Ponderosa cabins are larger than the Alpine ones; be sure to book whatever you choose early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABSims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountainmmw, Public Relations Manager at Red Canyon Lodge Cabins, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thanks for your review. We find that sometimes getting out of the mainstream (Yellowstone) can be even more enjoyable, relaxing AND affordable! We appreciate your patronage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dutch John hotels
4.5 mi away
Flaming Gorge Resort
Flaming Gorge Resort
#1 of 1 in Dutch John
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Red Canyon Lodge Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Canyon Lodge Cabins

Property: Red Canyon Lodge Cabins
Address: 2450 W. Red Canyon Lodge, Dutch John, UT 84023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Dutch John
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Dutch John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Canyon Lodge is the premier resort in Flaming Gorge County, offering handcrafted log cabin lodging, fine dining and a variety of on-site recreation. The Lodge is located in the heart of all the scenic splendor of Flaming Gorge National Recreation Area in Northeastern Utah. Our popular Log Cabins are set amongst towering ponderosa pines with a serene private lake as your front yard. The lake is stocked with large kamloops rainbow, tiger & brook trout and catching a few big ones is a common guest pasttime. In the summer season, horseback riding, rental watercraft & mountain bikes are available daily. Our scenic restaurant is known for its wild game, handcut steaks, pastas, kids menu and outdoor patio dining. Spend a while here and discover why we are the Civilized Way to Enjoy the Great Outdoors! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Canyon Lodge Cabins Hotel Dutch John
Red Canyon Lodge Cabins Utah/Dutch John

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing