We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here every year!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Defiance House Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bullfrog
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Defiance Lodge is a great alternative to camping at Bullfrog. They have a very good restaurant and bar, clean comfortable rooms, excellent views and convenient parking. I stay here every year, love it and will continue to come back. I would suggest staying overnight just prior to getting on a houseboat or if you just have Jet Ski's it's a great place to stay for a week.

Room Tip: 2nd floor has better view and less noise. After Labor Day is a great week with slightly cooler tempe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 148 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2011

Considering this is the only hotel and restaurant at Bullfrog Marina, I would have to say it was actually pretty nice. We were thinking the restaurant would just be so-so, but it was very good. The hotel rooms were clean and neat and the view was spectacular......just wish the houseboat we rented would have been as good as the hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MP2NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

This is a great place to get away. we wanted to have a week at Powell and did not want to camp. this is a great option, easy access and what a fun staff. the restaurant is great, rooms are clean and the location is stunning. i would recommend this for any family that wants some great fun in the sun.

Room Tip: every rtoom is awesome. the bottom parking lot side is great if you have lots of stuff to move in an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

This hotel is way overpriced for what you get, ($160 with taxes for 2 Queens) but I guess since it has no competition they can charge what they want. The next hotel option is an hour away in Hanksville. We were camping, and were forced to the hotel when a wind storm on the beach destroyed our tent. We were glad for the hotel nearby otherwise would have had to cut our trip short. It was clean and adequate although the staff were not especially friendly. They allow pets, which would be a bonus if we'd been traveling with our dog, and have a fridge and microwave, too. There is no continental breakfast, but there is a restaurant on site which we didn't try. The hotel has nice views of the red rocks and the lake from a covered patio and is just a few minutes from the boat launch to get on the water in the morning.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emilybI1636TS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

I guess when you're the only hotel at Bullfrog, UT at beautiful Lake Powell you can be average and charge what you want and, well, you get my drift, right?
Totally average, maybe not overpriced considering remote location.
Just stayed there last week for 4 nights. Had a blast on the lake. Rooms with two queens are OK, and they will get you a roll away so you can squeeze in 5. Small fridege, microwave, and DVD player in room to an old 25 inch tube TV with 15 channels. Oh well, we were very tired each night, so it doesn't matter as much.
Renovations occurred probably 5 years ago, and it's pretty so-so at this pint. Like maybe a 2.5 star hotel. Nothing like a resort though. Also, one restaurant that is very good, but very slow - plan on over an hour.
I think that Aramark who runs things at Lake Powell for the government had some competition. Seems like they don't worry about it.

Room Tip: Actually, we like the ground floor rooms facing the parking lot as there is no elevator and one long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BradandSuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We have stayed here several times and they have been consistently a pleasurable experience. Views are fabulous, meals are tasty and prepared to your preferences . The rooms do have an occasional local bug that has found a way into it, but that is the desert and the nature of the area, plus it adds to the excitement when the wife discovers that it is in the bathroom with her wanting to share a shower with her. Wish I had a video of the dance. The staff is very helpful with ideas to enhance your trip on the lake.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1sonnyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

I would say it's a bit easy to find this hotel nicer than it is in reality becuase of its stunning surroundings.

The hotel is very basic, far too expensive (although I am sure they have high costs becuase of location) but perfectly situated. If you want to stay on Lake Mead but don't have your own sleeping arrangements (remember this is also very much a boating/liveaboad/camping area) then the Definance is the only opton in this area. There is nothing to complain about per se, but it's dated, and just nothing to write home about. (The restaurant is quite nice outside on the terrace, mind you...but shuts early).

The staff are all perfectly nice; I think they do the season and get a place to stay, but don't really have much interest apart from earning summer money (this is not to say they are bad, just feel like they are not - understandably - that interested as I imagine they work very hard for not much in return)

So my summary is, if you have to stay here do, if you want to stay on Lake Mead for a night or two, then do, and if you stumble upon the place by mistake (like I did) then do. But don't make a trip here out of your way just to stay here because you think it'll be a perfect getaway.

By the way, if you have it in you, and have a 4x4, then drive at least some of the Burr Trail (up the road from the entry gate to the Bullfrog Area) as it's stunning.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andersaxson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Defiance House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Defiance House Lodge

Address: Highway 276, Bullfrog, UT 84533
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Bullfrog
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bullfrog
Price Range: $99 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Defiance House Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Defiance House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Defiance House Hotel Bullfrog
Defiance Hotel Bullfrog
Defiance House Lodge Bullfrog, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing