We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very pleasant surprise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Staircase Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Staircase Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cannonville
Certificate of Excellence
Holden, Maine
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had the opportunity to stay two nights at this excellent and super-clean hotel about 15 miles or so south of Bryce Canyon.

Large, meticulously cared for rooms, with a pair of truly queen-sized quality beds. The bathrooms were excellent- ours appeared pretty much new. After paying some fairly exorbitant rates for some marginal accommodations in Santa Fe, Tusayan and Las Vegas during our trip through the Southwest, this hotel was a very pleasant surprise.

The small store on the first floor doubles as the "lobby". Free coffee and toast available for guests each morning, and while there aren't any ice machines, each guest is welcome to a 10lb bag of ice each day at no charge. Very friendly and helpful staff, too.

This was far and away the best hotel experience of our trip, and should I ever find myself in that part of the country again I'll be making a point of staying at the Grand Staircase Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ted R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    229
    85
    10
    5
See reviews for
142
256
25
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Comfortable hotels within a few miles of Bryce Canyon NP tend to be pricey so, if you are looking for a place to stay that's near the park, comfortable and affordable, consider the Grand Staircase Inn. The rooms are large and fully equipped with a microwave and fridge although the furniture is a little sparse (maybe the rooms are just too big or it was because I only had one bed in my room).

The only downside to being in Cannonville is the lack of restaurants so, if you want a restaurant meal, you will need to eat near the park or in nearby Tropic. This, however, just takes a little planning or you can get supplies from the well stocked general store on the premises.

It's nothing fancy but the staff and friendly and helpful, the rooms are quiet and functional and the price is right.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Born_Old
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Great hotel near Bryce Canyon National Park. This has to be the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed at! We booked a room with 2 queen beds. When we arrived, we found they upgraded us (for no extra charge) to a room with 2 king beds because it was available and was a larger room. Lobby has a small convenience store where we purchased food for dinner and ice cream! Owner was very friendly and accommodating. Room was quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jjzeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz, Austria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

This was the best motel on my recent trip through the Southwest. Rooms were clean and obviously recently refurbished. Good WIFI. We had a seperate bath tub and a seperate shower. The bath tub even came with a whirlpool. The food mart downstairs is convenient and the integrated gas station a nice add on. The proximity to Bryce NP (about 15 mins) tops this decent value pack. I will definitely come back on my next trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nobby_solano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

It's small and quaint, but clean and comfy....and the view when you wake up is amazing! Toast and coffee may not sound like a big breakfast, but it was yummy and served by the owners with a smile that made you feel like family. The room was large, quiet, and very clean, and you can't beat having the car right outside for packing up in the morning. A beautiful and fast drive from the park.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traci R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We arrived just before 10pm but I called to tell them we were still coming to stay. Had a handicapped room because that was all that was avble. when I booked it, but it was fine. Hosts were very friendly. Europeans and hikers will love this as we did. Breakfast was toast and coffee but you could purchase more at their store/restaurant. Sure saved money from more chain hotels that are around. A few miles from entrance to Bryce Canyon but not a problem. We would stay there again. Clean and comfortable. Only stayed one night. You will want to get up and get started with all the hiking available. Beautiful scenery to behold. We were there in May 2013.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjwh112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

After driving cross-country (almost) from Chicago via Lincoln, Nebraska, it was great to get to our hotel and find a friendly staff and a little store with snacks. The staff will even cook you a frozen pizza from the store. The room was big and immaculate. The sheets were newer and clean. The mattresses were a little soft for my taste, but still comfortable. Good water pressure and plenty of hot water. The hotel provides toast, jam, tea and coffee in the mornings - you can purchase other breakfast items in the store. Other things to know before booking - no elevators, store has limited hours on Sundays, and there is a limited selection of dining in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chitownbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannonville
9.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruby's Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,417 reviews
9.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
4.0 mi away
Bryce Pioneer Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Stone Canyon Inn
Stone Canyon Inn
#1 of 5 in Tropic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
4.3 mi away
Red Ledges Inn
Red Ledges Inn
#3 of 5 in Tropic
3.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
22.2 mi away
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
#3 of 14 in Panguitch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Staircase Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Staircase Inn

Property: Grand Staircase Inn
Address: 105 North Kodachrome Drive, Cannonville, UT 84718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Cannonville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cannonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Staircase Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Grand Staircase Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Staircase Hotel Cannonville
Grand Staircase Cannonville
Grand Staircase Inn Cannonville, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing