We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful & friendly place to relax”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dutch John
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Red Canyon Lodge Cabins
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful & friendly place to relax”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Red Canyon Lodge. We stayed in a Ponderosa cabin. All of the Ponderosa cabins had beautiful views of the lake. It was very quiet and clean. The landscape was beautiful and there were deer all around. With no TVs and simple amenities, it was easy to relax and feel far away from everything. But if you're looking for adventure, the cabins are a short hike or mountain bike ride to Red Canyon Rim Trail, connecting to miles of trails. The staff were all very friendly and helpful to get us on the types of trails we wanted to ride. I would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trimanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountainmmw, Public Relations Manager at Red Canyon Lodge Cabins, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Yay! It's hard to get away from the busy-ness of real life but when you take the time to put down the cell phone and laptop you can experience a side of life that feeds your soul and body! Glad you were able to embrace the solitude!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    33
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
49
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blythewood, South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was our second time staying in the Ponderosa cabins at Red Canyon Lodge. (We liked them so well two years ago that we invited friends to join us there for a couple days again this September!) The spacious log cabins are well maintained, clean, and very comfortable. They overlook a small private lake, stocked with catch-and-release fish. (What a gorgeous sunrise over the lake!) You can rent a fishing boat, paddle boat, or canoe, and we found a walking path to great overviews of the Flaming Gorge just off the property. There is a nice restaurant on the premises, serving lunch and dinner, and we could not have asked for more helpful, friendly staff. Well-behaved dogs are welcome in the cabins without charge--another bonus for us. After having paid what we did in the Yellowstone area, we thought these cabins were very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Ponderosa cabins are larger than the Alpine ones; be sure to book whatever you choose early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABSims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountainmmw, Public Relations Manager at Red Canyon Lodge Cabins, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thanks for your review. We find that sometimes getting out of the mainstream (Yellowstone) can be even more enjoyable, relaxing AND affordable! We appreciate your patronage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Springs, Wyoming
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

There is probably no better location for this place. The cabins are all located long Greene's lake, and just a mile from the rim of Flaming Gorge. The cabins were clean with a large sitting room, bedroom and a small kitchen area. The beds were a bit hard for me and the couch which is also a pull put was sort of uncomfortable to sit on. The restraunt was pretty good, but maybe a bit over priced.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountainmmw, Public Relations Manager at Red Canyon Lodge Cabins, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thanks for your thoughts. Sometimes it's hard to get it right as many people have said that our beds are too soft! It's an individual thing, but we will check into the beds you mentioned and the sofa. Again, we appreciate you taking the time to comment. All the best! Red Canyon Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green River, Wyoming
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Our family had a wonderful time staying in a Ponderosa Cabin (actually 2). It worked great to have the door open between the two so kids and grandkids could mingle. We made great memories with a fire in the fire pit each night and supper outside at the picnic tables. The rainbows over the lake provided by Mother Nature made for great photography. The staff was very friendly and helpful when I made the reservation. We lucked out and filled a cancellation on short notice. We couldn't have spent a better weekend anywhere else. Thanks Red Canyon Lodge.

Room Tip: The Ponderosa Cabins are great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grams71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountainmmw, Public Relations Manager at Red Canyon Lodge Cabins, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we are so glad you had a great time at the Lodge! Come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in an Alpine cabin which was very clean and included a small living area with a fridge & microwave, a 3/4 bathroon and bedroom with 2 double beds. Fans were provided if we got warm but windows open and the cool mountain air was more than we needed. The porch provided comfortable seating and a great view of the lake. The fire ban had also been lifted during our stay so we were able to build a small fire each night to make smores.

The Red Canyon Lodge provided a number of activities - all for an additional cost - including boating, horseback riding and fishing. The children's pond was advertised as free but it would have been nicer if they also provided fishing poles for the kids to use as no cost or small rental fee. Instead they sold poles for $20+ - a bit steep for families with multiple children and who traveled a long way and would not be able to take them home with them.

Our horseback ride with Wayne was the highlight of our stay. He gave us a good amount of information about the area, the natural environment and was extremely attentive to our 2 girls - aged 8 & 11.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctfamof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountainmmw, Public Relations Manager at Red Canyon Lodge Cabins, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Your comments are very much appreciated and we highly value your comments. We pride ourselves on offering fun activities for our guests and the horseback riding is one of our most popular. We are happy to hear your family enjoyed the experience. As for the fishing poles, we will look into alternative options for the future. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
219 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed a couple of nights last week for the 5th or 6th time. The Ponderosa cabins are charming, a bit dated and have poorly equipped kitchenettes. But, the setting (on the lake) is gorgeous and peaceful and second to none in the area. A little on the pricey side for a cabin, but again, it's all about the setting. Hard to get a res during the summer - book very early!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eppikureeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountainmmw, Public Relations Manager at Red Canyon Lodge Cabins, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Yes, we do fill up fast during the summer months so it is good to book early! But our Fall, Winter and Spring seasons are not as busy and offer a unique experience. We look forward to your 7th and 8th visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Our family brought 16 kids and 10 adults, so we needed a place where we could all gather. We rented 4 cabins, 2 large, and 2 small, and this provided enough space to have dinners together right on the side of the lake and each evening was beautiful. There were lots of smaller cabins and groups that also had their privacy, as the cabins are spaced adequately apart. This place was perfect for us. The only drawback was it had been a dry year and so in August no fires were allowed, even in fire pits. But that's good fire policy. So that made it hard to gather around the fire pit. I gave this place a 5 star as the lake is so beautiful and nice to canoe on, and location is incredible, just a few miles from one of the most scenic views possible of Flaming Gorge, and from the Green River for fishing or rafting. The cabins themselves are simple log cabins and ours smelled of moth balls which almost made me take off a star, but their location right on the lake was really beautiful. The cabins provide adequate electricity, bedding, blankets, and fans for when it gets hot and heaters for when it gets cool. The cabins are clean and the larger ones have cooking facilities, the smaller ones a microwave. It was in the high 90's when we were there in August but the with fans and open windows we stayed cool. The lake is not really one you'd swim in, but go to Flaming Gorge or the Green River and you can have a great swim. The staff at the store and restaurant are quite nice.

Room Tip: Cabins near the lake are nice, but even those set back a bit are nice as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank longtrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountainmmw, Public Relations Manager at Red Canyon Lodge Cabins, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you for your comments and honest review. We love to see families use our Lodge for reunions and get togethers! We hope you will come back again and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Canyon Lodge Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Canyon Lodge Cabins

Property: Red Canyon Lodge Cabins
Address: 2450 W. Red Canyon Lodge, Dutch John, UT 84023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Dutch John
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Dutch John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Canyon Lodge is the premier resort in Flaming Gorge County, offering handcrafted log cabin lodging, fine dining and a variety of on-site recreation. The Lodge is located in the heart of all the scenic splendor of Flaming Gorge National Recreation Area in Northeastern Utah. Our popular Log Cabins are set amongst towering ponderosa pines with a serene private lake as your front yard. The lake is stocked with large kamloops rainbow, tiger & brook trout and catching a few big ones is a common guest pasttime. In the summer season, horseback riding, rental watercraft & mountain bikes are available daily. Our scenic restaurant is known for its wild game, handcut steaks, pastas, kids menu and outdoor patio dining. Spend a while here and discover why we are the Civilized Way to Enjoy the Great Outdoors! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Canyon Lodge Cabins Hotel Dutch John
Red Canyon Lodge Cabins Utah/Dutch John

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing