We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in an awesome spot.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Staircase Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cannonville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2009

This is a basic hotel which offers rates which are no longer seen. The room which we had included a small fridge and microwave oven. Wifi is available, and the connected market is open from 8am until 9pm for what you may need.
I highly recommend that if you intend to do your own cooking you stock up at a city before entering the parks area. There is a breakfast area where you are welcome to use the microwave and there are several toasters for patrons to use.
What makes this spot most appealing however is its location. It is about 8 miles from the Bryce Canyon entrance and 9 miles directly up the road from Kodachrom State Park. Neither is to be missed and incredible views can be enjoyed straight from your window.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsSweetPea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 564 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2009

I liked this clean, quiet hotel, well situated near Bryce Canyon, though far better value for money than anything you can find in the nearby town of Tropic. Cannonville is only four miles further from Bryce Canyon than Tropic. The room was very spacious with plenty of space to open out my suitcase. The rooms are situated above a store which is open until 8pm and is convenient for buying odds and ends. There is also a gas station useful for topping up your car. The welcome was good and I even got a small breakfast of toast and coffee, usually reserved for coach parties. There is a computer in the store with free Internet access for guests. This is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank levado656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2008

We stayed 2 nights at the Grand Staircase Inn when we visit Bryce Canyon, upon arrival, the motel doesn't look like much from the outside with the rusty staircase, but we were suprised how big the room was when we got in, i mean, it has 2 king beds space out with a lot of room to spare, most importantly, the room was really clean.

other reviewers have already mentioned about the grocery store, huge room, clean, friendly staffs. i agree with them 100%.

some reviewers also mentioned this is a family run motel, but i also found out the owner actually designed and built the motel themselves, that's why all the rooms are so big. oh..i forgot to mention that the owner is also the mayor of that county, talk about serving people.

the hotel is about 12 miles from Bryce, it's not really far from Bryce Canyon, but far enough from the tourist trap. I would definitely recommend this motel to anyone who plan to visit Bryce Canyon.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2008

Poor planning made this our hotel for our visit to Bryce Canyon. When I called we got the last room available and since it was the last room within a 20 or so mile radius of Bryce Canyon we took it.

I was a little nervous when I pulled up to the Grand Staircase Inn. From the outside it sure didn't look like much. After checking in with the friendly staff and going to our room I was pleasantly surprised. The room was very large, had two king beds, and a newer bathroom and vanity. Best of all, it was immaculate, extremely clean! All my worries were for nothing.

We ended up buying some food from the store below for dinner. It’s a small grocery store but has a good enough selection. There’s nowhere to eat in town so we just grabbed some items and microwaved them in the microwave in the hallway of the hotel.

There's no elevator so you will have to hike up and down the stairs if you are not on the first floor. Also, the curtains are very thin and bright lights shine in the windows all night. We covered the window with our beach towels.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to others, but next time we go, we’d want to stay somewhere closer to Bryce. It was a bit of a drive back and forth.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank arbrod13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2008

Spent three nights here while visiting Bryce Canyon and Escalante Grand Staircase parks. Our ground-floor room was spacious, clean and comfortable. It included a small microwave and fridge, both handy as there are no restaurants in Cannonville. The motel provides toast and coffee in the morning. You can buy sandwiches and fruit in the attached grocery store or shop for picnic supplies, snacks, etc. down the road in Tropic or at Ruby's in Bryce. The nearest restaurants are in Tropic, but the pizzeria closes at the end of October, leaving only Clarke's. Its decor is a little unusual, but the service is pleasant and the food is decent. The pasta servings are so generous that we got a doggy bag and microwaved the leftovers the next morning. Not your standard breakfast, but it provided the carbs for a day of hiking.

Cannonville is further from Bryce Canyon than Tropic or Bryce, but the friendly and helpful motel staff and very reasonable rates more than make up for any inconvenience.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Tripsterchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2008

As other reviewers wrote, the hotel doesn't look much from outside, but rooms are nice and clean.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leo_aqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2008

This place is handy to Bryce Canyon (12 miles down scenic Rte 12) and away from the tourist traps closer to the Park. Karen, the owner, was very helpful in getting the reservation. It doesn't look like much from the outside, but the rooms are very large albeit very spartan --- and very clean. Complimentary breakfast consists of coffee/tea and toast in the little eating area in the store downstairs. You can supplement your breakfast by purchasing items (such as yogurt or juice) from the store.

The bed was Very good and the pillows Excellent, as well as lighting in the room. There was no closet and no shelf space for luggage, and poor seating in the room. Bathroom lighting was dim, and there was limited counter space. There were four full sets of towels (appreciated) but they were rather thin, and the shower was poor.

Overall, a bare-bones but clean and adequate stopover with extremely friendly and helpful people.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RouteRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannonville
9.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
5,213 reviews
9.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
22.2 mi away
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
#3 of 14 in Panguitch
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Red Ledges Inn
Red Ledges Inn
#3 of 5 in Tropic
706 reviews
13.0 mi away
Bryce Canyon Pines
Bryce Canyon Pines
#2 of 6 in Bryce
558 reviews
4.1 mi away
Bryce Pioneer Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Staircase Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Staircase Inn

Address: 105 North Kodachrome Drive, Cannonville, UT 84718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Cannonville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cannonville
Price Range: $64 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Staircase Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Staircase Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Staircase Hotel Cannonville
Grand Staircase Cannonville
Grand Staircase Inn Cannonville, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing