We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best park in the area”

Kodachrome Basin State Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Forested park with camping facilities.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best park in the area”
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Like most travelers, we visited the two big parks in the area (Zion and Bryce Canyon) but it was Kodachrome that surprised us with it's stunning colors and quiet, intimate charm. We hiked the Angels Palace Trail, which takes about an hour, and during sunset provides majestic scenery of both sides of the park. Well worth the visit and hike if you are in the Bryce/Tropic area. Also, Grosvenor Arch is 11 miles away from Kodachrome's entrance. Meander down the dirt road for an additional treat, but be warned - its bumpy and takes a while.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank wagz954422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    139
    36
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
313 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Underutilized park - try to spend a full day here.”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I had no idea of the beauty of Kodachrome when I planned our Utah trip and only set aside about 1/2 day to visit there. I would plan on a full day as we only hiked a little more than the three mile loop of the Panorama Trail, and then also hiked to Shakespeare Arch. The views were fantastic and there were very few people to contend with. It is a short drive from Bryce Canyon and other places and is well worth setting aside the time for.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank parksvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Sleeping Surrounded by Beauty”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was our first visit to this Utah State Park. Although some of the spaces a quite small, and some pull-through sites are backwards (your RV door faces the road instead of the campsite), we were please to have gotten one of the largest spaces in the park, site 14. We spend 6 nights here, and I think we could have easily stayed six more. We spent a couple of those days right here in the park hiking the various trails and enjoying the beautiful landscape of this park. On the other days we visited the sites nearby, Bryce Canyon, Red Canyon and the Grand Staircase-Escalante National Monument.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MeMovieGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
177 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Nice state park”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We hiked the Panorama Loop Trail, which was about 6 miles, with very moderate elevation changes. "Cool Cave" was a highlight, and once out of sight of the park road, saw only a couple of other hikers. The park has some unique features, and serves as a nice warm up to nearby Bryce Canyon NP. Worth a stop.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Seattleflyer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Beautiful state park, with about 10 miles of trails along with picnic and camping areas. The campground was full, but the park did not feel crowded. Sunday, I hiked for 2 hours before I saw anyone else.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Edith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kodachrome Basin State Park also viewed

 
Bryce Canyon National Park, UT
 

Been to Kodachrome Basin State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing