We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was AMAZING!! We will be back!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Defiance House Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bullfrog
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Amazing place. Very clean rooms.Very nice staff The view from our room was great. This hotel is pet frendly as well. We have kids and they can't wait to go back next summer. We only stayed for 3 nights so the only thing to make this trip better would be to have stayed longer! LOVED IT!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 147 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2011

Lake Powell is such a magic place. The defiance House Lodge is the only Hotel in this area, but it is surprisingly good. Very good breakfast buffet and very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aspenmountainskiamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

It was our 1st time at Lake Powell so we decided to stay at Defiance House Lodge because we didn't know what to expect for tent camping. It was late Sept so not too crowded or expensive. Rooms were nice although our slider didn't lock and our room keys had to be reprogrammed the second day. I noticed others had the same problem but the front desk sent someone immediately. The restaurant is very good and we never had to wait too long. We watched the sunset while we dined and had our coffee in the rockers out on their deck in the morning. We rented a boat slip at the Marina to store our boat overnight and although they did have a courtesy shuttle from the marina to the hotel it would be nice if they built a boat dock at the hotel for guest only overnight slip rentals. Lake Powell is AWESOME! There's jaw dropping scenery around every corner and up every canyon. We will def go back but I think we've spoiled ourselves by staying in the lodge our 1st visit! :)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Defiance Lodge is a great alternative to camping at Bullfrog. They have a very good restaurant and bar, clean comfortable rooms, excellent views and convenient parking. I stay here every year, love it and will continue to come back. I would suggest staying overnight just prior to getting on a houseboat or if you just have Jet Ski's it's a great place to stay for a week.

Room Tip: 2nd floor has better view and less noise. After Labor Day is a great week with slightly cooler tempe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Considering this is the only hotel and restaurant at Bullfrog Marina, I would have to say it was actually pretty nice. We were thinking the restaurant would just be so-so, but it was very good. The hotel rooms were clean and neat and the view was spectacular......just wish the houseboat we rented would have been as good as the hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MP2NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

This is a great place to get away. we wanted to have a week at Powell and did not want to camp. this is a great option, easy access and what a fun staff. the restaurant is great, rooms are clean and the location is stunning. i would recommend this for any family that wants some great fun in the sun.

Room Tip: every rtoom is awesome. the bottom parking lot side is great if you have lots of stuff to move in an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

This hotel is way overpriced for what you get, ($160 with taxes for 2 Queens) but I guess since it has no competition they can charge what they want. The next hotel option is an hour away in Hanksville. We were camping, and were forced to the hotel when a wind storm on the beach destroyed our tent. We were glad for the hotel nearby otherwise would have had to cut our trip short. It was clean and adequate although the staff were not especially friendly. They allow pets, which would be a bonus if we'd been traveling with our dog, and have a fridge and microwave, too. There is no continental breakfast, but there is a restaurant on site which we didn't try. The hotel has nice views of the red rocks and the lake from a covered patio and is just a few minutes from the boat launch to get on the water in the morning.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emilybI1636TS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Defiance House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Defiance House Lodge

Address: Highway 276, Bullfrog, UT 84533
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Bullfrog
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bullfrog
Price Range: $100 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Defiance House Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Defiance House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Defiance House Hotel Bullfrog
Defiance Hotel Bullfrog
Defiance House Lodge Bullfrog, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing