We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice place to stay”
Review of Cedar Breaks Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cedar Breaks Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Brian Head
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We have a time share and we got our room through it. It was very spacious, but the kitchen was a bit small. If I were doing a lot of cooking it would have been tight. But we just cooked small meals or just made coffee, so it was no problem. But there was a lot of room in the bedroom and living room. We had a king one bedroom unit. The coffee shop in the main lobby was very good, we had breakfast there two mornings. Food was very good and they give you large portions, we would split an order of omelet and pancakes. We did not go to the pool, but we seen a lot of people go in there. They have a small gift shop with a few grocery items, but I would catch a grocery store on my way up. We had to drive down to Parawn to get more than chips sodas. No grocery store in Brian Head. But the area is beautiful and the people are very nice every were we went. We had a very nice stay.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 403 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2014

We were there in the off-season so cannot comment on the skiing, but the lodge is nice. The kitchen area is a little small and there wasn't a dishwasher in our unit. We stayed in Bldg 3 and it was a little noisy. You could hear other room activity while sitting and watching TV. A little hard for the person who stayed on the sofa bed to get to sleep due to the noise.

The staff was excellent and vey friendly and helpful. Lobby was nicely decorated and was the only area where you could get free Wifi.

This was a great place to be to provide easy access to the National Parks in southwest Utah and also to avoid the crowds.

With Diamond International taking over the facility, I would expect improvements in the near future making it more of a four or five star resort.

Room Tip: Maybe buildings 1 or 2 are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Loved the site, location, room, food Was great. Clean and tastefully decorated. The shower head could have shot out a better pressure, but certainly did not overshadow this great resort. Worth the drive up no down the mountain. Must go in the winter now as they are so set up for outdoor winter sports

Room Tip: Two bedroom was ideal for our family of five:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We had a very pleasant stay, during the very quiet shoulder season. The staff was very helpful. The décor was generally very well done. Nice fitness center and indoor pool and spa. We had a very tasty breakfast in the Lounge. The only drawback was the slightly weird floorplan of the one bedroom unit that we stayed in. There was a very nice view toward the Navajo ski slopes out of the bedroom window, but the tiny 'living/dining area' was claustrophobic with no windows. Would be nice to be able to look out a window while eating breakfast or entertaining guests. This would probably be less of an issue during ski season when days are short and darkness comes early. Overall a pleasant resort.

Room Tip: Third floor in Bldg One facing the ski slopes had a great view out bedroom window, and good access t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jrs17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed in a 1-BR unit at the lodge for 4 nights in order to visit Cedar Breaks National Monument and the surrounding area. Our stay included part of the Memorial Day weekend and two days afterward.
The rooms were very nice and very nicely decorated. Even the artwork was attractive. The view was of ski resort equipment and a roof the appeared to be in process of a redo. The room was fairly quiet even when we had to open windows to cool the place off. The pilot lights in the fireplaces put out enough heat to keep things pretty toasty -- there were nice gas fireplaces in both the bedroom and living room.
For those of you who need it, WiFi is not free except in the coffee shop and lobby area. You must pay AT&T if you want it in your room.
During a 4-night stay, according to the front desk, you should expect your rooms to be cleaned at the middle of your stay. Our rooms were never cleaned during the whole stay. Apparently, you ask the front desk for more toiletries, coffee, emptying trash, and towels if they are needed otherwise.
Because we stayed during the shoulder season, only the bar and grill was open for food except for pastries, a few other items and coffee in the coffee shop. After Memorial Day, things deteriorated. On two days, the coffee shop and gift shop mysteriously closed in the late afternoon even though they were supposed to be open until 9pm. We were just out of luck.
There is an indoor pool and spa that we didn't use because it was so crowded, as well as a day spa. The pool was closed for a day after Memorial Day because it was "broken". I believe the day spa had shortened hours as well.
The lodge was not horribly expensive, but it should have been discounted because of the broken pool, limited hours for the coffee shop and gift shop, and lack of other normally-available options. Also, when I complained about our room not being cleaned at all, I was offered a free cup of coffee. And by the way, you will be charged a resort fee whether the resort amenities are available or whether you used them. (I know this is normal, but with so many shortened hours, perhaps it should be rethought.)
In case there is no other way to review the Bar and Grill, we ate there the night of our anniversary because there were really very few options in Brian Head. Service was fine. We ordered trout and swordfish (a mistake). The trout was ok. The swordfish was served just above room temperature, not hot at all. We had to discard about half of it because it was black or too undercooked to eat. Both entrees were served with nicely prepared vegetables and rice that was about what you could get in a grocery-store mix. Prices weren't that high. Since it was our anniversary, we did not report the ruined meal and just left never to return.
So, if you stay at Cedar Breaks Lodge in the off or shoulder season, expect a nice room, but lower your expectations in all other ways.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building if you want to be close to the pool, coffee shop, gift shop, WiF...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tipsfromtucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

I don't know where to begin. From check in through dinner, service was not good. It took forever to check in our group of seven couples. One member was checked in under the name of another member. When the second member tried to check in he was told he already had! Our credit cards were charged a $100 deposit to be credited on departure if we didn't trash anything. Yeah, like a group of senior citizens are going to be breaking things.

Dinner was the topper. The concierge assured our leader we had dinner reservations at 7:15PM - twice. When we arrived at the restaurant the hostess told us they don't take reservations, and it would be thirty minutes before they could set up tables. Okay, the concierge confirms our reservation with a restaurant that doesn't take them. ??? An HOUR+ later, we were finally seated. We didn't get out until 10:15PM. The only bright spot was our waitress. She understood our problem and did her best.

Other dislikes - Told there was a charge for Internet in our room, but also told it wasn't very good. At least they were honest. Bed - terrible. Mattress should be replaced. Common complaint from our group.

Why didn't I give a lower rating? The rooms were clean and comfortable. The fireplace a nice touch, and lastly... Our waitress. They should promote her.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 06MellowYellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Cedar Breaks Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Thank you for taking time to share your concerns with us. While we are pleased that there were aspects of your stay here that did prove to be worthy of your appreciation, we would like for you to please accept our sincere apologies for the numerous issues you encountered during our dinner service. The manner in which we addressed your inquiries is being reviewed with our teams as we understand how very important it is that that we communicate internally and keep all team members well informed of our current polices, so they may appropriately respond to our guest. It is clear that we did not live up to our standards or yours in this case. We are, however; pleased that you were satisfied with the compensation offered an accepted. Although you declined to discuss your stay with our front office manager, we understand that we are not perfect, and will use your comments as a guide to show us where there are shortfalls in our service so we may remedy them for our future guests. As we never want a guest to leave with a negative impression of our resort, we sincerely hope that you would be willing to give us another chance to make a better impression on you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Living in Las Vegas, I try to get up to Brianhead at least once a year, and without a doubt this is where I stay every single time. The rooms are great: the gas fireplace is perfect for warming up after snowboarding, the deep jetted tub is wonderful for soaking after a day on the slopes, and the mini kitchenette is just right for cocktail hour. The indoor pool and hot tubs are my favorite part. They are both large enough to not feel uncomfortable with there being a handful of random people out there. It also stays open fairly late, which is nice. The bar is great for hanging out with friends if you're staying a night or two. Restaurant is decent, standard cafe fare. The gift shop offers plenty of random foodstuffs and snacks, and you can also borrow games or movies to take up to your room. The underground parking is also a win during the winter.

All in all, whether you're going for a romantic couples weekend, a family getaway, or a group of friends snowboarding trip, Cedar Breaks is perfect.

Room Tip: Try to get the main building so you don't have to walk in the snow to get to the amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brian Head
0.1 mi away
Grand Lodge at Brian Head
Grand Lodge at Brian Head
#2 of 3 in Brian Head
205 reviews
11.8 mi away
Best Western Town & Country Inn
12.4 mi away
Abbey Inn & Suites
Abbey Inn & Suites
#1 of 23 in Cedar City
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Cedar City
11.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar City
Best Western Plus Cedar City
#2 of 23 in Cedar City
449 reviews
13.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cedar City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Breaks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Breaks Lodge

Address: 223 Hunter Ridge Rd, Brian Head, UT 84719
Location: United States > Utah > Brian Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Brian Head
Price Range: $108 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Breaks Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cedar Breaks Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Breaks Hotel Brian Head
Cedar Breaks Brian Head
Cedar Breaks Lodge Brian Head, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing