We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms in the beautiful pines.”
Review of Pinewoods Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pinewoods Resort
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“Nice rooms in the beautiful pines.”
Reviewed December 3, 2009

We recently traveled to Duck Creek for a wedding at Pinewoods Resort. We have 3 children under the age of 7 and we were very comfortable in our room. The kitchen had everything I needed to make small meals for my family and we got a great pizza one night from their restaurant. The Resort catered the wedding and decorated their pavillion for the reception and everything was wonderful. It was a beautiful spot to have a wedding all nestled in the pines. We would bring our family back here again for a longer stay. We enjoyed the location, the room worked well for our family and the service was everything we needed and wanted.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyazfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    19
    9
    17
    10
See reviews for
38
34
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, AZ
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2009

We recent took a family vacation and toured Zion's National Park. We did a lot of sight-seeing and hiking with our teenage kids. We choose to stay in this quiant little village called Duck Creek, at the Pinewoods Resort, tucked back into the woods, just off interstate 14. We stayed for a week and the condo was very comfortable. Small rooms, but everything we needed. The facilities were clean and the staff friendly. Our kids enjoyed the woodsy pines during the day and the campfires at night. We liked the quiet, secluded atmosphere. We would stay there again if we return to the area.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayGilbert_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Stayed in motel.  Facilities and grounds sounded good via descriptions on line, but I should have read the reviews!   Motel room was very small, small window--no room for even a chair. No tissue or any little extras.   Small TV on small table filled with remotes and DVD box.  AAA (?!) restaurant was not open on a Sat night so had to go to the little  Duck Creek village to find food. Complimentary breakfast was average.  Noticed only a few guests.  Had booked for two nights but left after the first night--no refund per their 72 hr cancellation policy.  Will consider it as charity.  Some rustic settings have charm, but not this one.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Trucknbycar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Duck Creek Village hotels

San Francisco
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2009

The best thing I can say about the Pinewood is the surrounding area of the Dixie National Forest is BEAUTIFUL. However, the "resort" itself had small (I mean leave you luggage in the car small) rooms and only cleans the rooms 1/week! What? Yes. That said, it is centrally located if you want to hit up Bryce and Zion without having to relocate. It is about 1 hour to Bryce and 1 1/2 to Zion. If you end up in the area and want GREAT eats, head down to Hatch and try the Adobe.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRG-SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, Utah
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2009

We had a pleasant stay. We stayed in the motel and we received a reasonable rate. Our stay was for three nights. We had no trouble at all getting our AAA discount. We had two meals in their restaurant and eating there. They were out of my first choice of a T-bone steak, but I still enjoyed my New York strip steak and it was also less money. We would have liked to have had a ceiling fan in our room because it did get a little warm in there after we returned from touring around the area. We made do by opening up the window
Our room and bedding were clean. There was a small fridge and a microwave in our room. No, this place is not the Ritz, but we thought we got our moneys worth.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldnberyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMAZUSA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2009

"Resort"?

Ha!

This place is the biggest dump we have ever stayed at in our entire lives. Anywhere. In the world. Including 3rd-world bungalows in S/E Asia.

Here's an itemized list of how wrong this place is:

--Blood and dog hair all over the bed (in the sheets and on blanket) when we arrived.
--Phenomenally disgusting jacuzzi that is coated in a thick, heavy ring of dead skin.
--60% dead light bulbs in our cabin.
--Broken door handle and lock. (took the staff 2 days to fix)
--20+ year old linoleum flooring that is peeling off everywhere.
--Broken blinds.
--Stove that does not work. (very hard to cook food with no stove)
--Paper thin walls.
--Cold shower. (ice cold--no joke. & staff did not fix it for 2 days)
--Broken shelves and coat pegs throughout cabin.
--P.O.S. snowmobiles that break down frequently. (want to get stranded miles form home in the middle of a snowstorm?!)
--Thoroughly incompetent & rude staff that could care less about addressing any of the many, many, many problems with this place.

Too top it off, after promising refunds for the problems, they overcharged our credit card with fraudulent charges!

Check out Meadow View Lodge instead--they are 100% cleaner, bigger, more professional and polite. We tried to leave Pinewoods for MVl, but MVL was full. Next time. . .

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LMAZUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2008

The setting is lovely. We got there late and the staff had made arrangements so that we would have a key, which was nice.
We had a two bedroom suite, roomy, if a little worn. Neither of the lights in the bathroom worked. A peg in the bathroom to hang your stuff was falling off. In fact the place was a little shoddy, particularly for the price.
Since there was no one in the office, we made do. Took a light from another fixture, stood on a chair and changed the light. But you would think that whoever cleaned would also make sure everything was working.
The bedrooms are upstairs. The bath down. And the stair well is fairly steep, with no good rail for the first four or five steps. This is fine for young folks, but one of our group had recently broken her leg and the climb for her was dangerous.
Then to add insult to an already disappointing stay, the manager refused to give us an AAA discount. I'm not sure why -- but they had put through the credit card charge before we arrived and would not redo it. I even got their number from my AAA book.

  • Liked — beautiful setting
  • Disliked — most everything else
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NebSenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duck Creek Village
22.2 mi away
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
#3 of 14 in Panguitch
471 reviews
14.9 mi away
Mountain Ridge Motel and Cabins
20.4 mi away
Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Cedar Breaks Lodge
Cedar Breaks Lodge
#1 of 3 in Brian Head
382 reviews
15.2 mi away
Bryce Zion Inn
Bryce Zion Inn
#2 of 2 in Hatch
112 reviews
20.9 mi away
Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort
Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort
#2 of 2 in Zion National Park
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinewoods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinewoods Resort

Property: Pinewoods Resort
Address: 1460 E Duck Creek Ridge Rd, Duck Creek Village, UT 84762-7701
Location: United States > Utah > Duck Creek Village
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Duck Creek Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pinewoods Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinewoods Resort offers the best Bryce Canyon Area Lodging. Choose from Motel Rooms, Lodge and Inn Suites, Mountain Homes, and RV Park Campground. Located on Highway 14 in the heart of Utah Color Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pinewoods Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinewoods Hotel Duck Creek Village
Pinewoods Resort Utah/Duck Creek Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing