We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We liked this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Staircase Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cannonville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We spent two nights here visiting Bryce Canyon NP and were very happy with it.

It doesn't look much from the outside but our room was huge, two enormous beds (we only used one!) and an excellent bathroom. All very clean, the air conditioning was noisy so we just turned it off and opened the window instead.
Good fridge as well.

Reception staff very friendly and helpful and breakfast was simple but adequate. Really no complaints.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frenchies1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (568)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 568 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

As the title suggests I stayed 1 night here after visiting Bryce National Park and then moving on to visit more of amazing Utah! As a previous reviewer has mentioned the hotel also doubles as a gas station and a convenience store, they sell food which you can microwave in the microwaves available in the corridor of the hotel but there isn't a restaurant in Cannonville. The people who run the hotel are extremely nice and very helpful. The room itself was clean but basic, it is cooled/ heated by a system which is driven by some eco friendly mechanism (I read the notice about this but have forgotten the specifics!).

Good points:
Friendly staff/ owners
Gas station
Large room, very clean

Not so good points:
Air con was rather too loud for my liking
I couldn't work out had to change the TV over to get the cable channels even though there was an instruction sheet (this could be more my fault than the hotels!)
No lift/ elevators

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmandaClaireBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Cannonville is a small town. The gas station, the local store and the motel is one and the same place. It is 20-25 minutes by car to Bryce Canyon park, and you don't really want to be any further out than this. Tropic is a better bet: it is closer, there are more motels/B&Bs and a couple of restaurants, too. Cannonville has none.
The Grand Staircase Inn is named after a large geographic feature nearby (Escalante) and has nothing to do with the large escapeway structure at the end of the building.
The rooms are pretty basic - no complaints. We were placed next to the boiler/laundry room, which was too noisy for our liking. We asked for another room, and promptly got one.
Cannonville is close to Kodakchrome Basin.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CopenhagenMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Why paying a lot of $ for staying in Bryce National Park ? Hotel Grand Staircase is just 15 minutes away from the national park and is a perfect alternative. The hotel is clean, nice rooms and quiet.
The shop, where we had breakfast, has a big assortment and can complete your breakfast.
You can eat in tropic or escalante (the cowboy blues is very good!).

Room Tip: We stayed with four adults in a room. There is enough space for four people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bikkel16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a really nice surprise. Loved the small town feel, quick drive to Tropic for a few restaurants. Gorgeous views everywhere. Kind staff, big clean rooms, toast/coffee/tea/cocoa included for breakfast. Has a mini market downstairs. Easy drive to Bryce Canyon. A highlight on our 9 day vacation. Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jenbo333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had the opportunity to stay two nights at this excellent and super-clean hotel about 15 miles or so south of Bryce Canyon.

Large, meticulously cared for rooms, with a pair of truly queen-sized quality beds. The bathrooms were excellent- ours appeared pretty much new. After paying some fairly exorbitant rates for some marginal accommodations in Santa Fe, Tusayan and Las Vegas during our trip through the Southwest, this hotel was a very pleasant surprise.

The small store on the first floor doubles as the "lobby". Free coffee and toast available for guests each morning, and while there aren't any ice machines, each guest is welcome to a 10lb bag of ice each day at no charge. Very friendly and helpful staff, too.

This was far and away the best hotel experience of our trip, and should I ever find myself in that part of the country again I'll be making a point of staying at the Grand Staircase Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ted R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Comfortable hotels within a few miles of Bryce Canyon NP tend to be pricey so, if you are looking for a place to stay that's near the park, comfortable and affordable, consider the Grand Staircase Inn. The rooms are large and fully equipped with a microwave and fridge although the furniture is a little sparse (maybe the rooms are just too big or it was because I only had one bed in my room).

The only downside to being in Cannonville is the lack of restaurants so, if you want a restaurant meal, you will need to eat near the park or in nearby Tropic. This, however, just takes a little planning or you can get supplies from the well stocked general store on the premises.

It's nothing fancy but the staff and friendly and helpful, the rooms are quiet and functional and the price is right.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Born_Old
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannonville
9.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
5,302 reviews
9.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
22.2 mi away
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
#3 of 14 in Panguitch
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Red Ledges Inn
Red Ledges Inn
#3 of 5 in Tropic
709 reviews
4.1 mi away
Bryce Pioneer Village
21.5 mi away
Mountain Ridge Motel and Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Staircase Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Staircase Inn

Address: 105 North Kodachrome Drive, Cannonville, UT 84718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Cannonville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cannonville
Price Range: $64 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Staircase Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Staircase Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Staircase Hotel Cannonville
Grand Staircase Cannonville
Grand Staircase Inn Cannonville, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing