We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel, Great place, Good atmosphere and Friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Staircase Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Staircase Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cannonville
Certificate of Excellence
Gijón,Asturias
Level Contributor
58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Great place, Good atmosphere and Friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Grand Staircase Inn was our sixth hotel when we was driving around the coast west and we stayed a night, on eleventh of september of 2012 and our room was nº 102

We made this reservation on Grand Staircase Inn on their official website and we paid for the room 88 $ with complimentary breakfast (coffee, milk and some toasts), we had free internet in our room and the parking facilities was ok

Grand Staircase Inn is about 20 milles Bryce Canyon and it´s in the middle of nowhere, but I think that is the reason because it´s special place and it has a good atmosphere.

We arrived at eight o´clock in the evening and the check-in was quickly and we didn´t have any problems because one friendly woman was waiting for us, and she was very very friendly. I don´t know the name but thank you for your attencion and smiles all the time.

This hotel has a grocery and you can buy some foods and drinks (no beers because they don´t sell it over there) if you want to buy some beers you must go to campground five minutes away or in the next town.

Our room Nº 102 was very big, the furnitures was good, and the carpet looked very clean and , the room had one king bed, frigde, and tv (but not lcd tv). The room had air conditioning as well and it works properly.

The bathroom is big and we had enough amenities and fresh towels, the bathroom had a shower and the shower worked properly, also this bathroom is ready for disability people.


Finally, When I made this reservation the Grand Staircase Inn sent me this e-mail:

"The staff at Grand Staircase Inn is excited to have you come and stay with us. We are confident your stay will be a memorable one"

And it is true, They got it 100%. I recomend this hotel and this place because it was amazing place and great hotel

PS: If you need some gasoline for your car you can refill your car over there because there are two pumps close to the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Polcio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    229
    85
    10
    5
See reviews for
142
256
25
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Very friendly people run this hotel. It is a bit of a drive from Bryce but on interesting roads. Breakfast of toast and coffee are part of the deal. Don't miss highway UT12, a sensational drive. I was impressed by the heating & cooling system running off a series of underground pipes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krooble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

We are a bit biased as the owners were just incredibly nice.

We stayed an overnight in a 'lovers' room' and it was just great. We were travelling from the Canyonlands NP towards Bryce Canyon and this was our stopover for the night. We got there pretty late (8:30pm) and there is literally nothing nearby as in restaurants or bars. The owners quickly offered to make us a fantastic pepperoni pizza that literally saved our lives as we were travelling the whole day without proper food.

The room was quite ok, with a jacuzzi that we did not use at the end. Bed was comfy, internet was quick enough, and the stars are just blazing on the clear sky.

We got nice recommendations from the owners and would definitely return if we are in the area once again!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ka0z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
117 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

100 miles from Capitol Reef on Magnificent U 12, at the corner of Kodachrome and Bryce, and Red Canyon. 4 Large Fluffy Towels, 2 King Beds amazing engineering in cooling and heating out here in the middle of one big beautiful away from it all place. Hiking. This is trailhead into base of Peek-a-Boo in Bryce, Mossy Cave, Willis Creek, and 35 miles up U12, Hole in the Rock Road. This is not a last resort stop. This is a spend several days and return often place. If you want a Holiday Inn, stay on the Interstates.

Room Tip: Most rooms are upstairs. One down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

The pictures on the hotel web site are real but misleading. See the photos on this site. The room we stayed in was large but devoid of anything modern or stylish. To be fair ,the bathroom had been remodeled and the room was clean, but everything else was substandard. The furniture looked like rejected items from Goodwill. An old faux suede recliner, a small chest of drawers and some odd looking steel frame love seat looking contraption that looked like it was new in the 50's sitting in front of a headboard bolted to the wall (for a bed that used to be there). The "closet" consists of a steel bar under the wooden TV shelf that supports a vintage 18" tube type TV. The view out the single window is of a dumpster and large Sinclair sign ( the motel is also a gas station). Entry is via an industrial looking outdoor stair well surrounded by bags of rock salt, ladders, buckets, and other items. The entry door on the second floor has two large holes bored into it for a door handle and lock, but instead a panic bar is bolted over top of the holes. In the large hallway outside the rooms is a table with a small microwave oven next to a basket of rags. Surprisingly, I did see an old lady in her house coat out in the hallway heating up something. Very strange. Someone mentioned creepy. I'd say this fits. There are few places to stay in this area outside Bryce and this assures steady business for pretty much any motel. No competition means little incentive to fix up and clean up. This place is at the end of the road in more ways than one. It is OK if you can find nothing else, but manage your expectations or you will be disappointed when you see it.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaTraveler1288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

The reviews make this hotel sound like it's something really special. Actually, we found it to be just average...and that's being generous. Out in the middle of nowhere, 11 miles from Bryce Canyon, not even scenic in its immediate area. The room was large, but felt awkward with its very high ceiling, a huge bulky recliner that I was afraid to sit in, a strange looking chest of drawers with one of the pulls broken, almost no space to hang clothes, and it was very poorly lit. No lamp or bedside table at all on the wall side of the bed. One microwave out in the cavernous hallway for everyone to use. It just didn't feel comfortable to me.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jilleeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

It looks a bit creepy and isolated from the outside, but don't worry, once inside your room you'll feel comfortable and relieved! The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful and there is a large general store downstairs to pick up food and snacks for the road. The room itself was huge, clean, and comfortable with a beautiful view over Grand Staircase park. The bathroom was modern and clean, the fridge a major convenience, and the air conditioning strong! About a 20 minute drive from Bryce Canyon, I would recommend visiting the Mossy Cave Trail on the way to/from the hotel. While the hotel seemed to be full while we were there, it was extremely quiet all night. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DovPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannonville
9.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruby's Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,391 reviews
9.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
4.0 mi away
Bryce Pioneer Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Stone Canyon Inn
Stone Canyon Inn
#1 of 5 in Tropic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
4.3 mi away
Red Ledges Inn
Red Ledges Inn
#3 of 5 in Tropic
3.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
4.2 mi away
Bryce Canyon Inn
Bryce Canyon Inn
#2 of 6 in Tropic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Staircase Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Staircase Inn

Property: Grand Staircase Inn
Address: 105 North Kodachrome Drive, Cannonville, UT 84718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Cannonville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cannonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Staircase Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Staircase Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Staircase Hotel Cannonville
Grand Staircase Cannonville
Grand Staircase Inn Cannonville, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing