We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It has running water and indoor plumbing :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Defiance House Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bullfrog
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It has running water and indoor plumbing :)”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed here for one night prior to embarking our house boat. The room was dated and sub par - there were cigarette holes in the bedspread and the soap/lotion dispensers in the bathroom didn't work. They did have some disposable toothbrushes and toothpaste packets that were complimentary at the front desk and that was greatly appreciated since ours somehow did not get packed.
We ate twice in the restaurant (dinner and breakfast) and the food was tasty but service was very slow and the place was close to empty. We had a party of 12 and the entrees would come out randomly, spaced apart by 5 to 10 minutes.
My husband and I traveled with our children ages 10, 8, 6 and 6 and this was an OK place to stay for the night, especially since it was the only option. I would not ever consider a full vacation here. I have heard that the other side of the lake (Arizona, Wahweap marina) has much nicer resorts. I would go with that if you are not planning to camp or houseboat the lake.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jilly6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    53
    25
    7
    8
See reviews for
46
52
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aspen, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We have been visiting Powell since 1997, we used to rent houseboats but became to expensive and a lot of work, trying to get 10-12 people on the same page :) We started staying at Defiance about 5 years ago :) Its awesome to play on the Boat all day and be able to have a room and take a shower and have the AC on HIGH :) The Hotel rooms are clean and have nice linens & beds..And it has WiFi :) Nothing better then that :) yes if the restaurant was in my town I wouldn't go.. But its in the middle of NO where and has GREAT views and a GREAT staff and GREAT Pina Colada's .. So at the end of our HOT day on the lake it ROCKS.. We have been 5 times this year and can't wait to go back in 3 weeks :)

Room Tip: All room are VERY quite :) I preferred the up stairs rooms, just because I have been in Hotel's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

During a very busy Memorial Day weekend, this hotel was clean, comfortable and quiet. Very few amenities, but you're there for fun on the lake. Restaurant was pretty good too. Had a great burger and the ribs were perfect.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank brucewiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

This is an old property with apparent "DIY" efforts to fix it up with some pine boards and cheap tile, which results in "ok" or adaquate. The new minifridge door would catch on the cabinet enclosure. The floors are creaky, and the place needs a very through, professional cleaning, and professional renovation. The linens and bath were clean. There were "out of service" labels on the ice machine. The overall feel is a dorm or "company" lodge. BUT, for being in the middle of no-where, on Lake Powell, with great views, it is good. The food at the restaurant matches the lodge, so-so. Consider grilling your own steaks/burgers and enjoy the view! There is a wonderful "porch" with rocking chairs to enjoy sunset over the water! Yes, will stay again if a hotel is needed in Bullfrog!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MountainJitney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

I will be changing my vacation plans to Bullfrog from now on. Defiant house couldn't be better! But stay away from Anasazi restaurant. Tiny portions that seem to be poorly put together using grocery store snack packs, at a hugely inflated price. Tried twice to give them another chance. Then ate at the gas station. :(

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gkgtchey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, UT
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We always enjoy staying at the Lodge and enjoying the great food at the restaurant. We houseboat a lot but find it so enjoyable to just enjoy the lake from the hotel on occasion. We stay at least once a year and have never been disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jordan
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Sidney Smith and his staff are the greatest. They will help out any way they possibly can, to make sure your visit is a posuitive experence. The newley remodled rooms are great and the food is vey good. If you get a chance to visit Bullfrog Lodge make sure you do it , you won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tourneyinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Defiance House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Defiance House Lodge

Property: Defiance House Lodge
Address: Highway 276, Bullfrog, UT 84533
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Bullfrog
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bullfrog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Defiance House Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Defiance House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Defiance House Hotel Bullfrog
Defiance Hotel Bullfrog
Defiance House Lodge Bullfrog, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing