We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay - Great Value - Helpful Staff - The best HUB in South UTAH”
Review of Pinewoods Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pinewoods Resort
Southern California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay - Great Value - Helpful Staff - The best HUB in South UTAH”
Reviewed December 26, 2009

We arrived right after a snow storm two days before X-mas. We had only made the reservations 24 hours before and the suite was clean, warm and ready for us. Everything worked and we had a very nice and centrical location within the resort. The staff is mostly family and it shows. They have sleds, snowshoes, snowmobiles, ATV's for rent and what they don't have, they will get it for you or give you a solid reference.

We are very picky and travel on a group of 6. Not used to spend money and not get value in return. At Pinewoods, we got every cent of what we paid and then some. Value-wise, the cost of stay for 6 people was about 60% of that in any Xantera-operated hotel (inside the National Parks), and Pinewoods included a nicely equipped kitchenette that made the food management a lot more affordable. A nice continental breakfast is included and is comparable to those of the major motor hotel chains.

You make your own beds and wash your own dishes. The towels are changed every-other day (which every hotel should do just for sustainability's sake).

It is centrical to all major Southern Utah attractions (Zion, Kolob, Bryce, Cedar Breaks, Brian Head). The area itself is privileged in the middle of Dixie NF with a lot of snow-related activities and very few restrictions for motor-vehicle usage (snowmobile or ATV).

Take it for what it is: A remarkable family-ran resort... Thankfully. You will have a nice stay, at great value with welcoming and warm reception. I'll happily return as many times as possible.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowcraving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    19
    9
    17
    10
See reviews for
38
34
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Queen Creek, AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2009

I was skeptical to stay at Pinewoods after reading some of these reviews, but after talking to the manager I decided to book a room for the weekend. I was very pleased with my stay at Pinewoods. It was secluded in the trees and quiet. The location was good as I visited the national parks close by. The room was clean and well kept. The staff was professional and helpful. ATVing was loads of fun and easy. I can't help but wonder if those with negative reviews actually stayed at this quaint resort.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthernUTlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
1 review
Reviewed December 4, 2009

Great stay again. We have stayed here many times over the last 8 years. We love the beautiful, lush settings, cozy rooms and quite atmosphere. The staff is always helpful and friendly. We love to atv and snowmobile and this place definetly has some of the funnest trails around in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VegasInvestor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2009

We recently traveled to Duck Creek for a wedding at Pinewoods Resort. We have 3 children under the age of 7 and we were very comfortable in our room. The kitchen had everything I needed to make small meals for my family and we got a great pizza one night from their restaurant. The Resort catered the wedding and decorated their pavillion for the reception and everything was wonderful. It was a beautiful spot to have a wedding all nestled in the pines. We would bring our family back here again for a longer stay. We enjoyed the location, the room worked well for our family and the service was everything we needed and wanted.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyazfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, AZ
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2009

We recent took a family vacation and toured Zion's National Park. We did a lot of sight-seeing and hiking with our teenage kids. We choose to stay in this quiant little village called Duck Creek, at the Pinewoods Resort, tucked back into the woods, just off interstate 14. We stayed for a week and the condo was very comfortable. Small rooms, but everything we needed. The facilities were clean and the staff friendly. Our kids enjoyed the woodsy pines during the day and the campfires at night. We liked the quiet, secluded atmosphere. We would stay there again if we return to the area.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayGilbert_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Stayed in motel.  Facilities and grounds sounded good via descriptions on line, but I should have read the reviews!   Motel room was very small, small window--no room for even a chair. No tissue or any little extras.   Small TV on small table filled with remotes and DVD box.  AAA (?!) restaurant was not open on a Sat night so had to go to the little  Duck Creek village to find food. Complimentary breakfast was average.  Noticed only a few guests.  Had booked for two nights but left after the first night--no refund per their 72 hr cancellation policy.  Will consider it as charity.  Some rustic settings have charm, but not this one.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Trucknbycar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Duck Creek Village hotels

San Francisco
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2009

The best thing I can say about the Pinewood is the surrounding area of the Dixie National Forest is BEAUTIFUL. However, the "resort" itself had small (I mean leave you luggage in the car small) rooms and only cleans the rooms 1/week! What? Yes. That said, it is centrally located if you want to hit up Bryce and Zion without having to relocate. It is about 1 hour to Bryce and 1 1/2 to Zion. If you end up in the area and want GREAT eats, head down to Hatch and try the Adobe.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRG-SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duck Creek Village
22.2 mi away
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
#3 of 14 in Panguitch
471 reviews
14.9 mi away
Mountain Ridge Motel and Cabins
20.4 mi away
Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Cedar Breaks Lodge
Cedar Breaks Lodge
#1 of 3 in Brian Head
382 reviews
15.2 mi away
Bryce Zion Inn
Bryce Zion Inn
#2 of 2 in Hatch
111 reviews
20.9 mi away
Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort
Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort
#2 of 2 in Zion National Park
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinewoods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinewoods Resort

Property: Pinewoods Resort
Address: 1460 E Duck Creek Ridge Rd, Duck Creek Village, UT 84762-7701
Location: United States > Utah > Duck Creek Village
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Duck Creek Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pinewoods Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinewoods Resort offers the best Bryce Canyon Area Lodging. Choose from Motel Rooms, Lodge and Inn Suites, Mountain Homes, and RV Park Campground. Located on Highway 14 in the heart of Utah Color Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Pinewoods Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinewoods Hotel Duck Creek Village
Pinewoods Resort Utah/Duck Creek Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing