We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of U-Dig Fossils

U-Dig Fossils
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Delta
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Gainesville, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
144 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We took our children (6 & 9) to dig trilobites. This place was amazing! We "cracked rocks" for the 4 hour option and only stopped for lunch. We shipped home 4 large flat rate postage boxes full of trilobites. We highly recommend this to everyone we meet!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank pitterpat000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    5
    1
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantasic experience from all possible angles”
Reviewed July 8, 2011

This place exceeded our expectations, even though our expectations were really high based on other reviews. They are not kidding when they say that you will leave with intact trilobites for sure! In addition to leaving with trilobites, we were treated like royalty while there. What more could a parent want, an educational experience that all of the family loved.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Jillboch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Loved it - we plan to return”
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We had a great time splitting rocks and finding fossil trilobites. Our host Bevan was very helpful and showed us where to look and even helped when my wife could not find any right away. The portable restrooms are immaculate! If you go in the summer, wear a hat that ties down, sunscreen and water. It was fun we ended finding over 50 fossils-Bevan reviewed them with us and glued the ones we broke - we ran out of time, but are going back soon.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank highwaytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed May 29, 2010

After driving 8 hours to get to Delta, assured by the website and literature that they were open, we arrived at the quarry at 0930 to find it closed and unoccupied. No sign and no explanation. Not surprisingly, cell phones don't work in the middle of the House Range.
We were very disappointed. The other commercial quarry up the road was also closed.
On the plus side: the directions are clear, the road was easy in a standard station wagon. Also, there is a free BLM quarry just below U-Dig, but you'd better have tools with you.

Helpful?
18 Thank Lexie914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shayne C, Owner at U-Dig Fossils, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
I have talked to he U-dig operators and I do not have a good explanation of what happened this day. Since we did not see this post until long after it occurred, no one can remember what happened. We are assuming the operator had a flat tire on the way to the quarry and that delayed him. The operator is expected be at the quarry prior to 9 a.m. so the quarry is open and ready for customers at 9 a.m.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, ca.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Where Was Everyone !”
Reviewed November 1, 2009

My wife and I had been looking forward to our fossil dig for months. By the time we navigated the gravel road ( I think that's what it was ) and found the quarry we were exhausted. The road was terrible and not that well maintained as stated. I drive a truck and the last couple of miles were very rough going. The only way I would drive that road again would be in a RENTAL. When we arrived around 2:30pm there was no one around to help us. We waited by the office for about 15 minutes and no one showed. I finally borrowed a pick and found a couple specimans and we left. It was exciting to find fossils, but help would have been nice also. IS THERE ANYBODY OUT THERE

Helpful?
5 Thank floyddaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shayne C, Owner at U-Dig Fossils, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
As the owner of U-dig Fossils, I am perplexed when a customer shows up and no one is there to assist them. The only explanation I can think of is the U-dig operator was collecting Trilobites in a near by quarry and did not leave information at the office explaining their location. I have addressed this issue and hope we do not have this happen again.

We have had very few complains with the gravel road to the quarry. The first 10 miles of the road is covered with 1/4 inch minus crushed gravel and is sprayed with an anti dust compound that makes it hard. Except for a few places where the rain water has eroded the road, this part of the road is in excellent condition. The second 10 miles of the road is well graded and is also in good condition. The gravel is larger on this second 10 miles, but is still very good compared to most gravel roads. Like any gravel road, the road gets wash board like bumps in a few places. Also, if we get a hard rain it can damage a few ares of the road. When this happens, the county will come repair the road promptly.

We get all types of cars to the quarry every week. If customers just pay attention to the signs and don't drive too fast, they will have a good experience driving to the U-dig quarry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U-Dig Fossils also viewed

 

Been to U-Dig Fossils? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing