We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Make the most of your visit. Go to the Jetty!”

Golden Spike National Historic Site
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Corinne
Certificate of Excellence
Ennice, North Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Make the most of your visit. Go to the Jetty!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Yes, the other reviewers are right. It's a great piece of history with excellent exhibits and cool trains. Yes, bring a lunch and make an afternoon of it. Yes, call for the times of the train exhibition because the demonstration is half the trip.

Now for the part they didn't mention. We ventured past groups of very friendly horses about fifteen miles down the road to the Spiral Jetty on the Salt Lake. In August the water was low and it was possible to walk all the way out to the jetty. For me, the lake itself is an eerie place. No signs of life in the water or on the water. But walking this artistic "earthwork," added a nature and art element to the historic element of the Golden Spike site.

See more about the Spiral Jetty here>>>> http://www.robertsmithson.com/earthworks/spiral_jetty.htm

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GingerBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    90
    12
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
castaic
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A trip back in time”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This National site is off the beaten track, but if you're nearby, it's worth the stop. Two beautiful old RR engines are demonstrated at specified times. Best to call ahead for times. Follow road signs rather than GPS. Take a picnic lunch as there are no eating facilities at the site or nearby. Interesting old rr movies are shown as well as a documentary of the building of the tracks. Only open in summer season and it's Hot. This was one of the most important accomplishments in the development of the United States.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Itravelcastaic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Out of the way location, probably worth the drive”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

There's really not a lot to see here and unfortunately, while they do live steam engine demonstrations, they only do them every few hours and we missed them. However, on the long drive in the ATK rocket factory made the drive worth while. Probably would not have visited if not a railroad buff.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LostinTransit10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A Trip Back In Time”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Being a NPS member I make every effort to stop at each site if I get the opportunity. After reading the reviews I drove the 45 min from Ogden to Corrine to check it out. It's off the beaten path. After reading the tips about not relying on your GPS to find the location, I checked the NPS website. If you follow the brown signs marking the route, you will find it with ease. I put the address into the GPS on my Google Map App to see if it would take me on the same route and it did not, it took me in the opposite direction. So beware of the directions given on your map apps!
This park does have a small entrance fee, since I have the NPS annual pass I did not have to pay. It was also free entrance because it was the parks anniversary.
We pulled up to a packed park just in time to see the reenactment. Volunteers reenact the joining of the two railroads and driving the Golden Spikes. The gorgeous trains are working coal burning replicas. That day they were giving tours of the inside of the trains. The volunteers were dressed in era like costumes. The bright colors of the trains, the costumed volunteers against the golden landscape was like taking a trip back time.
The museum displays some of the equipment used and has a 20 minute video. It's definitely worth checking out, especially the golden spike that's on display.
Be sure to check out the times for the reenactments as there are only 2 per day. Depending on the time of year, those times may change and it's REALLY worth seeing. Funds that are donated in the parks donation boxes go to help pay for the reenactment. There is also a nice size gift shop with everything from DVD to shirts.
Check your gas before you make the trip as there are NO close stations for approximately 30+ miles. If you choose to stay for the reenactment, you will need water, sunscreen, a hat or umbrella as there is NO shade or cover from the sun. The reenactment is about 30-45 minutes in length and there are some wooden benches to sit on. If the park is packed you will have to stand or bring your own chair. The bathrooms are nice and clean, located outside the visitor center. The park is handicap accessible. The rangers were very knowledgeable and seemed to really enjoy talking about the historical events that took place. There is a driving tour around the park you can take to see some of the points of the rail road.
This is a great stop for people of all ages, whether you're into history or trains. Definitely worth the drive!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank aladybug76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darfur, Minnesota
Level Contributor
179 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“a hidden gem of american history”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Loved the golden spike historic site worth the drive thru the valley, we enjoyed this as well, coming from the midwest flatlands.

The locomotives were beautiful and reenactments fun to watch and the rangers were helpful and explained this very important part of history well.

My daddy being a railroad man talked of this place alot and it was awesome finally seeing it in person

He's still around at 91 and I could share with him what I saw brought tears to his eyes.

Highly recommend to make the journey if your in the salt lake city area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank waddyfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Spike National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Golden Spike National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing