We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bryce Canyon Resort
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Bryce
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is a strange place. The name is misleading, it's a motel with a restaurant, it's not a resort. The room we had was gloomy. There are 3 lights in the room, 2 of them are wall lights set on a dark green wall, the other is a floor standing lamp. None of them had bight bulbs. By contrast there are 4 lights in the small room with the wash basin, and there are 6 lights in the even smaller shower/toilet area. The towels were grubby. The TV is ancient, but at least it worked, even though the picture quality was really poor. There is wifi only in the lobby and restaurant. No kettle or coffee maker in the room, but hot drinks are free in the lobby - but who wants to walk 50 yards to get 2 cups of hot liquid and carry them back to their room, up badly lit stairs (the light on the stairs didn't work)?
While I was using the wifi in the lobby some people walked in wanting a room for that night. The reception staff insisted that all they had available was a package of the room plus dinner plus the evenings entertainment of some country singers. I felt an attempt was being made to take advantage of there only being one room available that night.
Bryce Canyon is lovely. Bryce Canyon Resort isn't. I would advise people to avoid it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AWYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (613)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 613 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is NOT a resort. It's a motel. With that being said for a motel it's okay. Fortuneatly we only stayed 1 night. The bedrooms are very outdated!! There are tube tvs. The shower head is VERY low so even someone like me 5'4" had to bend down to get water on my head!!! The location is good because it's near the front of Bryce Canyon National Park. There are really not a lot of options in the area but if we go back this will not be where we stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory S, Owner at Bryce Canyon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Amanda we appreciate you taking the time to review our inn. We try not to be like the other hotels in the area that charge $300 a night. Rather we want to be a clean, comfortable alternative. As our motto says, Return to a Simple time.

Our furnishings are spartan and our decor may seem outdated, but our cleanliness, our hospitality and our friendliness we feel is what we can offer.

We thank you for your honest assessment and hope you enjoyed your visit to Bryce Canyon National Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I wouldnt be so harsh but we had paid good money for a 'rustic cabin' which was in essence a tatty old garden shed(a hundred dollars).Let's start with customer service,an unpleasant blond man behind the desk who clearly didnt give a damn wether we chose to stay there or not.In the restaurant the waiter who was an attentive and enthusiastic salesman at first became rude by the time we paid,incredulously asking "is it JUST the five dollar tip?"Breakfast was no better,having had the gall to ask a waitress(pleasantly and apologetically) for hot water and hot coffee rather than the luke warm offerings we were given,we were given the most hateful look that could certainly kill, ignored for ten minutes and given the same coffee that was now blisteringly hot from being zapped in the micro.I could go on about the room but to be honest it was so bad it was funny and I suppose sometimes its the crappy places that become embedded in your memory as"experiences".They sold the cabin as a shower only room and when i opened the bath taps it became clear why-a stream of orangey brown water spurted out.I slept surprisingly well,except for the ridiculously itchy sheets-I'd rather not know what the reason was for that,cheap detergentI hope..We woke up to a snow blizzard which meant we never saw Bryce Canyon, a long drive for nothing but memorable nonetheless!

Room Tip: Sleep in your car
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heledd e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We had a wonderful trip to Bryce Canyon but our stay at Bryce Canyon resort was terrible. I felt compelled to write a review so that maybe the owners will get rid of those musty carpets. A tiled floor would be much better. However, the restaurant was great!.... was surprised but the food at the restaurant was really good. I was not expecting too much but when you pay close $ 150 you expect something decent. unfortunately we were too late to book at Ruby's or the Best Western motels.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Rosh2970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I chose this place primarily because of price. After a couple of hours, I regretted it. There was no coffee maker, microwave or fridge in room. You had to ask for ice at the front desk. There were only 8 channels on the TV, not counting a shopping channel, TV directory and CSPAN. The rooms were dated, very. On the plus side the front desk clerk was nice at check in and they did have tea and coffee in the lobby.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WVU83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory S, Owner at Bryce Canyon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to review the inn. We fully admit we are not the Best Western Grand that charges $300 a night. We are a clean, comfortable affordable alternative.

For those looking for a friendly, clean hotel room to sleep while they enjoy the park we are the place.

I thank you for sharing with the TripAdvisor readers your thoughts on exactly whom we are.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and will visit the amazing Bryce Canyon again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I made the mistake of letting my husband book hotels this time, and how I paid for it DEARLY. Do not let the name fool you. This is not a resort. It is a MOTEL. Let's call it what it is. By the time I discovered the error, and wanted to cancel the reservation and book somewhere else it was too late. It's Memorial day weekend after all - there were no more vacancies anywhere else.
The only plus to this place is it's proximity to the park.

Cons:
1. It's a Motel - a $200-a-night Motel.
2. Most uncomfortable bed - you could feel the spring under you, and hear it squeak when you turn.
3. Towels were not absorbent at all and had an odor to it.
4. We had a fabulous view of the RV park.

Pros -
1. Beats camping in freezing temperature.
2. A step up from a hostel

Room Tip: There are no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravFiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We can provide two positive comments regarding this property. The locations is good. The staff is cordial and friendly. Unfortunately, that is where the positive comments end. We stayed here because all of the higher Trip Advisor rated properties were sold out.

The room was the worst we can remember staying in. It is in serious need of remodeling. The TV is a small screen analog. There is no wi-fi in the rooms. Some of their restaurant food was okay, some was awful. Restaurant staff was pleasant and friendly. There is also a Subway on the property. Make your reservations very early, so you have a choice.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory S, Owner at Bryce Canyon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

While we can emphathize with your need for internet in the guest rooms, our Motto is "No Cell Phones, No Internet -- Unplug and enjoy the Nature that abounds."

We make no apologies for not having internet. We feel that Bryce Canyon needs to be seen to experienced not viewed on Youtube in our rooms.

We do appreciate your comments and honest assessment of our inn. Im sorry we were not the type of facility you desired, but hope you did enjoy the majestic beauty of Bryce Canyon National Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bryce
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
5,322 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
3.3 mi away
Bryce Canyon Pines
Bryce Canyon Pines
#2 of 6 in Bryce
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Bryce Pioneer Village
10.2 mi away
Grand Staircase Inn
Grand Staircase Inn
#1 of 1 in Cannonville
568 reviews
13.2 mi away
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
#3 of 14 in Panguitch
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryce Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryce Canyon Resort

Address: 13500 E Hwy 12, Bryce, UT 84764
Location: United States > Utah > Bryce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Bryce
Price Range: $63 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bryce Canyon Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This rustic resort offers the charm of yesteryear. Escape from the hustle and bustle of the hi-tech world and return to a time when Cowboys road horses through the outback of the Wild West.Visit the hiding places of Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid or hike the hoodoos of Byrce Canyon. No matter what your visit, leave your cares at the door and escape to this charming inn.After a long day, saddle up to the bar and ask the bartender for any icy cold beer to wash away the dust. Or enjoy a thick juicy steak at the Cowboy Ranch House Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Bryce Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryce Canyon Hotel Bryce
Canyon Bryce
Bryce Canyon Resort Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing