We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Lodge at Bryce Canyon(Bryce Canyon National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn(Bryce Canyon City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Reviews (3,997)
Filter reviews
3,997 results
Traveler rating
1,746
1,592
476
130
53
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,746
1,592
476
130
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsruby's inndouble sinksnational parkbreakfast buffetnice hotelbest westernsrooms are largeyogurtlaundry roomthe breakfast areanice roomcomfortable bedsoutdoor poolhot tubgeneral storeshort drivefridge and microwave
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,218 - 2,223 of 3,997 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Lovely room with so-so breakfast and average soundproofing. New and very nice compared to the rather worn properties adjacent to the park border, but I do wonder how it will hold up over time under the deluge of tourists that Bryce attracts

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phototype
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Think twice about this place. Sure it's convenient, and the decor is absolutely lovely. That's where it ends. The soundproofing between rooms and between floors is terrible. If you are paying a premium price for this location, consider staying elsewhere, even if a few miles further away. Breakfast has many items, generally poorly prepared (example: the bacon is overcooked so as to crumble it into a salad dressing, not to enjoy with the eggs, which are dry, anyway). The ballet of serving/clean-up staff wearing surgical masks and latex gloves was an unappetizing sight, to say nothing of the huge trash cans on either end of the central buffet station. Yuck! The spa makes barely a ripple so don't count on any vigorous whilpool to relax in after your long drive or day hiking. The beds are super comfortable, and the bathrooms are great. But the lack of quiet between rooms is too much of a "must" to overlook if you want a good night's sleep. Try another property.

Room Tip: Go for a top-floor room to avoid noise overhead, and be careful to not accept a room that is interconnected to another. It's bad enough to be in a regular room, but the noise thorugh the doors is way too much.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Blaise122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is our 4th visit to Bryce Canyon (1973, 1989, 1996, and now 2012). The first 3 were camping but this time around we were moteling. In our first 3 visits we were very glad to be camping given that the only other option was Ruby's (waaay too expensive for us in those days) or some decaying 1930's era motels several miles away. in 1989 or 1996 there may have been another motel in town but I don't recall noticing it.

This time we had kind of just assumed we'd wind up at Ruby's Inn which was not something we were looking forward too. Not that it seemed like a bad place but the tackiness was enough to knock you over and we had information from a tour gude (who happens to be our son) that it is usally aswash with tour buses loaded with hoards of, guess what, tourists. Of course I suppose we're tourists as well, but I like to think of myself more as a "traveler" rather than a "tourist" (isn't semantics wonderful). Anyway, the thought of dealing with bus loads of "tourists' was not something we were looking forward to.

Well, upon investigation we found that they had built a new Best Western Plus, basically across the street from Ruby's so we jumped at it. As it turned out it was pretty much the same price as Ruby's. Ruby's was $15 cheaper but did not include breakfast. The Best Western was $15 more but comes with full breakfast so it's pretty much a wash cost wise.

This is a lovely hotel/motel. It has a central area with lobby, breakfast place, conference rooms, pool, etc., then on either side are 4 story wings with guest rooms. The central lobby and breakfast areas have open beam cielings that soar two stories high and the lobby has a nice warm fireplace by the lounge chairs. Very well decorated. Modern with a rustic feel and a very far cry from Tacky.

The rooms were great. Very large, nice size desk for laptop and other things one puts on desks, 2 queen beds, easy chair with ottoman, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, etc. The Air conditioning - Heat was controlled by a wall mounted thermostat and worked great. Even on high fan it was not too loud. The bathroom had a nice big counter (probably 8 to 10 feet long with double sinks. Off this area was another room (through a closable door) with the toilet and tub/shower. The toilet/tub/shower room was a bit tight but adequate. One of the few Motel/Hotels we've stayed out where we were not tripping over, or bumping into our suitcases.

The included breakfast was amazing. It's buffet but has pretty much everything you could ask for. Fresh Cooked fluffy scrambled eggs suasage, bacon, french toast, waffles, hot ceral, dry cerial, fresh fruit, yogurt, all sorts of breads, muffins, and bagles along with a conveyer belt toaster. Hot chocolate, coffee, several kinds of juices, etc. A really nice spread and very well done. Unfortunatly only open for breakfast. You need to go out of town, to the expensive resaurant at the lodge inside the national park or across the street to Ruby's to find dinner.

Our only complaint, minor as it is, is that there is no coffee service in the lobby. I'm a photographer and as such leave the motel before dawn, which sometimes is before the restauant opens for breakfast. Would be nice to be able to grab a cup of coffee in the lobby on the way out or at other times when breakfast is not being served - or even when it is if one just wants to grab a cup and not deal with the whole breakfast routine. Given that dawn was around 7:30am when we were there, we were able to retrun to the motel in time for the buffet breakfast which closes at 9:30 am as I recall.


Now, here's an interesting tid-bit. We had just come to Bryce from Zion (as a vast majority of people do). In Zion (Springdale) we stayed at a place called Bumbleberry Inn (which I also reviewed). For about the same price, the Bumbleberry at Zion was crummy, small, not well maintained and did not include breakfast whereas this Bryce Best Western had big rooms, is beautiful, modern, comfortable, and includes a fantastic breakfast. I can't figure this out since Bryce only has 3 motels (small supply) and Zion/Springdale has 30 or more motels (large supply) and each park I think has about the same number of visitors per day in the summer so one would think it would be the other way around. Oh, well.

One caution.... There are two "Best Western" motels in Bryce Canyon City. One is this one and the other one is Ruby's - be careful not to get them mixed up. In addition to these two there is a 3rd motel called "Bryce View Lodge" (which may also be a Best Western - I'm not sure). That one is right next door to the Best Western Plus I'm reviewing but looks more 50's - 60's style, is somewhat rundown and contrary to the name does not have a view of Bryce Canyon (neither do the other two or the lodge in the park).

This motel was a very needed addition to the Bryce Canyon City area.

Room Tip: No real stunning views to be had in any room so I guess it's just what floor you like.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Califdan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

As noted, your choices while visiting the Bryce area are limited. We chose this hotel because it seemed to be the best hotel in town, and overall we were happy with our selection.

The hotel has two wings, each with four stories. A lobby, breakfast room, pool, and spa are in the middle. The rooms are very spacious with a good desk area, lounge chair, and a large closet. There is also good drawer space, a microwave, and a decent sized refrigerator. The room was in good shape, but a little on the bland side in part because the overall color palette was brown. The bathroom had two sinks in a large area, while a shower/tub combination in the water closet area was a little tight. The one issue with our room was that it had a connecting door to the neighboring room. Our neighbors were not loud but you could still hear a fair amount of noise and you could pick up a little on their conversations if you wanted. The map of the hotel given to us at check showed that a lot of rooms in the hotel are connecting, but try to get one that is not if you don’t need it. It was also easy to hear hallway noise. It should also be noted that the when the door to the room is opened, a view into the bathroom is provided to the hallway. You may need to be careful when opening this door.

The large breakfast buffet was very good with a wide selection of items to choose from including really good sausages. The room setting was a big open area with a vague rustic look overlooking the pool area. The lighting was dim which gave the room a somewhat depressing feel to it, especially before sunrise. The lobby, however, had a large stone fireplace, better lighting and a true comfortable rustic look. It is really the only area to hang out in if you do not want to be in your room.

Other areas of the hotel included a decent sized pool and hot tub in a center courtyard. There was also a gym which provided basic workout needs at best, but it was nice to have the option available. There was a large channel selection on the TV and good free internet if you need help passing time before bed.

The location of the hotel makes for easy access to the park, just a five minute drive up the road. The hotel itself is surrounded by parking areas, and while there are some nice distant views, most rooms have uninspiring views. The food choices are limited as many people have said, but they are perfectly fine and most guests will only be in the area for a few days at most.

Finally, but important, the staff was friendly and helpful. It all combines to create a comfortable environment to stay while enjoying the amazing natural beauty in the area.

Room Tip: Try to get a non connecting room - if that works for your needs.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J_and_A_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

A very professionally run facility! This is a very large venue. There were always three people to greet customers at the front desk, so there was very little or no wait. The front desk people had great information to dispense to the Park visitors, and good restaurant recommendations. Check in and out was easy and quick.
The rooms are really huge! The beds are excellent, and the decorations of the rooms, while very commercial, are pleasing. The walls are thick. Never heard anyone above, below, or next to our room.
The breakfast, included, is in a large room and provides all sorts of choices. Eggs, pancakes, waffles, fruit, yogurt, breads, muffins...etc, etc.
It was a very short drive to the Park entrance. There is hugely abundant parking available.
In Oct., there were throngs of people staying here!
The heated pool, not used by us, attracted the teenagers and kids in the evening. At 9PM there was too much shouting and screaming to allow me to get to sleep. I complained to the front desk, and the noise stopped in a few minutes!
This is an excellent choice while visiting the gorgeous Bryce Canyon Nat'l Park. And my expedia price was only $98/night!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews