We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tipi adventure”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bryce
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ruby's Inn Campground and RV Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013

During our trip we camped mostly, but for this one night at Bryce just didn't make sense to set up whole camp, so we decided go for a tipi. The rain was coming so we asked the man at the check-in if we should switch for a cabin. He said we are going to be just fine, and if it will rain hard we can get a bucket and put in the center of a tipi, so the rain would drop into it.

The tent was big with nice door at the entrance, but it was located right on the road, so we could hear the cars at night ( I have no clue who was driving and where in the middle of the night). The free wi-fi didn't reach our tipi, but the worse was about to come... it was raining at night, but it wasn't too bad. Around 4 am it started pouring down, we moved our mats and sleeping beds as close to the wall as we could, and we tried to sleep. Soon it started dripping all over the place, not just in the center, the rain was leaking along the wooden beams and driping everywhere. Around 5, I was still awake and pissed, it was cold, maybe 50F, so I didn't get my sleeping bag wet. We moved to the car and squeezed waited till 6 am...

It was an uncomfortable night and lost 42 bucks. My overall rating doesn't show how bad was it. I had to give place a justice considering very nice bathrooms they have. Clean, warm and nicely done. Nothing over the top, but very reasonable for a campsite. No limits of hot water. Bathrooms were also available with a fee for people who didn't stay at the campsite.

So if its raining, don't take a tipi, take a cabin or stay in the car.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tlent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary D, Manager at Ruby's Inn Campground and RV Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Tient,

So sorry to hear about your water-logged night in the Tipi! Under normal rain conditions the Tipis hold up well, but if there is a crazy down pour, such as the one you described, the Tipis can get wet. I do apologize for your experience though and I would be happy to give you a free night if you come back to visit us. Glad you had a time otherwise and were able to experience the wonders of Bryce Canyon Country.

Best Regards,

Cary Deccio, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (767)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

516 - 522 of 767 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a very large RV camp just outside of the Park – they sell park passes etc at the RV site. No discounts are offered (Good Sam, Serving Forces etc) and so all campers pay what is a high fee for an RV camp and at least twice that of a camp site in the park (if there is one free). Roads around the RV park are tarmac and lead to gravel sites between trees – ours was a very tight fit at a difficult angle and sites seemed to be closer together than I have experienced elsewhere in a forest setting. Free WIFI is offered but the speed was very slow, and it hardly worked during peak evening hours - I suspect if the park were to be full, it would be unusable most of the day. Washing and drying costs $3.75 and there are plenty of machines and they work well. There is a heating swimming pool and other things for children to do. There is an ATM with a fee of just over $2. The camp store is reasonably large and contains most of what you might want and some things not seen in more general stores. Check-in was business like. There is some noise from the nearby road but little at night. I cannot think of a reason as to why you should not stay here – it does what an RV camp should do.

Room Tip: check on the actual size of you allocated site before you accept it, some are smaller than you might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary D, Manager at Ruby's Inn Campground and RV Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review. We appreciate your feedback and comments. You are correct - our rates are higher than the National Park camp sites. Part of this is because those sites are subsidized by our tax dollars and part of it is because our sites are full hook up and we have many amenities the park doesn't enjoy, such as a pool and hot tub. Each year I do an extensive rate comparison and review to make sure that we are in line with rates at similar properties. We are not the highest and not the lowest - which is where I want to be, compared to similar properties in gateway communities at places such as The Grand Canyon, Sedona, Zion National Park, Durango Colorado, and Moab. Of course it is up to you, the consumer, to decide if the rates we are charging are too high or if you are receiving "value" for your dollar. I believe in our product and I believe that our guests do receive "value" for the money they spend.

We have constantly upgraded our Wi-Fi system over the last three years. It is still a developing technology and there are certain "obstacles" in a campground that you won't find in a hotel, for example. We will continue to upgrade and improve our Wi-Fi capabilities for our guests. I know that is an important service for travelers at this time.

Thank you again for your feedback and please come back again!

Sincerely,

Cary Deccio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed at Ruby's Inn before but used their RV & Campground for the first time on this trip. They of course have RV sites with hook ups and also have small rental cabins. Check their website for those fees. We camped this time and couldn't be happier. Price was $30 for the one night. This time of year there were plenty of sites to pick from.
Very convienent and close to the Bryce National Park entrance. What we appreciated most was the cleanliness and condition of the restrooms and shower rooms. Bring your own towel and shower supplies. There is also a laundry and a pool. So it has a lot going for it. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary D, Manager at Ruby's Inn Campground and RV Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Road Bob,

I really liked reading your review and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay here. We take great pride in our product and want to pass that on to our guests. I believe we have one of the finest campgrounds I have visited and you can't beat our amenities and location. Thanks again and best wishes.

Cheers!

Cary Deccio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I've camped in Bryce national park but this was the first time at Ruby's. We were in tipi #10. It was nice and away from other campers. (There is a group of tipis but this one was in a different part of the campground by itself). My only minor complaint is that other campers were curious and would wander down the long gravel road into our site. Perhaps they thought it was a campground attraction (like the gazebo directly behind it) and not someone's site. It would be great if the owners could post a sign at the end of the gravel driveway, something about respecting privacy. There's a door with 1 tie so people can easily peek in. Nothing was moved or taken so it seems people were just curious.

The kids really enjoyed it! I noticed in other reviews people commented on the lack of cleanliness and/or bugs. I'm wondering if the people who wrote the reviews were expecting more of a hotel than a campsite. Anyone who has camped should expect a small amount of dirt and bugs. We literally saw 3 small spiders in the tipi in the two nights we were there. Not bad! I'd stay there again. You have access to both indoor and outdoor pools. The showers were clean.

Room Tip: If you stay in a tipi, pick #10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geogirl7272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary D, Manager at Ruby's Inn Campground and RV Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Geo Girl,

Thank you for staying with us last summer and thank you for posting a review! So glad you enjoyed the tipis and the kids had fun. I will certainly follow your suggestion and make sure we emphasize "privacy" to our guests. We don't have too many incidents, but some people just need to understand boundaries. Thanks again and come back to visit us in the future.

Best Regards,

Cary Deccio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

This place is huge but we didn't have to wait long for service. Our room was clean and the bed was fine. We chose to use the grocery store and ate salads in the room. Nice choice if you want to visit Bryce.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rkl610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary D, Manager at Ruby's Inn Campground and RV Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

I will forward your review to the Hotel Manager at Ruby's Inn. Thank you for your input and for placing a review online.

Best Regards,

Cary Deccio, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed here in july 2013 for just 1 night, we had a 30' RV. What a great place, the RV pull throughs were well spaced and there was a firepit and picnic bench. The staff in the registration office were very friendly and helpful. Toilets and showers were ok (its people who are dirty and leave a mess!!)wifi was alittle dodgy but as I later found out this was to be the case at most other campsites .....would I come back here....YES

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Mungomini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary D, Manager at Ruby's Inn Campground and RV Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Happy Camper,

What a great review! Very descriptive and expressive. I appreciate your endorsement and I'm glad you had a good experience while staying with us. Please come back again and say "Hello."

Cheers!

Cary Deccio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The site is clean and well maintained with a number of eateries nearby. It is also just outside the Bryce Canyon park. Wifi weak to no good.
.................................................................................

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil61a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary D, Manager at Ruby's Inn Campground and RV Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We do our best so that guests will have fun. We have lots of great activities and amenities here, including the Bryce Canyon shuttle stop. Having the shuttle right on site sure makes it easy for guests to access the National Park. I hope you were able to check out the Bar G wranglers at Ebenezer's Barn and Grill. It'a a fantastic dinner show with Wester music.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bryce
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
5,213 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
4.0 mi away
Bryce Canyon Pines
Bryce Canyon Pines
#2 of 6 in Bryce
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Stone Canyon Inn
Stone Canyon Inn
#1 of 5 in Tropic
653 reviews
13.7 mi away
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
#3 of 14 in Panguitch
567 reviews
9.0 mi away
Grand Staircase Inn
Grand Staircase Inn
#1 of 1 in Cannonville
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruby's Inn Campground and RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruby's Inn Campground and RV Park

Address: 300 South Main Street, Bryce, UT 84764
Location: United States > Utah > Bryce
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Bryce
Price Range: $20 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ruby's Inn RV Park and Campground is your perfect base for exploring Bryce Canyon Country. With over 150 full hook up sites, tent sites, cabins, and Native American tipis, we have you covered for an old west camping experience. On site amenities include a free Bryce Canyon shuttle (seasonal), heated outdoor pool and hot tub, coin operated laundry, propane dispensing, groceries and camp supplies, RV parts, firewood for sale, free Wi-Fi, Cable TV (select sites), and access to the activities at the Ruby's Inn resort. We are located only one mile from the entrance to Bryce Canyon and we're also close to other scenic wonders such as Zion National Park (80 miles), Capital Reef National Park (121 miles), Lake Powell, Kodachrome Basin State Park, Cedar Breaks National Monument, and the Grand Staircase Escalante National Monument. Relax up in the cool pines at Ruby's Inn RV Park and Campground! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ruby`s Inn Campground And Rv Park Hotel Bryce
Ruby's Inn Campground And RV Park Bryce, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing