We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, peaceful retreat”
Review of Cedar Breaks Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cedar Breaks Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Brian Head
Reviewed February 7, 2011

After staying here, cabins nearby and the Grand Lodge(too cramped; feels like a Standard or Hilton), I think this is your best bet in Brian Head at a great value. I adore cedar breaks b/c it's always calm and "lodgey," ie, you get the best of both worlds here--ameneties of a condo, a welcoming bar/restaurant and a great pool/spa.

I hate cooking while on ski vacays(you might want to, after trying restaurants surrounding the lodges in Brian Head), but the 1/2 kitchen setup here is great when off for a week or so. Dining: for edible food, eat here or at the Grand Lodge steakhouse or roll down to Cedar City.

Decor here is spacious like the older spots in Vale, etc. After several visits in the fall and spring, I'm yet blown away by the serene energy here. Visiting with friends here is always great b/c the spacious setup here(bar, couches, side-lobby, superb restaurant that looks the way a lodge's should) guarantees free space to relax--which is my entire basis for choosing Brian Head. Unlike the resorts in Park City, a view of the slopes here is a given if you ask nicely. My only complaint: living rooms could be bigger in single rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjaylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 403 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2010

We were told by the advertising that this was a good base location to see the national parks in Southern Utah. This is true if you like long drives and are OK with changing plans if the weather closes in. The most direct route from Brian Head to the parks is through Cedar Breaks at 10,450 feet. Low clouds can create dense fog, rain, or snow. Roads can be closed with little or no warning. Kanab would be a much better base for the major national and state parks.
The one bedroom unit was decorated beautifuly, but not suited for the "sleeps 6" that it claimed. The dishes and dining table would only handle 4, and the kitchen was so small that only one person could do anything there at a time. The space was so tight that the kitchen trash can was in the dining area. The bathroom had a jetted tub but no hooks for robes or clothing and very little counter space around the single sink. It was fine for two but could be a problem for more than that. On the plus side the staff were GREAT!! My major complaint was communication - phone calls out of Brian Head were $1 plus long distance charges, cell phone reception was limited, and the current charge for internet service was $29.95 for the week!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PropertyPartner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

My husband and I went on a 2-month road trip travelling mainly to the national parks. Most of the nights were spent in a tent, but we took advantage of spending 7 nights at Cedar Breaks Lodge. We were very pleased with everything about the lodge. It was very clean and comfortable, friendly staff, nice hot tubs, sauna and pool, The kitchen was well-equipped. The colors of fall were absolutely beautiful! We drove back and forth to Zion National Park and Bryce Canyon National Park. The Cedar Breaks National Monment is only a few miles from the Lodge and it is spectacular. We ate our meals in our room, so dining out was not important to us. We were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

we really enjoyed the stay, friendly people, spacious rooms, nice spa.

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank silke47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

At Cedar Breaks on a timeshare "getaway"/ great value. The 2-bdrm. unit was very comfortable for 2 couples, fireplaces & jacuzzis for each. Chose to use the common pool, hot tub, & sauna, very well maintained and perfect after hiking. The kitchen/dining area set up well for a few meals. Dining at C.B. Lodge is convenient with a nice menu. Also suggest Pizano's Pizzeria or Mi Pueblo for Mexican. Location is great for park visits, if you don't mind some driving...Bryce & Zion approx. 90 minutes to each, North Rim of Grand Canyon approx. 3 hrs. (well worth an early start), and the closer Cedar Breaks Monument (only 5 miles) is a lesser known beauty, especially at sunset. Stayed at "low season" so Brian Head & area were very quiet. Service was great! Note: This is a ski area approx. 25 mi. from Cedar City, with mostly slow, windy roads for access. A bit isolated in the off season but Cedar City has Walmart Superstore, nearby Parowan (neat town) has a "food market", and Apple Annie's (across from lodge) has basics. In-room wireless at $10/day, but walk to Apple Annie's or Town Hall for free access.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debh31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

Management and staff lack experience and professionalism.

NO A/C in rooms

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MileHigh45963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2010

We recently stayed at the Cedar Breaks Lodge and found it to be beautiful, clean with very friendly staff. We were on a road trip to Colorado from California and stayed there one night. We went at a time considered "off season" and encounted lots of overnight snow. We were happy there was a restaurant on site and the staff were very encouraging that we would get down the hill just fine, and we did. This seems like it would be a great location in the winter with the ski lift right out our window. The room was roomy and equipped with a fridge, microwave, large bathroom and a large bathtub, very nice. There is even a small store within the gift shop if you need anything to eat or you forgot to bring something. We were glad we stayed only one night simply because everything in Brian Head was closed for the season and would not re-open until June, that was disappointing. I would highly recommend the Cedar Breaks Lodge even for an overnight stay if you want to get out of the city and have beautiful views of the mountains.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sallie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brian Head
0.1 mi away
Grand Lodge at Brian Head
Grand Lodge at Brian Head
#2 of 3 in Brian Head
205 reviews
11.8 mi away
Best Western Town & Country Inn
12.4 mi away
Abbey Inn & Suites
Abbey Inn & Suites
#1 of 23 in Cedar City
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Cedar City
11.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar City
Best Western Plus Cedar City
#2 of 23 in Cedar City
449 reviews
13.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cedar City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Breaks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Breaks Lodge

Address: 223 Hunter Ridge Rd, Brian Head, UT 84719
Location: United States > Utah > Brian Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Brian Head
Price Range: $108 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Breaks Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cedar Breaks Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Breaks Hotel Brian Head
Cedar Breaks Brian Head
Cedar Breaks Lodge Brian Head, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing