We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Lodge!”
Review of Cedar Breaks Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cedar Breaks Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Brian Head
West Newfield, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
133 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice Lodge!”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

After 2 errors in checking us in, we finally got a room. The room was very clean and spacious with comfortable beds. My only complaint is that we traveled there in the dead of summer and there is no air conditioning in the rooms! They do provide a fan and ceiling fans but that just isn't enough sometimes. I would suggest investing in some AC if opened during the summer months. We at breakfast in the cafe and it was delicious with many options to choose from. Looks like it would be a great lodge for the skiing months - our room had a nice fireplace and jetted tub!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Michele_G_Allen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    150
    60
    34
    32
See reviews for
160
143
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We went to Brian Head, UT to finally get a chance to enjoy Cedar Breaks NM. Being a Diamond timeshare owner it was obvious we would book at the Cedar Breaks Lodge. Staff was very friendly and efficient and were going out of their way to help us with anything we needed. The main building housing the lobby, gift-shop, coffee-shop, spa area and swimming pool made a very positive impression on us. When we stayed there they did not have a sales center, which means you are safe and don't have to worry about sales tours and clingy sales people.
However the rooms were definitely not up to the Diamond standard I was used to. The two bedroom unit we booked was very clean but you could tell that the Cedar Breaks Lodge is in desperate need of renovations. The entire kitchen, the carpets and the bathrooms need some upgrades. Cedar Breaks Lodge is now no longer just an affiliated resort but a real Diamond resort and I hope that they allocate some money for this otherwise beautiful location to bring it up to the 5-star standard you can find at all the other updated Diamond resorts.
Again on the positive side we had a very patient guy from maintenance explaining us how to operate the fireplaces and he stayed with us until it worked (they still had the gas supply switched off for safety reasons as during the summer months there is no need for the fireplaces). Job well done! Thank's to all of the great CBL staff!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Spicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramona, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We (2 adults and 2 kids) stayed here from 19 July through 26 July as members of Diamond Resorts in one of the 2 bedroom suites. The property is a little off of the beaten path and is obviously more of a winter destination for snow sports. We had never been to southern Utah and wanted to visit a few of the National parks in the area. The property itself was alright and a little dated but fine. I was told by the wonderful staff that it was purchased by DRI just under a year ago and they are still working on bringing it up to the DRI standards. The resort offered the free "DRIven to Fun" program which included archery, bingo and a scavenger hunt for the kids. The in-room wi-fi is very slow and as DRI members, was offered for free for the week. It was fine for checking e-mail and using the internet for daily excursion planning but don't plan on streaming Netflix movies. We used the property as a jumping off point for day trips to the Zion National Park, Bryce Canyon National Park and the Cedar Breaks National Monument. You are about 1 1/2 hours away from Zion and 1 1/4 hours away from Bryce Canyon. Some comments complained of the lack of A/C. We were here in the middle of July and had no problems with keeping the room cool by keeping the windows open and the supplied fans turned on. One thing to note for those who cook meals in your kitchens. There are limited food shopping facilities in Brian Head and are pretty pricy. The closest major city is Cedar City, UT which is approximately 45 minutes from the resort. If you are coming from the south via I-15, stop by the Walmart in Cedar City before heading up the mountain. We all agreed we would probably come back here again but more likely in the fall time or spring time to see the changing of the seasons.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JDC E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We've stayed here before, and probably will again. This is a destination hotel rather than a stop along the way. The scenery is absolutely stunning. It is a 30 minute drive off the freeway up a very steep canyon. The rooms are beatiful and exceptionally clean. But the front desk staff at best were not helpful and actually a little curt. There are little or no other options for dining than at the restaurant in the hotel. Restaurant staff are courteous and helpful, but the food is expensive and not really that good.

Room Tip: We've always had a room next to the main road in and out of town. But the noise from the road h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OscarL123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

My wife and I were looking forward to our 26th anniversary and decided to stay Cedar Breaks Lodge. We wanted to get away from the heat in Orem UT and decided that Brian Head might be a good place to go.

When we got there we were assigned a room on the 3rd floor in building #2. We should have paid more attention to the big number #2 on the side of the building. It was weather beaten and broken. At the time I did not think much of it but it was the beginning of the bad stay.

The key cards did not work in the beginning. The room on the 3rd floor, that we were assigned, had a south facing exposure and did not get much colder than 85 degrees Fahrenheit, 29.4 Celsius, at night. We did have a fans but they did not help. The phones and gas fireplace did not work either. The fireplace was not so much of a problem since the room was so hot but it just goes to show the severe maintenance problem the lodge is having.To try to get some relief from the heat and get out of the room we visited the restaurant. We found that the restaurant was also extremely expensive. We hoped that when the room did cool down we might be able to borrow a DVD and use it in the room. Couldn't borrow the DVD had to rent it.

No matter what we did or where we went things were horrendously expensive or did not work. I would suggest to anyone reading this that they stay someplace else.

Room Tip: 1st. Building #2 south facing rooms are very hot. 2nd. No AC in Building #2. 3rd. Phones don't w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond R, Manager at Cedar Breaks Lodge, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you for your review. The units here at Cedar Breaks Lodge are not equipped with air conditioning, due to the cooler climate through most of the year (with the exception of the summer months). We understand that this can be uncomfortable for the summer months as temperatures range from 80 – 85 degrees. To limit any discomfort the weather conditions may cause, we ensure that this information is very prominently posted on our website and is relayed to our 3rd party rental partners so that guests can make an informed decision before booking.
Please know that your comments have been shared with the appropriate department heads. We will take every measure to look into the reported service quandaries to prevent a similar situation from occurring in the future.

Regretfully, we are unaware of any phone line problems in the recent weeks here at the Resort, nor does our maintenance log display any recent phone line disruption. This may have been an isolated incident with this particular phone. As for the fireplace, we turn them off in the summer, but our maintenance team can easily arrange to turn them on upon request. The menu prices have been carefully selected based upon the selection we offer along with the area of region we are located.

Thanks again for sharing your valuable feedback. We hope to regain your faith in our resort through our diligent efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brian Head hotels

Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We had a one bedroom grand room that had a large bedroom, large living room, and smallish full kitchen. Everything was clean and modern. There were gas fireplaces in the living room and bedroom. The bed was softer than I like, but not lumpy or anything. The linens were nice, but not super posh. The bathroom had a jetted tub, but we didn't use that. My one serious gripe was the shower head - it's one of those water saver kinds and the spray was really prickly! Also, there isn't daily housekeeping service, so if you're a pig or a total princess, this place isn't for you. We enjoyed the pool and the hot tub, and we used one of the three gas grills to cook dinner one night. The grills are under a pavilion in the middle of the property. Staff was professional and personable. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheCoyoteinSLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond R, Manager at Cedar Breaks Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are glad that you liked the Cedar Breaks Lodge and our team members. We make many efforts to provide our guests the comfort and care that they deserve. We regret you did not like the shower head though, and will take your feedback into consideration when it comes time to replace them. Being that we are primarily a vacation ownership destination, we do not offer daily housekeeping. If you would like additional cleaning we do offer housekeeping services for a fee. We are confident we will have an opportunity to welcome you back, and look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We came from a week at a HUGE timeshare apartment in Wyoming so this 1 bedroom unit with tiny kitchen and no dishwasher was a bit of an adjustment. For a family of 4 it was tiny. The kids enjoyed the pool table (broken) and the pool/hot tub. The pool area with plenty of seating and a fireplace was wonderful. Happy to see a wheelchair lift down to the pool for folks who need it. Parking under the building was a bit tight. The playground and basketball area were fun for the kids. We loved Brian Head for its proximity to the parks and the town of Parowan wasn't too far for groceries. Everyone, save the front desk personnel, seemed very friendly...including housekeeping.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoyntonMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brian Head
0.1 mi away
Grand Lodge at Brian Head
Grand Lodge at Brian Head
#2 of 3 in Brian Head
202 reviews
12.4 mi away
Abbey Inn
Abbey Inn
#2 of 22 in Cedar City
884 reviews
12.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Cedar City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Best Western Town & Country Inn
11.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar City
Best Western Plus Cedar City
#1 of 22 in Cedar City
321 reviews
13.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cedar City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Breaks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Breaks Lodge

Property: Cedar Breaks Lodge
Address: 223 Hunter Ridge Rd, Brian Head, UT 84719
Location: United States > Utah > Brian Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Brian Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Breaks Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cedar Breaks Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Breaks Hotel Brian Head
Cedar Breaks Brian Head
Cedar Breaks Lodge Brian Head, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing