We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base camp for Bryce and Kodachrome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Staircase Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cannonville
Certificate of Excellence
Sandy, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect base camp for Bryce and Kodachrome”
Reviewed April 23, 2011

We thouroughly enjoyed our stay at The Grand Staircase Inn. We have 3 teenagers and were able to get adjoining rooms. The rates are very affordable. We had internet(yes). We have been to this area many times and have stayed many different places, this hotel is situated in the perfect spot for exploring the area. We were 15 minutes from Bryce, and about 40 minutes from Escalante. We spent most of our time exploring the slot canyons out around Kodachrome (Willis Creek,Bull Valley Gorge,Round Valley Draw, Cottonwood narrows). There is a store connected to the hotel and gas also. Food is right up the road in Tropic. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbaker33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    248
    93
    11
    5
See reviews for
157
275
25
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, NV
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2011

We wanted to stay somewhere quiet on our honeymoon, and even by the Bryce area standards of quietness, this place is nice and isolated. The building has a homey feel to it, and the people who manage it are really friendly. Our room had a sink and jacuzzi tub in the main room but off to the side, and the bed was massive and so soft, we both slept like babies.

It's in range of plenty of the places to hike, and Tropic isn't too far so we have choices for restaurants and stuff. There's also a grocery/convenience store downstairs so we won't have to wander for food if we want to make our own meals.

We'll be coming back specifically to stay at this place in the future.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrahamBradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2010

Clean and comfortable. Wanted a lower cost motel for Bryce Canyon hiking trip. Paid $76 (tax included) for double-queen room set-up. Room was very large and had mini-fridge (not all rooms do, so ask). All double-queen rooms are on 2nd floor. WiFi worked fine. Friendly, helpful staff and live-in owners (there is a "red-phone" at entrance we were encouraged to use at night if we needed anything - we didn't, but it was nice of them to offer). Website did not mention that breakfast was included, so the free toast and coffee was a bonus! Drive to Bryce was easy and not long. Convenience Store and gas pumps handy since no restaurants in town. There are cheaper places closer to Bryce Canyon, but many get bad reviews for service and facilities. For perspective, we stay in 4 and 5 star hotels when traveling on business over 100 days a year, but travel much more economically when WE have to pay the bills. Our high ranking of Grand Staircase is based on what it is supposed to deliver: no frills, clean, friendly, comfortable, low-cost stay. From pictures, you can see they take great care to be sure Grand Staircase is clean. A dirty room is no value at any price. Don't forget to leave a tip for your housekeeper! Only "wish": Coffee maker in rooms would be nice, but we survived walk downstairs for free, fresh coffee.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany In
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2010

My wife and I traveled for two weeks thru Utah and found the Grand Staircase to be a pleasant suprise. The off season rate was unbeatable. Don`t let the outside of the building fool you, in that it does not look like a hotel. The rooms were unusually large and very clean. The beds were comfortable and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The only disadvantage is that the building is three stories with no elevator.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpecracerNewAlbanyIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

We booked here as we were visiting Bryce Canyon National Park and as we were doing so at short notice there was nowhere closer available.

It is basic. Like other reviews have said, it is unusual in that part of the hotel is a gas station and convenience store. However, the room was huge and clean and suited our needs. The only grumble is that because of location and therefore demand, you pay a lot for not a lot. The breakfast is about as simple as you can get, and I am surprised they provide it.

If we were in the same situation again we would consider staying here as it is only about 25 minutes drive to Bryce Canyon, and the food in Tropic, about 10 minutes away, is okay. One tip, if driving in the dark between Tropic and Cannonville, take care as there appear to be a lot of deer crossing the road to get to the river.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AandA2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

First: our room DID have a fridge, so maybe not all rooms have them. Staff is courteous and room/bath very clean. This place was really quiet, which is very important to us. Good location for visiting Kodachrome Basin SP, Bryce Canyon NP, Grand Staircase NM. No restaurants here, but there are in Escalante (1st choice, although it is further) and Tropic. Don't expect to come to this area for dazzling cuisine -- just dazzling scenery and hiking. Another dining option is the lodge at Bryce, which does a decent job. The hotel provides a complimentary "toast and coffee" downstairs -- but plan on bringing your own breads or pastries. You can buy yogurt or better bread at the store downstairs also. We basically made our own breakfasts. Or you can drive into Tropic to eat breakfast -- it's only 4 miles. We would stay here again -- no frills, but quiet, clean, and friendly people. Lots of Europeans stay here, so they must get good press in the European travel guides.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Toner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2010

The rooms were very large and clean but lacking in many standard amenities such as fridge, hairdryer, coffee-maker or way to heat water (microwave in hallway). This is a $40/night room for $100 and feels like a hostel. No restaurants in Cannonville but hotel has a small food store and gas. Last minute trip planning meant this was the only room available for Bryce Canyon.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhysabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannonville
9.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
9.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
4,910 reviews
4.3 mi away
Red Ledges Inn
Red Ledges Inn
#3 of 5 in Tropic
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Bryce Pioneer Village
4.7 mi away
Stone Canyon Inn
Stone Canyon Inn
#1 of 5 in Tropic
630 reviews
22.2 mi away
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
#3 of 14 in Panguitch
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Staircase Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Staircase Inn

Property: Grand Staircase Inn
Address: 105 North Kodachrome Drive, Cannonville, UT 84718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Cannonville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cannonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Staircase Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Staircase Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Staircase Hotel Cannonville
Grand Staircase Cannonville
Grand Staircase Inn Cannonville, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing